We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Pondi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Closerie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Closerie to your Saves list
La Closerie
32 Dumas Street, Pondicherry 605001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 119 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paradise in Pondi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Annie (the owner of this beautiful guest house) has created an absolute gem in one of the best spots in Pondicherry. She has designed this with such taste that it is up there with the most luxurious of hotels and at a far more reasonable price (rooms were going for 3750R to 5000R when we were there in Nov 2013). On top of the perfect blend of distinguished decoration, modern equipments and comfortable beds that ensure a great night's sleep, there is a great little pool (with jacuzzi light jets at one end) to cool down, a massage room (that I unfortunately didn't have the time to test) and a great top roof view of Pondi and the sea. This huge rooftop will soon welcome a wine tasting terrace if her brilliant ideas come to plan. As if that wasn't enough Annie and Alain are the most delightful of hosts, giving us great addresses and getting us the best possible deal to travel across the south of India (trust me I searched and nothing came close to what Annie was able to get us).

WE LOVED THIS PLACE and hope we can come back very soon! Don't even look elsewhere if you have the chance to get a room here - I advise you book well in advance as this haven of 6 rooms is bound to be fully booked when people catch on to la Closerie.

One word of caution for families with young children. The staircase and beautiful objects here and there are not suited for very young ones or kids that are slightly unruly. Our kids (10 and 7) loved this place but are rather careful. Most of the rooms are very big and can fit 4 easily!

Room Tip: We recommend room 6 on the top floor as it has is private little balcony, loads of natural light, is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    13
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
32
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

La Closierie is a like a French mansion in Rue Dumas, the street next to the Goubert Avenue in the white street. The historic monuments such as Notre Dame,Joan of Arc Park, Dupleix park, sea bridge, French war memorial, Pondicherry Museum, War Memorial, Bharathi Park are just few minutes walk away from La Closerie. Similarly, most of the popular food joints are also at walking distance such as Rendevous, Le Club, Bamboos, Madam Shanthe etc. We did not have to use the car when going to any of these nearby places.The place felt so silent even though it was next to one of the busy streets even missing Airtel mobile signal often.

It just felt like I am walking into my aunt's home with an attention to detail for all the small and finer things at La Closeire. The beds were nice and the linen was clean. We could sit in the open space and have some drinks and playing cards while the kids were playing in pool.

My kids could stay at the Mezzanine floor even though we were worried whether the kids could possibly roll down since there was no railing for the mezzanine bed. The croissants for the breakfast were simply awesome but could possibly get bored if you are staying for more than couple of days since it felt the same for two days(Watermelon juice, cut watermelon-pineapples, croissants, toasted bread) without any eggs.

We had a nice time at La Closeire and I would love to go back again when in Pondicherry.

Room Tip: It depends on who is with you. The downstairs rooms are good for families with kids or more than 2 p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I'm a little late in writing this review considering that I couldn't wait to get back and share my experience at 'La Closerie' with my friends and family. I had absolutely no idea about the location or what to expect until we finally reached there after a tiring 9 hour drive from Bengaluru and Voilà! A little piece of heaven, tucked right in the center of the 'White Town', a 1 minute walk from the sea and 'the Promenade', La Closerie was a wonderfully pleasant surprise! Reasonably priced, aesthetically designed, impeccably maintained, the place goes all out to impress you. The pool in the middle of the guest house is the perfect place to relax and the lounge area is an ideal place where you can sit for hours. Quite frankly, i did not quite feel like stepping out of this wonder of a retreat. Annie, the owner, has single handedly done a commendable job at doing up this place and maintaining its standards. We sat together and had a few drinks along with my friends in the evening and it seemed like we were being hosted by some friends. I think the only slightly negative point here is that people come here expect it to be more than a B&B and looking at how luxuriously done up it is, one expects service to the standards of a decent hotel which is not the expectation that the owner has set out. So please bear in mind that it is, at the end of the day, not a hotel but a B&B and an excellent one! Needless to say, I have been raving about this place and have recommended it to quite a few of my friends and family. I surely look forward to visiting again with my special someone as I promised Annie :). Great job guys! Hope you finish the wine bar at the terrace with the sea view before we plan our next trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Nice location, very nicely decorated, comfy beds. Only thing that could use help was - hospitality - it seemed the owner was a bit too concerned about costs - like turning off Jacuzzi as soon as we got out of it etc. That bugged us a bit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a small bungalow with 7rooms, a small pool, greenery all around, sitting area n terrace completely made in french style... The interior, the view, everything seems perfect if you are there for a short break... The trees n plants all around makes it look more beautiful... The owner Anne is nice n friendly and so is the staff who are quite helping and ready to serve you happily. I just loved my stay at La Closerie n would love to come back n spend some quality time here... Seriously a very nice place to stay at...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this B&B with my wife and 1 yr old daughter for a day and night.
The place is easy to find , very close to the promenade, and still tucked away in a quiet area of the French Quarter. The place is beautifully done - the lovely courtyard , a small pool , artistically decorated rooms. It's like entering one of those fairy tale houses. And all this for a very affordable price.
The place is meant for you to spend some romantic and quality time with your partner. And it might be difficult if you have children or elders in your group since the rooms don't have doors to bathrooms. We found it a little uncomfortable. Also , the French breakfast in the morning is only a continental one and not the authentic French one ..
Since the house is aesthetically done and maintained well , the owners have few strict rules for not spoiling the place.
I would definitely recommend the place for a relaxed stay in Pondicherry.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I loved this place. Although the old French quarter of Pondicherri is not as manic as most parts of urban India it was still a relief to step through the doors and into the courtyard garden. The whole place is full of beautiful ornaments and the pool is a great place to cool off. Annie is a great host - friendly, interested, relaxed and engaging.
I can't rate this place highly enough.
It's a bit hard to find (which is a good thing). It's about 3 houses along from the Hotel de Pondicherri and the door is unmarked.
No hesitation - 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Closerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Closerie

Address: 32 Dumas Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special place to be in Pondicherry. In the French Quarters, our house La Closerie translation from French a house surrounded by trees and bushes and this is exactly what you will find if you come and stay with us Luxury bedrooms surrounding the swimming pool with plants and trees. Small Private areas to unwind and talk among friends and other guests. Just outside La Closerie you will find the famous Pondicherry promenade and many restaurants where you can choose French / Indian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Closerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Closerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.