We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Satsanga

Satsanga
13 Bussy Street, Pondicherry, India
413224572
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 212 Restaurants in Pondicherry
Cuisines: French, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I had been in this restaurant in November 2012. The restaurant was quite emptya s there were only 3-4 tables with people. I've to admit that in the beginning I had some doubt, but then, we ordered two steaks and they had been delicious! Food was amazing, but quite expensive. Be warned!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    45
    21
    16
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Roof top available”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Good food and lovely roof top for lunch and diner !
Continental and indian food available with a not expensive bill

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food was excellent. Everything else will do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went there only for the food, which did not disappoint us. We had the chicken mushroom crepe in white cream sauce to start with. Was not warm enough but was the perfect blend of cream cheese and herbs. The Fish in Pesto Basil and the Garlic Pepper Beef steak were absolutely delicious. We literally scrubbed our plates clean. And the caramel custard for dessert, with the perfect ratio of coffee and sugar syrup, was the perfect choice to wrap up our meal.

Don't expect some classy presentation or expensive cutlery or great ambience. Food is the focus. Only expect good food. Ask for a table on the roof.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food, a bit pricy and not very clean tables”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I was dying for a proper meal in Pondicherry and we took the decision to visit this place rated as top choice in lonely planet. I must say the ambience is kind nice coz is surrounded but trees and plants but was not very very clean. Even like that I wanted to try and don't judge the book just for the way it look. We order an omelette, French fries, Aubergine with curry and curry potatoes. The food was ok and nice, but we expend around 850 rupees just on it... So is definetly pricy for Indian standards. If u are ordering Indian food be carefull coz they serve with extra rice so if u order 2 Indian dishes u will have several amount of food, it's good that u ask first.
The service was very nice. Ask to the waiter to clean as proper ur table.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Terrible place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The only thing you will do is to run a meal of you ever go there. Pathetic service, terrible ....

Stay away. ...

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satsanga also viewed

Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 

Been to Satsanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satsanga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.