We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an ok place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ajantha Beach Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ajantha Beach Guest House
Save
You added Ajantha Beach Guest House to your Saves list
No.1-A1,Bazar Saint Laurent Street | Bay of Bengal, Pondicherry 605001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 119 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“an ok place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

not a very great place..just ok...
location is good but dont expect too much from the service or hospitality..

i did not get bath towels for 2 days and i had the room booked for 4 days...

there was no one to came to clean the room as well even when we requested the room to be cleaned..

you can get a great view in the morning...which is why i said the location is amazing...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Rooms on ground floor are bad. Guest house does not have restaurant. The Ajantha Sea View hotel is better than Ajantha Sea View guest house. Location is really good if looking for sea side.
They increased the price when we reached guest house although we had done booking.
Check in check out time are good.

Room Tip: Select room on higher floor and sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I don't know what to think..
The weather was really bad when I was in Pondicherry.
The hotel had no personality but the people were friendly, the room were kind of clean (for India's standards) and the location was okay.
I would have rather stayed in a more personal and smaller place.
But it was okay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed twice at this place. The first time was with a group of friends, we took a 4-bed room. The room was nice though the geyser in the bath-room was working. the room had a small balcony which is towards the side-road and not the beach. However you can see the beach from there. This place also has a restaurant that offers room-service till 11 in the night. The food isnt great but decent though I would say a little costly compared to cities. The best part is that the place is right in front of the beach,so you can always walk out (even late in the night). It is also very close to the Le cafe which serves food/coffeee 24/7.
Overall a decent place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed here last weekend and believe me this is one of the worst hotels in Pondy.
1) if you are expecting a big balcony from where you can see the beach upfront, then you will be disappointed to note that it is just a window though which you can peep ur head out and see the beach.
2)No complimentary towels and bath accesories. This i found a little amusing as even smaller hotels in pondy are providing it.
3) If you like to have food from the hotel itself well think again. if they came to know that you are non vegan, then they will say that all vegetarian items are over. and i dont think 3/4 glass of milk will cost 40 rs anywhere else in Pondy!!!.
4) We had booked an 8-bed room and the single AC which was provided there was not working. Even after complaining to them about the same they didnt even try to fix it...Completely irresponsible and non courteous behaviour from them

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Check the criteria, choose this hotel:

1) Do you want to stay near beach?
2) Want to look the sea from your hotel window?
3) Want a safe hotel to stay with your family?
4) Don't want to make a burn a hole in your pocket?

if so, this is the perfect place for you.

The staffs are courteous and well behaved but a bit slow. But, this behavior is common across all the 4 restaurants I found except the Pizza Hut.

Stayed in a room where it can accommodate 8 persons so it is a good option if you want to share the fun all along. Rooms and toilets are clean.

Being just opposite to beach road you can choose to stay at room and enjoy the look from your window. It is just 1 km from Podicherry / Puducherry Railway Station.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

When I went to Pondicherry, I went straight to the beach. The tourist office referred me to go to Ajantha Beach Guest house nearby. The location of this guest house is amazing. Its great to just sit outside in the balcony and take in the beach view, especially early morning during sun rise. Apart from the beach, some really good restaurants are within walking distance.
The room was spacious, clean, and good amenities were there at a decent price (Rs 1500 for one night for the room with the sea view). Service was prompt, overall good value for money and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Look for the room with the sea view, the higher price is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ajantha Beach Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajantha Beach Guest House

Address: No.1-A1,Bazar Saint Laurent Street | Bay of Bengal, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Ajantha Beach Guest House Hotel Pondicherry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ajantha Beach Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.