We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the Pondi experience you were looking for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Shanti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Shanti to your Saves list
Villa Shanti
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Rue Suffren, Pondicherry 605001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Pondicherry
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Just the Pondi experience you were looking for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Villa Shanti is a quaint little boutique hotel in the French Part ("White Town") area of Pondicherry. In walking distance of all major attractions and other hotels/restaurants its a wonderful experience.

The bar is lovely, with bar stools, a range of new-world wines and a nice menu. The rooms are set around a central courtyard where the outdoor dining also is.

PROS:
1) GREAT location
2) Good wifi
3) Although high for Pondicherry, the room rates are very good
4) Lovely bar & little cafe
5) Breakfast included

CONS: (sadly there are!)
1) If you have a room on the ground level (rooms 1, 2, or 3) you WILL hear the clanging of cutlery from the kitchen etc; so push for a room upstairs which will be more quiet (I had Room #1)

Room Tip: Choose rooms NOT on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    70
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
81
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pondicherry has been on our radar for long and this trip was planned with much expectation. The hotel is clean , with reasonable rooms and a central courtyard. The design and decor are refined , with a few indian elements. The food is exquisite and the variety just right.The art work behind the bar makes you smile.The service is impeccable.
Pondicherry as a town though disappoints with rampant garbage making walking difficult.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you want to have a relaxed drink followed by some very Western lunch in a colonial setting after a tiring and sweaty Pondicherry morning, Villa Shanti is the place to be. The moment you enter into the imposing gates of the property you are transported to a very different place, a place where there's no hurry and where you can lounge under the coconut trees in the patio while your food arrives. But we choose to park ourselves in front of the bar under the light sea breeze being pushed down by a very slow and really heavy looking ceiling fan. You order the drinks and when then arrive, you first gawk at the presentation and then feel amazed at the freshness of everything that has gone into the drink. These people possible have the longest Long Island Ice Tea. The grilled fish, well you could smell the freshness of the sea. The Chocolate Eclair I had for desserts made me realize once again why I love chocolate so much. And to wash it all and still have it all, a final round of Margarita. After all that, well, I just didn't want to leave the place.

Room Tip: Try the Crepe Suzette. I had a spoonful from my friend and wanted to take his whole plate
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just had a weekend away at Villa Shanti and we were thoroughly impressed. All the facilities are done to a very high spec and its a fantastic looking place. We were staying in the terrace suite, huge room with everything you need. We ate in the restaurant on our last day and it was the best food we had in Pondicherry by a long way. Fresh, healthy, well presented food and really good value for money. Finally the service was excellent, very personalised, every one is happy to help while not being overbearing. This is the place to stay in Pondi

Room Tip: Go for one of the top floor suites for extra privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

this hotel is so very good & staff are friendly,nice AND EXCELLENT faciltes good food , and very healthy welcomed by front desk , trevel....jst in simple way very nice and beutiful hotel really luved it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Villa Shanti after a 1 week trip to Kerala. From the moment we walked through the big wooden doors of this boutique hotel we were greeted by smiling faces and a sense of comfort. Straight away the light airy feeling is euphoric and brings a sense of calm from the outside hustle and bustle of India. The rooms are beautiful.

Customer service at Villa Shanti was one of the highlights of our stay. We ended up developing a bond with the staff and they were happy to help at any moment during our stay! The enthusiastic bar manager was inviting, making an erray of cocktails to put a smile on anyone's face!

Food and dining at the Shanti was superb and there was never a moment to eat outside the hotel. Top quality food and diverse menu meant we had to try everything! (I recommend the Tiger Prawns). The atmosphere on an evening was also a plus point as you can dine under the stars in the open aired courtyard, France meets India at its very finest! I would definitely recommend Villa Shanti and if I ever return to Pondicherry I will make sure I can stay here!

Nina Sukumaran.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Thanks to trip advisor , we decided to stay @ the Villa Shanti in Pondicherry. This establishment far exceeded our expectations. The hotel is aesthetically very pleasing with professional staff, superb food and free wifi. All we had to do was step out of our room into a serene courtyard with complimentary breakfast and exquisite food. Joy Mallya, the manager, ensured that we had a pleasant stay by meeting our needs( safe deposit box,suggestions for antique dealers,and sight seeing tips). Will have to go back with my girls....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Shanti

Address: 14 Rue Suffren, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Shanti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest Heritage hotel of Pondicherry. Located in the hearth of the old French town, near the business area, in front of State bank of India, close to the seaside and the Aurobindo Ashram, this old 19th-century house has been renovated and a new contemporary wing has been added. With its clean lined interiors, craftsmanship, woodwork, Villa Shanti brings you a new experience in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Shanti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.