We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous

Rendezvous
30,Suffren Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
0413 2227677
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 210 Restaurants in Pondicherry
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have been to this restaurant in March, 2013 while on our visit to Pondicherry. The food is quite high priced. Quality of food is not bad. But we waited for almost 45min before it was served. After leaving the restaurant, we realized that we have left behind a mineral water bottle and a cap. so we went back immediately. it was not more than 3min. but we were told that nothing was left behind on the table. This was really bad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    101
    33
    21
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The attitude of the waiters was terrible. From the minute we walked in I felt uncomfortable. They gave us a tiny table though there was a larger one available. It was close to the last order so it was not like they would expect any other clients. But that table sat there empty through our meal and we had to eat off this tiny little round table. The waiters were not attentive at all, infact they were close to rude and some of them just stood around staring and laughing. We kept having to call them to clear up our plates.

We have been to other restaurants in Pondicherry, and got amazing service. I would not suggest this restaurant to anyone.

Satsanga and Le club have great service, friendly waiters and longer hours too. Go there if you want to have a really good evening. Avoid Rendezvous at all cost.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

welcoming indoors and a lovely courtyard for outdoor seating too! Food was very good, we had Tiger prawns, Fish and chips, grilled fish, seafood broth, and everything was delicious. It was also open for a late lunch and welcomed kids unlike another eatery down the road.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Came because of the reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Looks like there are mixed reviews for this place. It seems to have been renovated recently. The cream of mushroom soup was good but the Fish sizzler didn't sizzle. I have had much better Sizzlers I wouldn't recommend it here. Maybe a better choice would have been to go with a Pomfret or the Fish of the day.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have eaten here a few times and the service and quality of the food has always been excellent. It is a great mix and there is something on the menu for everyone. The owner came around and asked us if we were enjoying our meals, this doesn't happen a lot in India. All in all - a great experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rendezvous also viewed

Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 

Been to Rendezvous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.