We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place with High Class Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantha Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Anantha Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Anantha Heritage Hotel
96, Rue Perumal Koil, Pondicherry 605001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pune, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Place with High Class Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Anantha Heritage was just like being home, with lovely people around. Fredrick and his team were fantastic and always helpful.
with Language being a barrier to communicate with people around Fredrick and his team were just a call away to sort the problem for us. Service provided by the entire team in Anantha was top class which i have never happen to encounter at any other hotel i have stayed.
Welcome was a proper traditional way with kumkum and oil on your forehead which makes you feel you are welcomed to your own house. rooms were clean and tidy with awesome Breakfast.
As i had to leave early morning could not meet Fredrick and the rest of the team, but would take this opportunity to thank the Team for an excellent stay at Pondy.
Fredrick Thank you so much for the wonderful stay, you and your team were very helpful and always there to help.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDDYGOMEZ900396652, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Greeting from Anantha Heritage Hotel pondicherry!!!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.
Your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us is highly appreciated and the time taken
to provide us with these details is of utmost importance to us.
We thank you for all the positives pointed out in the review and we will share these with our
team.
Our team is very glad to hear that you enjoyed the services provided by the hotel and would
like to thank you for your positive comments about your experience at Anantha Heritage
Hotel Pondicherry. These are certainly going to be very encouraging and motivating
especially for the Team. It is always reassuring to learn that our efforts are being noted by
those whom we count on the most, "Our Guests".
Guest satisfaction is a high priority for us, an area that we repeatedly train on and follow up,
in an effort to sustain a high level of service throughout the hotel .
Thank you once again for your feedback. we look forward to welcoming you back to Anantha
Heritage.Hotel
Thanks and Regards
Fredrick Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    49
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
68
75
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at Anantha for 2 days in March 2014 as we wanted to stay in a heritage property. Anantha met our expectations well. Our stay was very pleasant, peaceful and comfortable. Rooms are neat and clean with modest but clean toilets. Its walking distance from places of interest - rocky beach, french colony, eateries, bakeries, main market etc.
All the staff members are very warm, helpful and hospitable. Meals were made well to our taste. Special thanks to Fredrick, the manager, and his team.

Room Tip: We preferred room facing the temple and the pond. One would expect mosquitoes, flies. Didn't fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDDYGOMEZ900396652, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Greeting from Anantha Heritage Hotel pondicherry!!!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.
Your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us is highly appreciated and the time taken
to provide us with these details is of utmost importance to us.
We thank you for all the positives pointed out in the review and we will share these with our
team.
Our team is very glad to hear that you enjoyed the services provided by the hotel and would
like to thank you for your positive comments about your experience at Anantha Heritage
Hotel Pondicherry. These are certainly going to be very encouraging and motivating
especially for the Team. It is always reassuring to learn that our efforts are being noted by
those whom we count on the most, "Our Guests".
Guest satisfaction is a high priority for us, an area that we repeatedly train on and follow up,
in an effort to sustain a high level of service throughout the hotel .
Thank you once again for your feedback. we look forward to welcoming you back to Anantha
Heritage.Hotel
Thanks and Regards
Fredrick Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Anantha is like a place that i have never seen before. The ambiance is the key, it makes you feel that you have travelled back in time to the 18th century, The place will make you feel at home in a enigmatic and soothed way and yet it has all the technology to pamper the high-end lavish demands you have from a five star hotel.
Let me start by the service, which is impeccable, thanks to a team that is holding the fort there. Cyril, Shiva, Shakti and the team captain Fredrick. These guys are gem of people, polite ,friendly, courteous, well-spoken, and extremely professional.
We took the deluxe rooms and the beds were cosy the bathrooms were spotlessly cleaned and the hot water was available 24/7. For some this may not be a big deal but for some may the water pressure was always good it never thinned out.Internet was fast and works very well.I did not have to do anything to rent my two-wheeler, they got me the motorcycle at the door
Food , it does not have a restaurant attached to it but you will never feel it. They give you such sumptuous breakfast that you will be filled not only at your stomach but also at your soul. We had both the South Indian (Idly Vada Pongal Dosa Upma Sambar Chutney) and the continental style (Omlette, tartines (slices) of French bread with jelly jams and butter) along with fresh fruit juice and coffee. Breakfast is amazing!!!
We had room 106 overlooking a little pond,and in front was the temple. Silent serene emphatic and enigmatic was he whole atmosphere inside.
But the star of the show is Fredrick. He will just make you at home in no time. He such an amazing person that he will make you feel that as if you and him are friends for decades. He literally responds to every single request you make and entertains it like a host, not like a manager.
I will go to Pondi over and over for sure and i am staying in this place every time, if not for the beautiful colonial style hotel but for Fredrick himself. If i can rename the place I'll rename it to Fredrickville

Khudos to all of you in Anantha !!! Couldn't ask for more !!!

Room Tip: Room 106 gives you the best view from the hotel , otherwise go for the deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ananthaheritage, Public Relations Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Vanakkam from Anantha Heritage!!
Dear Sir Thank you so Much for taking the time to write your Valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation about the hotel and the service and Me is very encouraging and motivating for all of us. We have no Word to tell You.
Once again Thank You so Much

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Anantha heritage pondicherry in the very near future.

Regards

Fredrick Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Anantha Heritage, and found it an oasis of calm in bustling Pondicherry. We are happy to do a fair bit of walking, and for those who are also happy to walk a fair bit, you can easily reach all areas of the old town on foot. I believe there are only 5 or 6 rooms, so the hotel is small and friendly. We were lucky to be given an upstairs room at the back, which had a lovely view over the temple, and we spotted kingfishers flying over the temple pool in the evening.
Our room was spacious and cool, with a very comfortable bed and clean bathroom. The only criticism would be that there was very little furniture for storing clothes, so we had to leave most items in our bags.
Breakfast was provided. We chose the Indian option each day, and found it really tasty. A fellow guest tried the continental option, and we didn't think that looked as good, but it is available. We also had an evening meal cooked for us on one evening, which was very tasty indeed, and we were asked about our preferences before they went shopping for ingredients.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful; they organised a hire scooter for us for a couple of days, popped out to get us a couple of cold beers one evening, and were happy to give us advice without being pushy.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs at the back have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDDYGOMEZ900396652, General Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Sir
Greeting from Anatha Heritage
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and motivating for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Anantha heritage pondicherry in the very near future.

Regards

Fredrick Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Amazing stay at this beautiful heritage hotel. Was put up in the deluxe room - was big and done up in colonial style decor. It's next to a busy temple and bazaar but the din of the street does not reach the hotel and you can soak yourself in silence. The greatest part was the warm and efficient staff. Shiva, Cyril and not to forget Mr Fredricks - thank you for a wonderful stay. Will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ananthaheritage, Front Office Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Vanakkam from Anantha Heritage!
Dear Mr. Vineet Si Thank you very Much for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and motivating for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Anantha heritage pondicherry in the very near future.

Regards

Fredrick Gomez
&
My Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I have stayed in many fancy hotels around the world, including the likes of Fairmont and Four Seasons. However, this hotel is within my all time top 5. Huge and gorgeous colonial style rooms. The furniture looks very antique and beautiful. We had room 106 overlooking a little koi pond.

The service is also top class. As an Indian, I am sorry to say that I have experienced racism from Indian staff in many fancy hotels. Foreigners sometimes get a much better treatment.....it's probably a sad and lingering legacy of colonial times.

Anatha wins hands down in treating everyone equally, and that too in a super friendly and helpful way. All smiles from everyone all the time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ananthaheritage, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Greeting from Anantha Heritage Hotel!!
Dear Sir Thank you so Much for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and motivating for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Anantha heritage pondicherry in the very near future.

Regards

Fredrick Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Had been to Pondicherry to celebrate our first wedding anniversary this february and i must mention Mr. Fedricks and his team are so hospitable .
Right from the time we entered the property till the time we left the place we were well taken care of, be it the welcome part , room service, dine in everything.
Minutest details weren't missed too.
The staff cooked us a scrumptious meal the day we were leaving pondy and i must say it was finger licking good.
P.S :Try having at least one meal at the Anantha heritage m sure you nor your pocket will regret it.
We are looking forward to going to Anantha soon again with family as this kind of hospitality is unmatched in spite of paying high prices elsewhere.
Thank you Fredricks and his team in making our holiday a memorable one.

Room Tip: The room that faces the lake and temple view on the first floor is where we stayed . Try opting for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ananthaheritage, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Vanakkam from Anantha Heritage Hotel Pondicherry!!
Dear Mrs. Pooja Madam Thank you so Much for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation about the hotel and the service and the food is very encouraging and motivating for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Anantha heritage pondicherry in the very near future.

Regards

Fredrick Gomez
&
My Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantha Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantha Heritage Hotel

Address: 96, Rue Perumal Koil, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce ourselves as The Anantha, a 6 room Heritage Hotel, ideally located in the heart of the city. A typical Heritage Home now restored & modernized into a hotel with an architectural landmark of Pondicherry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anantha Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantha Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.