We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Stay and a wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Dupleix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Dupleix to your Saves list
Le Dupleix
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5, Rue De La Caserne, Pondicherry 605001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Pondicherry
Pune, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious Stay and a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Special thanks to the Sarovar Hotel team and Danielle for accommodating our last minute change of accommodation.

Due to unavoidable circumstances had to move from Promenade to Le Dupleix and the request was heartily managed.

The heritage Hotel was very well maintained and must appreciate the very courteous staff who were very cooperative with all our little requests. The food was amazingly awesome.
Breakfast spread is decent but good.

Enjoyed our short trip in Pondy thanks to the team again !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Manager at Le Dupleix, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out the time to review us on Tripadvisor and thank your for being our guests, it was a pleasure meeting you and having you with us.

I am glad we the Le Dupleix team has been able to make the remaining part of your honeymoon a comfortable and memorable one. Your appreciation has been shared with the team and it motivates us in our continuous endeavours to make sure every guest leaves happy and with a promise to return soon.

Once again, it was a pleasure meeting you and I do hope to be able to welcome you to Le Dupleix again, should you visit Pondicherry in the future.

Warm regards,
Danielle W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    72
    27
    15
    11
See reviews for
51
102
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We came to pondicherry to escape the hum drum of daily life, and le dupleix turned out to be the perfect place for us. The whole hotel was adorned with flowers and our room was decorated with lace. The staff was quick and cooperative and made sure that our every little request was taken care of. All in all it was a magical experience.
Thank you Le Dupleix for an amazing stay

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Manager at Le Dupleix, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guest during your recent visit to Pondicherry, it was a pleasure having you with us and thank you for taking out the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

I am happy that the team has been able to exceed your expectations and that we have been able to make your stay in Pondicherry a comfortable and memorable one. Your appreciation of the staff has been shared with all and motivates us in our continuous efforts to assure that all our guests leave with the promise to come and visit us again.

Once again, thank you for being our guest and I do hope to be able to welcome you to Le Dupleix again should you visit Pondicherry in the future.

Warm regards,
Danielle W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Another one of our favorite haunts in Pondicherry,this time we went as a couple during our daughter's school trip.The mango tree and lovely period furniture,the candles on the tables and the violinist(on weekends),feeling the sweat running down our bodies as we read the interesting history of Dupleix inside the menu booklet,and of course the food-the best that fusion cuisine can offer,with French names and Indian spiciness.......
The service is good,with crisp slices of French breads and tangy sauces served along with the drinks,which are very filling too,and it is a good idea to go with friends for a leisurely dinner,lively conversation and David Wacheux regaling us with his violin!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Manager at Le Dupleix, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out the time to review us on Tripadvisor and thank you for being our guest again.

I am pleased that you enjoy our cuisine and that our services have exceeded your expectations. Your appreciation of David has been noted and I will make sure to pass it on to him.

I do hope you will visit us again in the future, I would be looking forward to meeting you again.

Warm regards,

Danielle W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The best part of the hotel is it's architecture. You feel lost looking at the beautiful designs which amuses you whether you are in France for a second. The hospitality is exceptional and it is very close to sea. A perfect place to rejoice. I strongly recommend this hotel.
Cheers!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Manager at Le Dupleix, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, it was a pleasure having you as our guests and thank you for taking out the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

I am happy that the entire team of Le Dupleix has been able to exceed your expectations and appreciate your admiration of the beautifully restored building.

Should you revisit Pondicherry in the future, I hope you will be staying with us again. I would be looking forward to welcoming you to Le Dupleix again.

Warm regards,
Danielle W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel is about 20 minutes drive from the Airport. With Pondicherry no longer having a scheduled service, it took a little time for the cab to get to the airport.
My wife and I had flown in our own aircraft, and the authorities had generously kept the airport open for a couple of hours beyond the normal time; a delay caused by our flight clearance after refuelling at Tirupati due to elections.

The hotel is well located in the heritage town area, close to the Promenade, Aurobindo ashram, museum as well as other places of interest. It is a quaint three storey hotel, with the suites located on the top floor. It was easy to find (with a little help from Google maps).
The local lore is that the rafters and wooden columns from the top floor was a part of the regal home of Joseph Dupleix, the Governor General of Pondicherry. Upon its destruction, the salvaged structures are now a part of the hotel.

We stayed on the first floor. Being a heritage hotel, it did not have an elevator, nor did we expect it or feel the need. I mention this because a disabled person would find it very difficult to get around due to the lack of ramps, etc.

Overall the hotel is quite well maintained.

The rooms are large enough, and the four poster bed a delight. The old style writing table looks good, and the power sockets are located inside the shelves of the table, which is a good way to keep them out of sight. The table itself was broken, and stayed in place only because it rested on the bedside table. It was at a slight slope, and I had to scramble more than a few times to save my mobile phone/iPad from falling to the floor.

Being summer, the Air Conditioner saw a lot of use. Practically speaking, due to the heat and humidity, it was not possible to go out between 11 am and 5 pm, so essentially we had to spend the bulk of the day in the hotel. The AC was quite effective after we figured it out. The remote for the AC was handy, but we were at a loss as to where exactly to point it. After an hour, we called the housekeeping, who showed us that the panel was near the door. The rooms are located in such a way, that one has to get up and walk up to the door, point the remote through the slats and operate it. Could have been planned much better. There are fans in the rooms, but no regulator. You have a choice of full speed or off. We chose to leave it off. It was a bit of a pity, because we would have needed to use the AC much less.

The toilet and bathroom were clean, but no tap or health faucet near the toilet. This cannot be excused in India. The roll of paper was handy, but not having a faucet available is a no no.

There was a long balcony attached to the room. There were fans at either end, but for some reason they were angled to direct the stream of air at the walls. They were not in reach, so adjusting them was not possible. An example of a good idea but poor implementation. It was good to sit in the balcony for tea or a beer.

WiFi was free, quite fast, and reliable.

The use of the computer and printer was available, which was handy to print out my flight plans.

The choice of food was quite limited, and not really to our taste, but there were a lot of very good restaurants nearby, so it was not a problem. the dining room was well appointed, with a good choice of spirits. The waiters however were scarce at times. On two occasions, we had to go looking for one after sitting at the table for ten minutes. One other time, the waiter even managed to get our soup order wrong.

The room service really messed up. The day after we arrived, we ordered for lunch at 1:30. At 2:30 we called back to find out that no order had been placed. Later the explanation given was that the person who took the order had gone out of the hotel (without passing on the order to the kitchen), and got into an accident, due to which our order was never received by the kitchen. I suppose stranger things have happened...
We finally had lunch at 4:00. That was the last time we had anything other than breakfast at the hotel. Breakfast was decent. Cereals, eggs on order, tea/coffee, preserves. For the first two days there were also idlis, which I missed on the latter two days.

The personnel at the front desk were very helpful, as was the customer service. I had forgotten an item at the room, which was promptly sent to me by courier in a few days.

Room Tip: Go for the suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Manager at Le Dupleix, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guest recently, it was a pleasure meeting you and thank you for taking out your time to review us on Tripadvisor.
I am glad you enjoyed the location and especially the historic significance of Le Dupleix, one of Pondicherry's few, authentic heritage properties.

Your concerns about the table and the fans in the room have been looked into and rectified. All our rooms are equipped with an individual air conditioner, these have been installed at strategic places in every room and with the least possible disturbance to the ancient wooden ceilings and panels.

As conveyed in my earlier communication to you, immediately after you checked out, I understand your disappointment in our food and beverage services and I deeply regret any inconvenience this may have caused yourself and your wife. I have spoken to the concerned department and can assure you that all necessary steps to avoid situations like these in future have been taken.

At Le Dupleix we strive to exceed the expectations of all our guests, with this in mind I do hope you will visit us in the future, should you visit Pondicherry. It would be a pleasure having you as our guests once again.

Warm regards,
Danielle W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We had to choose between a non-sea facing room at the Promenade and this hotel - we were glad we eventually picked this one. The room in itself was rather unique - with a colonial architecture. The room was spacious and clean, had an attached attic (with an additional bed and TV there - which was pretty cozy) and a spacious balcony overlooking a beautiful quaint street. There was a large swing at the parlor in front of the room, which probably was common for all, but being right in front of our room gave us the advantage of using it whenever we wanted. The rooms were very different from the contemporary business hotels we generally stay in and that was the highlight of our stay.

The staff were very courteous and helpful (particularly Gladys and Suresh). They even surprised us with a cake on our wedding anniversary - making our stay even more delightful!

The breakfast spread, though wasn't vast, was pretty decent and filing.

Some small annoyances - the hotel did not have parking inside. You need to park outside on the street (though looks like this is common in most hotels in Pondy). The rooms were also in need of a little maintenance - the floors of the attic were slightly creaky, there was an occasionally leak in the bathroom and the chairs at the balcony needed repair.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay with not too much to complain about.

Room Tip: We stayed in room no.5 on the 1st floor (which was very good). Rooms on the 1st and 2nd floors have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Manager at Le Dupleix, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Pondicherry, it was a pleasure having you as our guests and thank you for taking out the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

I am happy that we have been able to meet your expectations, your appreciation of Gladys and Suresh has been shared with the entire team and it encourages all of us in our constant endeavours to improve the quality of services offered to all our esteemed guests.

I understand your concern regarding the availability of parking at the hotel, however, we do have 24/7 security personnel at le Dupleix. I have also taken note of your concerns regarding the maintenance of the room, I have shared these with the team and can assure you that immediate corrective action will be taken.

Once again, thank you for being our guest and I do hope to be able to welcome you again should you visit Pondicherry in the future.

Warm regards,
Danielle W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for a week end and were disappointed to say the least. Firstly we had hoped for a peaceful week end but the building next door is being renovated and there was a constant banging apart from on Sunday morning. Our room was not the one we had expected (the hotel did apologise and offer a change of room but not worth it for 1 night). It is true that the building is old french colonial (I am half french!) but the insides are a mish mash of styles and in serious need of restoration. Opaque glass from the bathroom onto the landings where people walk past very odd. Mouldy grouting in bathroom, old pot pourri in a brass dish sitting on the floor, a leaky toilet and towels we were not sure were clean so we asked for more. This hotel has such potential and i hope the owners will take heed of comments I made to the manager. The breakfast was basic and I did not see any nice french patisseries, rock hard non french baguette bread springs to mind. Their saving grace was they had earl grey tea! Our dinners and lunches were nice but nothing to write home about. The staff try but the crux of it is the company who own the hotel obviously do not want to spend and make it into something really nice. It would not cost a lot to do! The violinist was a nice touch is a little cheesy. The location is its main benefit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Front Office Manager at Le Dupleix, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Madam

We thank you for your valuable time spent to leave your feedback in TripAdvisor.

We have noted your feedback in detail about your experience in our hotel. We regret for the trouble and inconvenience you had at the hotel.

We do apologies for not being able to meet your expectations in this regard, and assure you that we will take all corrective measures to rectify all the issues you have faced.

We wish to inform you that we have discussed your feedback in detail with all the teams in order to make sure that this kind of feedback does not arise again.

Thank You
With Regards

Devanathan Bangaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Dupleix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Dupleix

Address: 5, Rue De La Caserne, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#8 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Dupleix 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Dupleix offers a fusion between the rich, colonial heritage and a contemporary flavor. The hotel beautifully complements Pondicherry. It is a 14-room luxury heritage hotel, nestling in an 18th century French colonial villa, originally built for the Maire Mayor of Pondicherry. Now restored and modernized the hotel is an architectural masterpiece showcasing the life of the 18th century French Governor Marquis Joseph-Francois Dupleix. The 14 suites are all distinct in style and furnishings and each provides a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Dupleix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dupleix Pondicherry
Le Dupleix Hotel Pondicherry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Dupleix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.