We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My tour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mango Hill to your Saves list
Mango Hill
Between Pondicherry and Old Auroville Road | Bommayapalayam Village, Pondicherry 605104, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 119 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Food doesn't worth for money, food items not served in room not even tea or coffee, privacy for couples? entertainment not available in room not even tv also, over all the hotel is an average, most entertainment for foreigner

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLaederich, Public Relations Manager at Mango Hill, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment and apologies for any inconvenience caused to you. we have never claimed to provide room service or having any technical gadgets at the room. Infact we have always claimed to have a home away from home away from technical gadgets. this has been mentioned several times by us in the past. Hence should a third party mention such amenities, we donot claim responsibilities for such. We have a large lounge & restaurant where our primary focus is that guest come together with family, friends or even fellow guests and interact. Please do elaborate on your comments of privacy and we would take appropriate actions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    68
    26
    11
    14
See reviews for
36
59
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meerut, Uttar Pradesh, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My first visit to South India this February. Beautifully places, beautiful people. Overall, with a few days in Chennai and Mahabalipuram, I was looking forward to Pondicherry. Booked the resort online. Wantcharged place. Definitely not on my list for a visit ever again. bedded room /suite for 2 nights, but were told only one night would be possible. Anticipating it to be full up, we made arrangements at another resort in white town for the second day.
Drove in to the resort and found the garden very colourful and beautiful. There was nobody to take our baggage or being the desk to check us in. Strolledsaround till someone turned up. Got our suite keys,and went up to wash up and settle stuff.

3 calls to the reception later.. 2 of which nobody pickedup.. We finally got our bags brought up by an unfriendly silent boy.
Went down to the poolside.. A beautiful pool but with shabby threadbare lounge chairs.. And a lot many European guests (the resort is owned by a Frenchman I think) We ordered some snacks.. The chicken was underdone, cold and slightly smelly..
Willing to overlook everything in the excitement of the visit to this magical city.. We walked around the property. Not one of the sparsely evident staff had a nice word or a smile for us. Seemed like we were unwelcome trespassers. There was no drinking water in the room, nobody came in to ask for refreshment, iin fact... It felt like we didn't exist. Dinner was lackadaisical and breakfast meagre and uninteresting.
All I can say in favour of the place is that it was clean. And had interestingly decor. And yes.. It was almost all vacant.. So I presume they weren't interested in booking Indian guests. An overrated over charged place. Definitely not on my visit - again list.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLaederich, Public Relations Manager at Mango Hill, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we are not exactly sure what you are complaining about.However thank you for giving us a thumbs up on room, cleanliness however i am sure our staff hasnt been impolite to you. If yes, do let us know and ofcourse then you are most rightful to complain else the final ratings are harsh for a day's stay when we had not much opportunity to interact. Its would be easy to predict on our otherwise cordial staff . However we do apologies to any inconvenience caused to you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at MH for 2 nights. We wanted a quiet place where nobody disturbs us and thats exactly what we got. As others pointed, the staff out there don't try to please you. But yes, saw them paying special attention to Foreigners. We stayed at the suite room. As blasted by the other reviewers, we did not find the room and toilet dirty. It was clean when we entered and a housekeeping woman offered to clean after a day's stay (Knowing local language didn't help too much. Staff were reluctant to strike conversations). Coming to reviewing the property - Its a small resort with only a lounge cum restaurant and a pool to relax. Unfortunately, these places were raided by blood thirsty mosquitoes throughout the day. Hotel doesn't seem to take any measures to control or to repel the insects (My advice - Keep an insect trapper or grow plants that repel mosquitoes). If not for mosquitoes, these spots could have been special places to sit and relax. Food: We took only the complimentary breakfast at MH. Otherwise, we drove to nearby Tanto's Italian restaurant and to the town for authentic south indian Non Veg meal at Sri Kamatchi. Overall, a pleasant stay that helped us to unwind (More time outdoors could have made it even special)

Room Tip: Don't go for Thai cottages if you don't want insects in your room. Suite rooms aren't pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLaederich, Public Relations Manager at Mango Hill, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay. Please do try our fare at our restaurant next time. We wish to tell that we treat each and every guest equally. Wishing you many more happy journeys. A bientot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Mango hill is small boutique hotel, about 200 meters from ECR on the auroville road. The heart of city would be about 5 - 6 km from the hotel.

First thing that hits you is the car parking, it cramped up & can take only a maximum take 6-7 cars. I guess the hotel by itself didn't have more than 10 - 15 rooms. Their security guards were least bothered about how I parked my car and offered no assistance whatsoever both while I entered & exited the hotel. So you are also at the mercy of the other guest parking their cars sensibly. I left the hotel at 3.30 am and had to open the main gate myself! The security guards were probably sleeping as there was no response to my horns & I didn't want to honk too much at that hour and wake up the rest of the guests. Given that any body could have entered the hotel & knocked at your doors without any hotel staff knowing about it isn't a pleasant feeling. It hit us even harder when we realised that the sliding balcony door was not bolted the previous night as slept.

We barely stayed in the hotel for a few hours so didn't get a chance to use their facilities. We stayed in the thai cottage category room, it was small but aesthetically done. The quality of linen was pretty good. The room was on the first floor & had a small balcony facing the swimming pool + the large lilly pond.

The bathroom didn't have a door; while there was another door before you entered the room, it didn't seem like you could lock that door from the bathroom side without pulling out the keys from the power switch. So you'd be depended on the people staying the room not opening the door while you attend nature's call! It may be considered as some sorta romantic openness but it felt odd that no one can't enter or exit the room while you are using the bathroom without infringing on your privacy!

They had an Ayurveda massage center & a nice looking restaurant. We had just come back from running a full marathon so wanted a quick lunch before we checked out. We waited for about 15 minutes in the table but the waiters were too busy even to give us a menu card. It looked like Sundays were busy days as post table were occupied, it also seemed like a place favored by the firangi tourists. We didn't have the patience to wait beyond that and we decided to leave. None of waiters even seemed bothered that we left... Oh hold on, they didn't just seem to notice that even came and sat there in the first place ! I just hope the 'goan' culture of treating westerns better than the locals isn't catching up in such restaurants in pondy. The food they served in the other tables did look yum ;))) We really were hungry ;)

Net net nice place especially if you were paying just about 2 1/2 grand for the night. But don't go there with high expectation. We'd probably go back to Mango Hill again on a leisurely trip to pondy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLaederich, Public Relations Manager at Mango Hill, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused to you. We are glad you chose us even though your stay was short. We would be happy to see you again. Till then happy journeys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We just came back from a 2-day stay (Fri and Sat nights) at the Mango Hill hotel. It was the Auroville Marathon weekend so it was pretty busy.
We were there with several other families: about 12 adults and 15 children aged from just under a year to 11 years old.
I found the hotel quite delightful. Yes, not perfect, not super-deluxe, but delightfully eclectic, clean, with a wonderful pool. We stayed in Room # 1 and our balcony hung right over the pool. There's a nice big tree right there so the balcony area wasn't exposed to everyone and it felt quite cozy.
Our mattress was a bit lumpy (and it appears that others in the hotel in different rooms had a similar experience).
I loved the steeple roof/ceiling of the room and the beams. Just so different.
The food was good enough (we had breakfast there both mornings), lunch one day and a buffet dinner (pre-arranged) one evening.
The one area of major improvement would be the service: very spotty and slow, some of the wait staff appear to get easily distracted (several times we found our order deposited on a counter half-way between the kitchen and our table and just left there… until we just went and got it ourselves - the wait staff never seemed to wonder about those orders after), and we had to ask many times to get them to take our order, or have them clear the table. Nobody ever came by to ask whether the food was to our liking or whether we'd like more drinks, etc. There seemed to be plenty of staff around so I don't think that shorthanded-ness was the issue.

At any rate, I'd still go back to the Mango Hill hotel because I enjoyed the atmosphere very much.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLaederich, Public Relations Manager at Mango Hill, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you liked your stay at MH. We are happy to have served you and sorry for any inconvenience caused to you. We hope to see you again soon. Happy journeys till then and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

PROs : 1) well located much before Pondicherry on the road to Auroville 2) very chilled out place with nice rooms 3) room rates are value for money

CONs : 1) We had a horrifying experience where we had booked a suite through make my trip and half hour before we arrived at mango hill, got a call from make my trip saying they had given away their suites to a walk in guest. I don't know how that works really but when I have a confirmed booking for a suite there is no reason to give that away. We then stayed in a non-AC thai cottage.
2) the staff and service were terrible. No body really cares. There is also no room service even though the rooms are all about 2 mins from the kitchen.
3) food is overpriced and their mango hill cheese is just ok!
4) don't step into the spa--- unless you want to walk out more stressed than when you walked in!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLaederich, Public Relations Manager at Mango Hill, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the unfortunate series of events that lead to your inconvenience. We agree with you that when one's plan a certain itinerary, it should not be disrupted for any reasons. However in this case we were not informed of your impending visit by the 3rd party till very late and hence we couldnot forsee any reasons not to give your room away before. We understand after such experience, I am sure anyone would take things with a pinch of salt. Every hotel would have their own SOP and for us room service has never been highlighted as an amenity anywhere.
However thank you for visiting MH. Happy Journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The hotel is located away from the main city but closer to Auroville. The hotel offers some good food & drinks & the swimming pool is nice. The only drawback though is the rooms do not have bathroom door & the same is covered only with a curtain. I was told that only suited have bathroom doors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLaederich, Public Relations Manager at Mango Hill, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities. Please do try the suited rooms next time. Thank you for being a part of MH. Happy journeys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mango Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Hill

Address: Between Pondicherry and Old Auroville Road | Bommayapalayam Village, Pondicherry 605104, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Hill, a gracious Indian hotel with French touch, located on a hill planted with mango and cashew trees, between Pondicherry and Auroville, on the bay of Bengal. An eco-friendly haven of serenity just outside the city. The spacious main house has 14 elegant rooms with private terraces and a large restaurant offering Indian and French specialties. Surrounding a large swimming-pool, 10 Thai cottage style rooms with sea view. Beside the pool is an Ayurvedic spa to restore harmony and balance to mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Mango Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Hill Hotel Pondicherry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.