We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pondicherry visit July 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pleasant Inn Pondicherry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pleasant Inn Pondicherry to your Saves list
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
33 Rangapillai Street | Next to Nilgiris Shopping Mall, Pondicherry 605001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Pondicherry
Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pondicherry visit July 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was a very pleasant stay considering the rate we paid! This truly was a bargain, the review I am giving of the services is not subject to this "price category". The staff are extremely helpful and very accommodating.

The only problem we faced was that we were placed on the top floor in a corner room with absolutely terrible ventilation - this meant that the temperature inside the room was higher than that outside. In all fairness we were on a budget and decided on a room with a fan instead of an air-conditioner (which we easily could have done for Rs 300.00 more).

They give you an option for a European or South-Indian complimentary breakfast. We opted for the European, which was toast with jam and coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    36
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
17
20
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surat, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Hotel rooms are amazingly spacious and very clean.The manager is an incredible guy and the staff is also very helpful.
Despite of not having their in house pantry they serve a sumptuous breakfast. Being in the heart of the city every place is very easily approachable.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I chose this hotel mainly because of the offer i got from booking.com, AC rooms were not available, booked a Non a/c room, which turned out to be a poor choice. Room was too warmer than outside, it was sweaty night, next day i requested them a A/C room, answer was no from the front desk, i informed them, I'm checking out, they asked me to wait for 20 mins, then they informed me "Now a AC room is available" they didnt want to lose me i guess. Generally this hotel rooms are very spacious, with good interior, fixtures.
Downside is hotel doesnt have a restaurant, and there is not a decent restaurant around either.
All major attraction in pondi is walk able from the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid Non Ac rooms in Summer. insist on ac rooms without breakfast for best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I went to Pleasant Inn in February 2014 and it was a very nice surprise. This is one of the only "economic" hotel with internet access (only in the hall, no wifi in the rooms!) in Pondi. Well located, only 4-5 minutes walking to the Ocean side, in the heart of the French Quarter, close to many shops, restaurants and the Grand Bazaar Market (4 min), you will find a very good first view of the social mixing between French and Indian well known in this part of India, as well as how Indian people try to manage tourism... ^^

The hotel is very clean, the room I took (regular one) for about 900 rupies (~11€) was really big, the bathroom is big and clean as well with an Italian shower... Very confortable matress and ventilation system much appreciated. The personel is welcoming, helpful and smiling.

Good choice! (And don't forget to visit Sadhana Forest on Friday!)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed at this place for a couple of weeks whilst in Pondicherry for work. Having booked elsewhere for my first 2 nights I moved in to the Pleasant Inn after checking out a few different options in town.

First off, the location is very convenient, right in the centre of the main town. NOTE the location as indicated on the map on here is wrong! The hotel is actually about half way between Mission Street and MG Road (i.e. east of MG Rd and not west as indicated). It is just a few seconds' walk from Nilgiri's which provides a handy source of snacks and essentials.

I stayed in an A/C room on the third floor which was impeccably clean and spacious and I didn't see a single mosquito or fly in the room the whole time. The room was pretty quiet by virtue of the fact that it did not have any external windows, although that did mean views were out of the question. Throughout my stay the front desk staff were friendly and helpful, and always well presented.

On the downside, WiFi access is only available in the reception area and this seemed to be quite temperamental, although there are a few cafes nearby with free WiFi (notably the lovely Mission Cafe just around the corner underneath Dominos Pizza).

Another negative is the room could also get very warm if the A/C was turned off, especially the bathroom which was permanently like a Turkish Bath! This I put down to the fact that all the A/C units seem to vent into a service void onto which the bathroom window is open. It wasn't a problem but the cold water was often far from cold, sometimes almost hot, which can make brushing your teeth a bit weird!

Room Tip: You might find non-A/C rooms too warm at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

....nice stay, good price for such a hotel in india! Ver clean in comparison to other hotels/restaurants. Comfortable bed. although no aircon and strange checkout rules: you check out 24h after your checkin...

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, TX
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Pleasant inn during our trip to Pondicherry. Service at the front desk was very cordial. The gentleman working the desk was always pleasant and one day we had a conversation about the bitterly cold weather that people back home in the US were experiencing. The hotel was within walking distance of the beach and other attractions.

Our room was very spacious and clean. There was a large wardrobe in the room to store clothing. There was also a table in the room and a night stand, which is always a plus. TV was of the flat screen variety and there was a good selection of english language channels. We had a non AC room, but with the fan going it was ok at night. It might seem a bit too warm for those that are not used to warmer temperatures. Being from Texas, we are used to the heat. Bed was very comfortable, which is not something you always find in budget range Indian hotels.

Indian breakfast was complimentary in the morning, and it was simply delicious. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Pondy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pleasant Inn Pondicherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Inn Pondicherry

Address: 33 Rangapillai Street | Next to Nilgiris Shopping Mall, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in french colony with 40 well furnished rooms with basic amenities complimentary breakfast room service lcd tv 24 hrs hot water wifi in lobby complimentary 3 bedded 4 bedded twin bedded inter connected roof garden veg restarant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pleasant Inn Pondicherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pleasant Inn Pondicherry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.