We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, but the villa's are a plus” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pondy

Save Saved
You added Le Pondy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Pondy
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   No.3,Lake View Road,Pudukuppam | Nallvadu Post, Pondicherry 605007, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 56 hotels in Pondicherry
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Average hotel, but the villa's are a plus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The best feature of the hotel are the pool villa's which give you your own pool right next to the cottage that you stay in. The pool is accompanied by a portico with deck chairs, so you can lounge by the water side without getting a sunburn. The hotel also has other buildings with 'normal' hotel rooms that do not have their own pool.

But apart from this good feature, the hotel is not better than average.

Service is not remarkable, and when we checked out they tried to charge us the whole bill, while we had prepaid our room for 50%. Somehow, we felt that this was not an honest mistake (I mean, what accounting system would make this error?) but an attempt to charge us above and beyond the agreed sum.

What is most definitely an irritant is the restaurant. The food is not remarkable (neither good nor bad) but the restaurant staff thinks that they are performing very well. Opening times don't mean anything, neither in the morning for breakfast nor in the evening for diner. We are early risers and we have had to be satisfied with only a half breakfast because the restaurant staff were starting their work at the time when the restaurant was due to open. The restaurant caters for the Indian taste mainly, which is the biggest disadvantage for breakfast.

Le Pondy is located quite a distance from Pondicherry, so you need transport to the town and arranging this via the hotel comes at a steep price. Travelling to Pondicherry for a diner is something that is worthwhile considering the hotel's own restaurant, but it comes at a price...

Room Tip: The villa's with their own pool are a definite plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Pondy!

Thank you for your feedback. Gone through your feedback in depth , happy to know that you liked our Pool villas. However regret to know that we couldn't impress you with our comforts. As regards to the advance payment please note that it was not done intentionally, we always inform all our honorable guest to send the advance payment under intimation to us that we can identify the same from the various other payments, in your case unfortunately we didn't get any such intimation so we were not aware that you have made the advance payment.
About the service & food part, noted your feedback & will initiate sincere efforts to improve the same.

Please do visit us again & we assure you that as a Team we will make your stay a memorable one.

warm regards

Remesh Kumar
General Manager
Le Pondy
gm@lepondy.com
9585551301
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    212
    39
    11
    8
See reviews for
256
123
5
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Was a wonderful place to stay at. Great beach. Some activities and better food would've been great. They are yet to do their landscaping properly and the place a little supervision. Ideally, would've liked some activities in the resort like in Zest but nevertheless was pleasant.

Room Tip: Always prefer first floor rooms preferable sea facing away from the main walkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Le Pondy!!

Thank you so much for your feedback & happy to know that you had a comfortable stay with us. Noted your few suggestions on the food & the in-house activities. Your feedback will motivate our team and will be very useful for the tripadvisor users. We at Le Pondy always strive hard to meet each & every guest's need and satisfaction.

Looking forward to host you again in the near future.

warm regards

Remesh Kumar
General Manager
Le Pondy
9585551301
gm@lepondy.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Pros
Beautiful property, well maintained gardens
Kids play area with swings, slides etc
Huge well maintained swimming pool
Stayed in Sea facing room which was quite nice
Beautiful beach
Vigilant Hotel lifeguard deputed at the beach, makes you feel safe on the beach
Lifeguard at the pool too.
Reasonably priced decent tasting buffet breakfast and dinner
Very powerful and efficient air conditioner.
Prompt and responsive housekeeping
Free wifi
Difficult to get any mobile signal at the property, so forget all your worries

Cons
About 10kms from the main city & far away from other sight seeing places
No restaurants nearby outside the property
Auroville about 40kms
Aurobindo asharam about 20 Kim's
Buffet service at the restaurant is quite bad
Need to request waiters for water and also water refills every time
Many tables without cutlery, need to request for same
Took very long to refill the depleted dishes at the buffet counter and some coaxing is required. Occasionally a dish was totally exhausted before closing time, which was quite surprising.
Biased F&B manager and many waiters were busy serving only some tables preferentially and majority of the tables were ignored
Occasionally crossed the lake facing rooms to enter/exit the property and sensed a subtle guttural/stagnant water smell in some areas on the pathway near the lake facing rooms
A "fresh" glass tumbler kept in the room was quite dirty, must be an exception though.
One complimentary mineral water bottle per day only, extra bottles are chargeable
Room mini refrigerator does not have temperature control, so cannot be used as a chiller.
Wifi not working in room most of the time, complaints to reception were answered by a simple "our server is down".
We booked 3 identical rooms together well in advance, but all 3 rooms provided at check in were located far apart and also across two different levels. Not the least bit of interest taken by the hotel in providing three rooms together with the check in staff giving a curt reply that "all other rooms were occupied for past many days and hence could not provide rooms together"!!!

Tips
Purchase the dinner buffet when booking the room, it works out much cheaper and since it is away from the city with no other nearby options for going out for dinner.

If more drinking water required; suggest to request room service to refill the empty mineral water bottle with regular drinking water from the restaurant.
Insist on rooms located together if booking multiple rooms at the time of booking itself.

Overall a soothing beach resort property with not so great service located away from the bustle of the main city.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are good. Sea is hardly visible from ground level sea facing rooms but nice view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Le Pondy!!

Thank you for your feedback. Happy to notice your positive comments on various aspects of our resort. However the detailed narration of the negative aspects is really an eye opener & we regret for the inconvenience caused to you. About the distance of our resort from the main city please note that ours is beach & lake resort ,to find a place like this we were forced to select this location which we agree a bit far from the mainstream. Noted all your suggestions & comments and assure you that we will take positive steps to improve in all those areas mentioned by you.

Please do visit us again & we as a team will make sure that you are treated like a King.

Warm regards

Remesh Kumar
General Manager
Le Pondy
09585551301
gm@lepondy.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed at LePondy last weekend with my family. Stayed at seaview room on first floor. Excellent view of gardens and the sea. Very good place to lazy around and relax. Kids had good time with kids area on garden, the beach and swimming pool. The place to resort goes through a village, deviation from cuddalore road. The moment we entered inside the resort, it all changed. Everything is very well planned. Overall Resort is very well architected. Checkin, checkout was faster. Room and bathroom are very spacious with a balcony. The lifeguard at the beach was very attentive and very helpful. He takes good care of kids. It really added extra to overall experience. It was the same case with the lifeguards at swimming pool. They were giving good tips to kids related to swimming. Food was good. We liked both the BF and Dinner for all three days. SPA was good. There was a little scope of improvement. Same case with indoor games which needs little improvement. Except these minor items, Remaining all were excellent. We had a great vacation. We surely consider this resort for our next pondy trip.

Room Tip: First floor seaview rooms are excellent for the gardens and beach view. Also these rooms are near to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Mr.Rama Reddy,

Greetings from Le Pondy!!

Delighted to know that you had a splendid & fabulous holiday experience with us. It was a pleasure reading your comments & feedback. Thank you for your appreciation for our Pool & Beach life guards, assure you that I will convey your appreciation to them. Noted your comments on the Indoor activity area & happy to inform you that we are in the process of appointing a dedicated person to manage this area. As regards to the Ayurveda Spa please explain your view on improvement that we can take the corrective measures accordingly.

Once again thanking you for posting your feedback & please do visit us again whenever time permits.

With warm regards

Remesh kumar
General Manager
Le Pondy
09585551301
gm@lepondy.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed at Le Pondy along with wife and kid. V Good place with nice ambience.
Stayed at the lake view room,preferably take the first floor since the wind can be felt only there.
Nice to have a peacefull drink and family time.

Enjoyed thoroughly food needs improvement and the Ayur Msg center needs more professionalism.

Guards at the pool and private beach provide sense of security.

Overall a nice experiance

Room Tip: Choose Rooms on the first floor-Lake View or Sea View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Mr.Sudeep,

Greetings from Le Pondy!!!

Thank you for your positive feedback & suggestions. Happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. Noted your comment on the food & Spa. We have already taken steps to revamp the entire Menu & assure you that in your next stay with us we will prove this improvement. As regards to the SPA center kindly specify your points that I can take adequate measurements to enhance the quality.

Thanking you once again for posting your feedback & looking forward to host you here at our resort again in the near future.

warm regards

Remesh Kumar
General Manager
Le Pondy
gm@lepondy.com
9585551301
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed at Le Pondy from 11.11.12 evening to 13.11.12 at an Presidential Pool Villa .
The Pros : The resort is in an peaceful and tranquil setting .
Nice room , spacious and luxurious . The room had an bedroom , living room , swimming pool .
Good place to laze around . They have an beach with an security at the rear entrance and an lifeguard who was quite attentive and careful about the guests .
You can take an walk thru the beach to the place where the river meets the sea , wonderful experience in the morning .

The Cons :
No chairs in the room . The front office people never explained the whole room which makes an Big difference for high end rooms . There was an bar counter near the pool with chairs and table .
The water was not coming from the sink , fridge not working . Too many switches in the bedroom which takes sometime to understand .
The food and beverage section is the minus point of this property .
The Dishes in the Breakfast and lunch buffet were not replenished properly . Once it is over and the guests ask for then they start running about . Some staff do not the difference between Tea and coffee , they were served in cold condition once . Room service is also an drawback .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Mr.Karthic,


Thank you for your feedback . Happy to see your appreciation for our total ambiance & layout. However regret to know that you had faced some issues with our F&B Service & please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused. We have noted all your comments & suggestions and assure you that we will improve on this. We here at Le Pondy always give great importance to our guest satisfaction & our happiness lies in the comfort of our guests.

Thanking you once again for your valuable time to review us.

Looking forward to host you again here at our resort in the near future.

warm regards

Remesh Kumar
General Manager
Le Pondy
9585551301
gm@lepondy.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Visited this place in Oct 2012 with my family and with forces of circumstances, we opted for Presidential Villa. As this was the first time, we had our doubts however as we drove over the resort, it was evening and the reception was quite unassuming.Well we took the buggy towards the room and the place completely took us by surprise. Amazing room, complete privacy and conceptually uber cool.
What to look forward to -
The room with its patio and private pool
The room service and staff
The food is good, not disappointing
Management is courteous
Complimentary breakfast is decent
The day breaks into spacious landscape, play park for kids, outdoor pool

What to watch out for -
Please check at the reception if the card machine is working.

Room Tip: If you are more than 4 people, opt for Presidential Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Mr.Manoj,

Greetings from Le Pondy!!

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. Very happy to know that you loved your stay in one of our Presidential Pool villas and gone through your total experience with us. Your appreciation is the best gift for us & our entire team is motivated by your great gesture.
As regards to the CC machine happy to inform you that we have already installed wireless swiping machines so now even during worst climatic situations our POS will be functioning.

Thanking you once again for your valuable time to review us.

Looking forward to host you again here at our resort in the near future.

warm regards

Remesh Kumar
General Manager
Le Pondy
9585551301
gm@lepondy.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Pondy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pondy

Address: No.3,Lake View Road,Pudukuppam | Nallvadu Post, Pondicherry 605007, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pondicherry
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pondicherry
#4 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
#6 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pondy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pondy, situated at Pondicherry is a premium leisure resort beautifully lounged at an estuary between Chunnambar River and the Bay of Bengal. Le Pondy celebrates Pondicherry in all its true sense - the spirit, the architecture and the revelry. Pondicherry is one of the most popular tourist destinations in South India. It is also known as The French Riviera of the East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Le Pondy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pondy Hotel Pondicherry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pondy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.