We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Silent, Serene Place to Relax, with good views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windflower Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Windflower Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Windflower Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manavely Revenue Village, Pondicherry 605007, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Summer Package
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mysore, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Silent, Serene Place to Relax, with good views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3N/4D and everything about the place is good. We got an early check by 4 hours on the day of arrival, the staff and everyone at the resort are friendly and helpful.

The Breakfast and Dinner are decent and of good quality. The Chef at the Restaurant is very involving and looks after well. Again, no issues in this category.

The Spa service is also, decent. The ambiance and the therapist are very customer friendly. We got 30% discounts on Spa!

The Beach is approx 500 mts away from the resort and is costs Rs 100/- per person for the drop. That is quite a hurdle for frequent visits. The Beach is not that well maintained, as it is a Public property.

The resort is Approx 12 Kms away from Pondi, and we need to shell out Rs 200-250/- per way to go to Pondi, which is quite expensive.

To wind up, we had a memorable time here, and go back feeling fresh. Thank you so much Windflower Pondicherry.

Room Tip: Do get the Studio Rooms, they are huge, you will not get the disappointed. Get Rooms on the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that your stay at Windflower Pondicherry was a good one. We are happy that we matched up to your expectations. We will look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    114
    30
    12
    5
See reviews for
154
77
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kerala
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Drove down from palakkad after over night stay at Travellers Inn Salem.Roads beyond Villupuram were not the best and so landed at the resort bit tired . However once we checked in we were revitalised by the natural beauty of backwaters and the sea.Rooms were typical windflower like....simply great.Restaurant evoked mixed reactions...won't elaborate further as its understandable that chef has to satisfy every one while serving buffet, which is not an easy task. Pool was well located but was not the cleanest...chlorine content was high. Play area was well utilised by everyone.Walk/ boat ride to beach and time spent on the beach made the trip memorable.Overall a good place to stay if visiting puducherry.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that your stay at Windflower Pondicherry was a good one. We are happy that we matched up to your expectations. We will look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

For a tourist to Pondicherry in South India who wants to have physical and mental relaxation. Windflower Resort and SPA is one of the best choice available. It offers an outdoor swimming pool, a good restaurant. It has natural landscape with facilities for entertainment as well as for Yoga and massage. There are independent villas overlooking the garden which makes your mind fresh and body healthier.

Room Tip: villas overlooking the garden area are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay at The Windflower Pondicherry was a good one . It is our endeavour to offer every guest this same experience. We look forward to having you stay at another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B'lore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We went to this place on a coupon won by my sis... so what we paid from our pocket was really negligible. But if I pay a bomb for a beach-side resort, the least I will expect is unrestricted access to beach and being able to dress in skimpy wear without having the entire world gawking at me. Its exactly these areas where I hv my grouse on, the beach is a good 15 mins walk from the resort and while it doesnt realy get crowded, has enuf people swarming tht I wont be comfy wearing a beach wear there.

Otherwise the interiors, food n the swimming pool are fab! But the grouse I mentioned above, that I will hv to put up with despite the bomb am paying, is reason enuf for me to not to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that your stay at Windflower Pondicherry was a good one. We are sorry that you found the beach very far away from the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A family of 4, two adults and two kids aged 8 & 4. We took the Villa and were pleasantly surprised to see the spacious villa. The living room was nice and compact; the bed room was large with enough moving space, despite putting in an extra bed. There is a small pool attached to the villas, which was a "nice to have". The best part of the villa was the bathroom, very spacious, with an enclosed shower cubicle and a Jacuzzi bath. Now for the details :
The break fast is decent although not an extravagant spread that I have had in other hotels; The kids were very pleased with the juices and milk shakes. The In room dining food is also good but choices are limited.
As regards, proximity to sea, the property is away from the beach. However, the beach is about ten minutes walk on the sand through some nice coconut groves. The path may not be very clean and one has to watch their steps. Alternative is to use the boat rides that the resort offers. That takes you to the beach too through the backwater that's formed next to the resort. The boat ride is nice and is about five - ten minutes ride to the beach. The beach is clean and enjoyable. In fact, we even got down in the back waters which is about two-three feet deep and spent a good half hour there with the kids. Closer to the sea the back water is cleaner.

The resort has some activities like fishing (we never caught one), horse riding (decent experience), few games, tattoos and sketching (which the kids enjoyed).

The swimming pool is a standard size pool and was enjoyable. The villa pool needs to be cleaned more often as the water would take a while to clear when chlorinated. We ended up going to the main pool although we had our own private pool.

The complimentary evening tea and coffee was pretty refreshing and I haven't seen any of the good hotels doing this in a long time.

The service was the only thing that was left a bit wanting. There was a party happening in the hotel, consequently, the staff seemed to be busy with the party. The room service took a while to attend to us. Even on other days, they would miss out something we ordered and we have had to reorder. This however did not have a bad experience on our trip.

Overall, if traveling with family, its a good place to take a break. Just remember, the resort is not on the beach but on one of the backwaters (google it and you see it on the map). From the family perspective, it was a nice break and all of us enjoyed staying at the Windflower. If you can, choose the Villa and you will not regret.

Room Tip: The Villas are a very good choice. They have spacious rooms and a big bathroom (by big, i really mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay at The Windflower Mysore was a good one . It is our endeavour to offer every guest this same experience. We look forward to having you stay at another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a great holiday at the windflower pondicherry. Having stayed at their two other properties at coorg and waynad I knew what to expect.
The rooms were better than my expectations, very huge, well done up with a really comfy bed. We stayed in the suite for two nights, it is located on the ground floor with an open shower. But the studios are better as they are located on the 1st floor which gives you better views and more privacy. The rooms at the end of the resort are the ones with the best views of the backwaters and the sea. The bathrooms are really huge and one can spend quite some time in them.

The food spread was average compared to their other two properties the best I had was at windflower coorg. The service is OK.

The resort is located very interior from the main road, but once in you leave the hustle and bustle behind.

Overall a great resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to know that your stay with us at The Windflower, Pondicherry was a good one. We have noted your comment about the food not being at par with that served at The Windflower Coorg. We will make every effort to ensure that food quality is the same at all our locations. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It was a horrible trip right from the word go! The online site indicated availability of a suite, and charged me for a suite.. But next day, they called to say they are over-booked! After much pleading, a studio was allotted, with a promise to adjust excess charge in actual expenses.. On reaching hotel, they claim they have no such information of excess payment!! Restaurant is truly "self service" - even when only 4 tables were occupied and 8 waiters roaming, the response time for everything was pathetic.. From the moment we started dinner till the end, no waiter came to clear used plates (and remem, this is a buffet!). Ask for water and wait 10 mins.. Ask for breads and wait 10 mins.. Ask for Coffee and wait 15 mins.. While rooms are spacious, there were maintenance problems - water didnt stop in closet, the entrance to the room had severe water seepage! Room service response time was pathetic.. after finishing dinner, the cutlery remained uncleared for next 10 hours, attracting flies and birds of all sorts!! Rooms are not sound-proof.. the disc was on until 11.30 pm and a nearby temple started blaring devotional songs from 4.30 am!! Imagine our pllight! Am writing this while at the resort, and yet to complete 24 hours of stay! God knows what awaits us!

Room Tip: Suite rooms are better.. and first floor rooms have a nice view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinitarashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for not having lived up to your expectations. Your booking was not made directly with us but through a travel agent and hence the issue must be resolved with him. We will do our best to assist you with this. As regards the other complaints you have brought up, we are looking into them and we assure you that we are working towards eliminating the problems you have encountered. We acknowledge that a holiday gone wrong is very disappointing and we do apologize for the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windflower Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windflower Resort and Spa

Address: Manavely Revenue Village, Pondicherry 605007, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Windflower Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in picturesque ChinnaVeerampattinam, the Windflower Pondicherry is perched between backwaters and bright blue ocean. Stroll along the beach, if the mood strikes you. Race the gulls to the horizon. Step around seashells, and spider crabs. Watch the sun set into the Indian Ocean. Or, take a romantic little cruise along the backwaters. Have a quiet picnic lunch on the banks of a stream. Walk about shooting the birds on film. Come, take advantage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Windflower Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windflower Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.