We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Windflower Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Windflower Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Windflower Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manavely Revenue Village, Pondicherry 605007, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Enjoy 15% discount at Spa
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Memorable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Everything about this resort screams comfort. The driveway, the lobby, the pool near the lobby, the view of the sea on the way to the rooms and the spacious rooms themselves were designed keeping comfort in mind. The delux room (with a sit-out) was simply awesome. The bathroom had a separate toilet area, a separate shower area and ample space to store luggage, with closets and racks for storage. In addition, there was a lovely out door shower. The resort is a few kilometeres from the city centre. The pool is huge and the cafe looks out to the pool. The beach is a few minutes walk from the rooms. It is accessible only to the inhabitants of the resort and feels like a private beach. The water was clear and beach was clean. Though we went in the last week of Jan, the beach area was not humid. In fact, it was very windy and pleasant. There is a games room with a broken foozball table, table tennis, a few carom boards and a snooker table. The room is on the 1st floor and the view of the ocean from here is simply spectacular.
The only complaint I have about the resort was the food. The food was average (not as bad as Taj vivanta- Kumarakoum, and not as great as Windflower Bandipur). The cook didn't seem to realize that eggs need to be cooked properly and they were served quite raw. I ordered a waffle at the live counter and then went to my seat, having been told that they would serve it to me when it was ready. Well, the chef at the counter burnt it and when I asked for it a long time later, they said that they thought that they had already served it to me. I knew for a fact that it was burnt because my husband, who was still at the counter, saw them throw the burnt waffle into the bin. I undersatnd that there were a lot of people and the chef was juggling between making eggs and waffles. But it would have been basic courtesy to atleast make the waffle all over again, or atleast own up to the truth. It's a small issue but I feel that WF Pondicherry needs to take a few pointers from Windflower Bandipur (whose hospitality and service was just perfect). All in all, I recommend this resort to anybody who wants value for their money, stay at a great resort and in general have a great time. I would definitely stay here if I ever go to Pondi again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay at The Windflower Pondicherry. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    114
    31
    12
    5
See reviews for
155
78
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great property, fantastic pool and a pleasant ambiance all around. We stayed 2 nights, loved our room - a ground floor suite. Beautifully manicured lawns. Extremely attentive staff, starting from the Manager onward. Clean place.

On the flip side..food was hit or miss. One great dinner followed by a VERY average one. The dining area can also get uncomfortable, not sure if there was no air-conditioning or it was simply not effective enough.

I wouldn't call this a beachfront property though, the beach is a little bit of a trek from the property, and did not seem like it would have been worth the effort - especially with the pool being as good as it is.

Room Tip: No room tip. GPS your way here or you will lose your way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay at The Windflower Pondicherry. We have made a note about your comment regarding the food and we will endeavour to improve in this area. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUNE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Unless you have clear directions, it is difficult to locate this 7-8 km off Pondicherry, India, resort since there are no signages except when you are within 200 metres from it. Once you enter it, you will easily forget the toil of reaching it. Well laid villas and studios, well maintained lawns greenery, a well apppointed restaurant and large swimming pool welcome you. The villas and studios are very spacious and well furnished and face the backwaters or coastline a few hundred metres away. The staff is very courteous and helpful.

However, on a week day, the guests are so few that the resort short-circuits some of its facilities: there may not be buffet, you may not get what you want to order and even the tandoor and AC in the restaurant were not functioning. This is bit odd considering that those guest who opt to come on week-days are not offered any discounts or lean season rates. Strange as it seems, this is a great pointer that the resort is not keen on promoting week-day guests and is happy with week-end rush.

Room Tip: Take upper studio as it offers excellent view of sea and has a large sit-out. If you have dough, tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay at The Windflower Pondicherry. We have made note of your comments about weekday experiences at the resort and we have taken up the matter with resort executives to ensure that all guests, whether staying on weekend or weekday are given the same services and facilities. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Quiet a place - the backwaters, clean awesome beach, good food, nice rooms, - Windflower in Pondy have it all.


Good:
The best beach in Pondy is just few meters away from the resort. We made some lasting memories collecting shells, strolling and playing on the Paradise beach here. The place where the river meets the sea is just beautiful - makes for a excellent spot to take sunrise/ sun set pictures.

The staffs were courteous. The watchman in the gate leading to the beach does few trips to the beach after 6 pm to accompany and make sure the safe return of the guests.

Resort is nice , layout is good with well maintained lawns and garden. There is good spacing between two rows of buildings for privacy.

There is a play area between the backwater and resort.

Bristo - the restaurant is very good - Breakfast had a good variety. For all the three meals, there were no repeats on dishes between days , except for salads, breads and such. The view from The restaurant's terrace is excellent.

Spa was good. On the expensive side, but from start to finish it was very professional, relaxing and satisfactory.

Swimming pool is excellent.

Rooms are of good size, each comes with outside seating. Large bathrooms.

Places to improve:

Game room in the main building has few options for kids .There is just one TT table. Few planned activities might help.

The large front windows of the cottages were translucent, and can show silhouette :-), not a good thing for honeymoon cottages... Blinds or curtains would help.

It is far inside from the main road. The sign is not very prominent . As some one pointed out, Could have mentioned that the resort is 3km from that point in the sign board.


All that said, We enjoyed our stay and Will definitely stay again. They have ducks and yes the ducklings were very cute.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay at The Windflower Pondicherry was a good one. We have made a note of your suggestions for improvement and the same are being implemented. We look forward to seeing you at another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went there as part of a team offsite. The resort is quiet with large rooms, a fairly clean pool and good facilities. Food was good and service was quite prompt. The only thing that I thought was missing was umbrellas for the pool side chairs because it can get quite hot and the umbrellas would keep people there longer.

Would definitely recommend to others and stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay at The Windflower Pondicherry was a good one. We have noted your comment and umbrellas are being arranged for the pool side area. We look forward to seeing you at another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodaikanal, India
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We Had a Business visit to Pondicherry. Finally we had found Hidden Beauty for our Dinner. Wonderful Ambience with Warmth welcome the Staff. Affordable price. Good Interaction with Chef Baskar. Authentic food. thank you very Much to windflower Pondicherry for the Excellent Guest Service

Keep It Up

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay at The Windflower Pondicherry was a good one. We look forward to seeing you at another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Lovely resort with well-kept landscape and a beautiful backdrop of the backwaters. As soon as you drive into the resort, the open reception with a Buddha statue sitting on a water body is sure to take your breath away. The resort itself is nicely laid out with well manicured lawns.

We checked into a studio room on the first floor. The view from the balcony of the sea facing studio rooms is amazing. The room interior is tastefully done, the highlight being the large bathroom, with a shower enclosure, a toilet and a changing/ luggage room. The bed is large and comfy.

Food ie dinner was quite good too, with a large variety of vegeterian as well as non vegeterian dishes. Breakfast had all kinds of options too, South Indian as well as continental. The restaurant staff are particularly good at their job. One of the best buffets we have had in a resort with courteous and attentive staff.

During the day we went for sightseeing and had lunch at Surguru, which was decent.

This place is great for a weekend visit, just to relax, read, eat, get pampered in the spa and soak in the sun. Not many activities within the resort.

Now for the grouses! :(

The walk to the beach (outside the resort) although short at 500mts or so, is unpleasant as the path is dirty and not quite defined. One morning as we walked, we saw a child from the hamlet defecating not very far from the path! Maybe the resort can do something about this as the primary attraction for the resort is the beach and the guests would be walking towards the beach several times during their stay.
The swimming pool was dirty and definitely not in usable condition. I expect that it should be kept clean when they know that guests are expected. What's the point of a swimming pool otherwise?

All in all, except these trifles we had a splendid holiday at this place and would definitely recommend it

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the sea for the splendid view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a good time at The Windflower, Pondicherry. We have taken note of your comment on the areas where we can improve and will work on the same to make every guest experience a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windflower Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windflower Resort and Spa

Address: Manavely Revenue Village, Pondicherry 605007, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Windflower Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in picturesque ChinnaVeerampattinam, the Windflower Pondicherry is perched between backwaters and bright blue ocean. Stroll along the beach, if the mood strikes you. Race the gulls to the horizon. Step around seashells, and spider crabs. Watch the sun set into the Indian Ocean. Or, take a romantic little cruise along the backwaters. Have a quiet picnic lunch on the banks of a stream. Walk about shooting the birds on film. Come, take advantage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Windflower Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windflower Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.