We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly outstanding!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coramandal Heritage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Coramandal Heritage to your Saves list
Hotel Coramandal Heritage
36, Rue Nidarajapayer | Near to Mission St Cathedral, Pondicherry 605001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 124 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Truly outstanding!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Having seen people rave about Coramandal Heritage in TA, I decided to opt this hotel for my first ever visit to Pondicherry which was indeed a brilliant decision. This cute little hotel with its bunch of friendly and amazingly hospitable staffs (Jaya especially) will surely make you feel at home. Me and my wife stayed in a double deluxe for 3 nights which was pretty decent and even though a bit basic it was absolute value for money. The hotel is located in the Tamil quarter with so many eat outs, shops and bike rentals nearby.Though not exactly located in the French quarter or beach promenade, in Pondicherry you are never far away from anything, just hire a bike and you are there. In short highly recommended. Once again a special thanks to Jaya for scanning and mailing me all those documents. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoramandalHeritage, General Manager at Hotel Coramandal Heritage, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

We feel very satisfied and happy to read the reviews of customers like you who remember us even if they go abroad. As after spending your vacation in so many hotels here in India , your views about our hotel which you write from your true experience is just amazing .

Hope to see you both soon......

Thanks
Jaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    76
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
33
58
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

After perusing through various value-for-money accommodations in Pondicherry, I locked into Coramandal Hotel because of its good reviews from fellow travellers. Right from my initial email to book a room (travelling single on work) till check-out I felt I was back home. Jaya, Raja and their team are excellent hosts - available, courteous, unobtrusive, knowledgeable and genuinely helpful. As a tour operator and hospitality professional for 34 years I recognise levels of service and its results. For its positioning, Coramandal Hotel delivers as promised. Prices are reasonable. I paid Rs.900 per night for an air-conditioned single room (101) on the ground floor - not noisy, as the street is relatively quiet, and good to hear occasional voices so as to know I am in civilisation. The rooms and attached bath/wc are clean and function well. The A/c is effective and in my 9 days stay the electricity went once for 4 hours due to a major fault on the grid - Pondicherry rarely has power-outs. However the Hotel has a silent back-up gen set that keeps lights and fans running. Breakfast is reasonably priced and sufficient, and I always ate here. The restaurant Akbar Biryani Point (0413 2220685, 9865043449) on MG Road (exit Coramandal, turn right and right again at the MG Road Crossing, and the restaurant is to your left 25 yards ahead) will deliver (visit them and take their menu - veg and non veg). My only unhappiness were the foam pillows which were a bit high and gave me a neck ache after a couple of days - I think lower fibre filled pillows will be more comfortable. However Raja did mention various coming up-gradations, and I know this will be one of them - thanks Raja :-) Their team is great, and there is always some one around 24x7 in the Reception. Their location is to die-for. Bang in the old city. 10 minutes from the Beach, White Town and Ashram (exit and turn left). Exit turn right, and you hit MG Road the main market area with KFC and other restaurant and shops on its entire length. For Florists go straight across the MG Road junction and take a right at the next Junction at Archies. If you go towards the beach (left from the hotel) and take a left at the first junction you will come upon a more fancy market with Hide Design, Confectionery, Large Retails selling fruits, toiletries, snacks, fruits and vegetables. Fruits and Vegetables are cheaper in these shops than the street vendors. On Sunday, a local market comes up on MG Road and it becomes pretty crowded. There are two liquor shops beyond KFC. The markets are bright and a delight to peruse. Most anything in Pondy is available within 10 minutes walk from this hotel and Jaya and Raja are excellent in guides and provide you with a map freely available at their reception. All in all Hotel Coramandal is value, and I recommend it to anyone on a budget looking for a wholesome place to stay and enjoy their visit to Pondicherry. Their WiFi is free, and speed is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoramandalHeritage, General Manager at Hotel Coramandal Heritage, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Vir sir,

Its nice to here from you a detailed review about our hotel and all the near by places to visit which clearily gives a good and exact idea to a new person who would like to come to pondicherry for the first time with out any confusion and also to avail a comfortable stay and enjoy their holiday. Regarding the height of the pillow you could have informed us so that immediately we had changed it and given other normal one . After all we try to give all the customer more comfortable stay without any discomfort. Hope next time we will keep it in mind and do the needful for you stay .

Thanks
Jaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A lot changes in a year but for this quaint place nothing apart from the setting of the room had changed. This was the second trip for me and my husband . There were other options available in pondicherry but we decided to go for this place as we had had an excellent time the last time round. The staff is very helpful , location wise the hotel scores big , my fav place is the sit out on the 1st floor where u can enjoy ur morning cuppa at leisure. Highly recommended to backpackers and regular tourists alike...

Room Tip: rooms in the 1st and 2nd floor are better with the advantage of a sit out / balcony ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoramandalHeritage, General Manager at Hotel Coramandal Heritage, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Your detail review about our hotel will definitely attract and urge new people whoever goes through it, an idea to come and stay here and enjoy the homely and comfortable experience that you had at our hotel.

Hope to see you in the next trip also.......

Thanks
Jaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our (me and wife) second trip to Pondicherry and we again stayed at the same hotel and same standard A/c room. It was just as comfortable as the last time that we visited. Room was clean, A/c that works well and a decent clean bathroom. The bed was the high point (very comfortable). The room might be small in size, but I guess it served our purpose. The location is quiet and close-by to promenade. Majority of the attaractions in french quarter, one can walk. In and around, decent variety of food options available (the hotel does not have a restaurant, though you can get simple stuffs like drinking water, tea, coffee etc.).

I can recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a good budget accomodation option that offers substantial comfort and does not burn a hole in your pocket. The stuff is polite and usually understands english to the point that communication is meaningful.

On the tiny little down-side (dont let this bother you much at all), the hotel may spend some money on maintenance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoramandalHeritage, General Manager at Hotel Coramandal Heritage, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Your detail review about our hotel will definitely attract and urge new people whoever goes through it, an idea to come and stay here and enjoy the homely and comfortable experience that you had at our hotel.

Hope to see you in the next trip also.......

Thanks
Jaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishikesh, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed there for about a week in Jan 2013 . A very good budget hotel for young couples , close to sea beach and most of tourist spots , silent zone , homely atmosphere . No parking facilety except parking on public road . Indoor meals not available however number of restaurents near by are available at walking distance . Senior citizens having knee pain may avoid because no lift available

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoramandalHeritage, General Manager at Hotel Coramandal Heritage, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are glad to go through your review regarding our hotel. Just we wanted to bring to your kind information that in this heritage house we are unable to put lift . But for the elderly people we had kept two basic rooms in the ground floor with a common reception area where they can sit and relax so that they dont have to use the steps to climb up to go to their rooms.. Hope you understand what we want to say.

Thanks
Jaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. A nice conversion of an old Colonial-era; it's not upper end boutiquey, that's for sure, but it is neither the usual backpacker fare. It site nicely in the middle, making it a bit of a treat for those on backpacker budgets!

Room size was fine - especially with a separate room in between the large bathroom and bedroom, kinda like a dressing room - aircon and tv were great creature comforts. All in all, a pleasant stay, and would have no hesitation in recommending to others. It's not in the French quarter, but nothing in Pondy is very far, and we liked being in between the constructed tourist area, and the everyday Pondy outside of it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoramandalHeritage, General Manager at Hotel Coramandal Heritage, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Your pleasent stay in our hotel and your views expressed regarding the same has made us feel satisfied that you had no discomfort here. Hope others when they go through your review will have an idea to come and stay here .

Hope to see you soon....

Thanks
Jaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is my second visit to this place and feels like at home... :) Hotel placed in an excellent location, friendly staff and very accessible to most of the tourist spots like beach, temple...Only missing in this hotel would be restaurant but still manageable

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoramandalHeritage, General Manager at Hotel Coramandal Heritage, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are happy that you had expressed your reviews regarding your stay in our hotel . Since this was the second visit which itself tells us that you had a comfortable and happy stay last time. Since other hotels for food is available at just two minutes walk from our hotel , So we had not given thought to have a restuarant in our hotel . But we will try to make some arrangement soon .

Thanks
Jaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Coramandal Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coramandal Heritage

Address: 36, Rue Nidarajapayer | Near to Mission St Cathedral, Pondicherry 605001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coramandal Heritage, 150 years old Franco-Tamil home hosts from the centre of the colonial town. In 2007, this house has been converted into a calm hotel. It offers a peaceful stay with ten comfort rooms. There is a gallery for South- Arcot paintings and an ethical boutique for cotton products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Coramandal Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Coramandal Heritage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.