We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very economical stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Annai Residence

Save Saved
You added Annai Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Annai Residence
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   138, Anna Salai, Pondicherry 605001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 115 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Kozhikode, India
1 review
“A very economical stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed in Standard NON AC double room. LCD TV, geyser, 2 sofa chairs are all plus points for a room at this tariff. Rooms are pretty clean and well furnished. Even bathroom was very clean and equipped with hindware fittings. Complimentary breakfast is also Included in which you have 2 idly, 1 vada, Uppumavu/Pongal with sambar and 2 varieties of chutney. Breakfast was satisfactory and no tea is provided but coffee is included. They also change 2 each bath towels, Soap kit, Mineral Water every day. Newspaper is also provided in the room

The only thing you will find hard to adjust is with the food they provide, especially if you are not a south indian. Their restaurant menu is very short that too limited to south indian dishes. They dont even serve tandoori/Chinese items.

Cons: Value for money, Pretty clean, good room service, located 1 km away from beach and 2km from bus and railway stations
Pros: Rooms are dark if lights are off - Single window facing toilet, Complimentary breakfast, Restaurant menu is very limited

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    22
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pondicherry, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

The hotel was very good . staff also very cooperate. very nice stay and comfortable.

the hotel room is good and service.
main thing the receptionist very helpful.Beach and Sri Aurobindo Ashram were in walk able distance (10-15 Mins walk). Chunnambar Boat House is about 5-6 kms from the hotel. The stretch is full of shops and having a theatre nearby...

Room Tip: Double deluxe and excutive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

I booked Annai Residence as it could easily accomodate our family of 4 people. At check in, the manager started arguing about our room, and even though we had called them in advance about us checking in late, he made us wait.
For the room, I did not have very high expectations, but what I saw was beyond everything. Initially the room looked good, but when we looked closer, the paint was peeling off, there were ants on the walls and the bed, and to top it all there were tons of cockroaches running around the room. We swatted a few but they would keep coming, so we called the front desk and asked for Insect spray. That took another 10 mins, while I was perched on the bed. The guy came, sprayed the insecticide, and left. We went out, and when we came back, the dead cockroaches were still in the room. Absolutely disgusting.
Worst hotel I have ever seen. Only wish I had taken some photos to show everyone.

Room Tip: They dont have any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The hotel is nice, clean and comfortable. But when we landed there the guy at the reception told us that there we no rooms available. The reason - some guests decided to overstay. This is despite muliple phone calls and email confirmations. When asked what did he intend to do the guy bluntly said I don't know. After a lot of shouting and fighting he agreed to put us for a night in another hotel. The next day we were shifted back. The rooms were good, clean however the incident on the first day marred the whole nice occasion.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed here with my family for the weekend and it was a nice stay. Definitely I will go back and recommend as its value for money. Beach and Sri Aurobindo Ashram were in walk able distance (10-15 Mins walk). Chunnambar Boat House is about 5-6 kms from the hotel. The stretch is full of shops and having a theatre nearby. Theatre is ok kind and just to have a different experience. Restaurant food was good and complimentary breakfast was not up to the mark. Hotels staffs are kind enough to respond back and rooms are really tidy and clean.

All I can say is enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: It’s value for money on traveler’s perspective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I would love to write this reveiw and recommend Annai Residency in Pondicherry,I went with my Mom and reached early in the morning,got the check in very fast and their service was really good.I have booked a standard room which was equipped with all modern facilities along with breakfast and hot water.No wonder my Mom was very happy with the hotel and I was really concerned while booking the room about the distance to Aurobindo ashram and the main beach.It's around 1 km from the hotel and it is located in the central city area which is convenient too.Ramesh who sit's in the reception even helped me with the late check out.....So I had a really nice time staying in Pondi....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

We Four adult with 3yr kid stayed in 2 Non AC double room from 8th Dec to 10th Dec. 2010. Tariff of Rs.900-net/room/night

Hotel looks as new property.Not too long from Railway Station(Rs.40 for Autoriksha transit).

For Rs.900/- room tariff they have provided complementary Breakfast (Not a Buffet Break fast and no Tea or Coffee included in this). Room Service persons are nice.

Any information to reception, we have to inform them twice.

Annam restaurant attached with hotel is nice and rates are nominal. As this is a non-veg restaurant, veg. foods are ok in taste.

We recommend this hotel for family stay also.

We had a nice experience in this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Annai Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annai Residence

Address: 138, Anna Salai, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Annai Residence 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Annai Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annai Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.