We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small boutique hotel in french town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Richmond, Puducherry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Richmond, Puducherry to your Saves list
The Richmond, Puducherry
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Labourdonnais Street | Near old Law college, Pondicherry 605001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Pondicherry
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“small boutique hotel in french town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

alternative to the top french guest houses in the area.good,clean hotel stay for the price in french town,short walk to beach side. rooms are not so big in deluxe, aircon needs upgrade for the usually hot weather of pondy.had only breakfast, was fine.if you are in pondy to enjoy the french culture no point staying in the other side of town.

Room Tip: start at deluxe if you are looking for space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    84
    24
    2
    2
See reviews for
48
52
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a small hotel, located in the French areas in Pondicherry. i was fortunate to get an accommodation there, considering that i dint have prior booking. it is property by Residency group of Chennai and it is a bit different than their rest of their hotels in TN. This is much quiter and smaller hotel, but neat and clean. Rooms are spacious and overall it provides a good value for money. The staff is friendly and they really helped in taking a few important print-outs as the business center was not functional at that time. Good place to stay but there are better places in the vicnity which can be booked in advance and which serve better food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I came to know about this property from The Residency Chennai. The hotel is located in erstwhile French White Town (Ville Blanche) in G+2 facility. The exterior and interior and rooms are designed in french style and windows, ceilings and paintings. It's never crowded as the size of property limits to small number of rooms. The promenade beach and monuments are at walking distance. Food is custom made and good and staff is courteous.

Room Tip: Room away from the lift are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Just completed three days at The Richmond and loved it. Rooms are small but very nicely appointed, clean and stylish, bed very comfortable, excellent water temperature and pressure. Free WiFi in the room is a definite plus. Restaurant is good, not great but perfectly fine if you don't feel like going out -- actually has better croissant than most hotels in the US, perhaps expected considering Pondy's French colonial past. Location is great, a 5 minute walk from the water, with other French Quarter sites within a short stroll (by my definition of short stroll, coming from a confirmed walking New Yorker). Auto rickshaws are abundant should the heat or distance be too much for you.

Some reviews have mentioned the noise from the kitchen coming up through hotel. In my experience with a second floor room, while I could hear some kitchen noise it was in no way objectionable or did it disturb my sleep or stay in any way (again though, I'm used to a lot of street noise inside at all times, from living in lower Manhattan).

Room Tip: Higher floors probably have less noise from kitchen/restaurant/bar than the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidoleig, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Very nice building. Very nice staff. Bedroom not really what i expected.I think i will stick to purpose built in the future.

Room Tip: Not my first choice but good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THERICHMOND09, General Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your comment on trip advisor.

Your feedback regarding the service of our staff shall be conveyed to them.

We look forward to welcome you back on you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

"Discover the meaning of hospitality" is the less suitable motto The Richmond could choose. The location is nice but that's it! We stayed two nights there and almost couldn't sleep. Room was attached to the next one through a simple door and worst is all the noise from the kitchen could be heard through the ventilation. All night long people were cleaning dishes while talking loudly. While it lasted hours, breakfast was not ready in the morning! Nothing was set at 8 am. We ordered tea and waited for 40 minutes to receive one cup (yes for 2 people!). We were off for Mamallapuram and couldn't wait… In the evening we were refused drinks at 10pm being explained it was too late. The staff is supposed to serve you later according hotel rules however. We were told to use the minibar instead (and have to pay more for it). Next night, same noisy nightmare and breakfast not ready! While going to reception to complain my wife got smashed by the door opened by one of the staff who didn't look through it! Even not one word of excuse! We did the check-out and went for a walk asking the bags to be at the reception at 1pm. When we came back, hours later, nothing had moved, the staff was still having fun on facebook. We were told to help ourselves with the bags! By that time, the receptionist told our taxi driver to come back later as we were not ready!!! We saw other customers complaining about disorganization of transports and service. The staff is definitively behaving very loosely spending hours on internet and probably adding excellent comments about The Richmond. All in all we must say that there are so many hotels around Pondicherry that you'd better stay away from this one.

Room Tip: Avoid attached rooms as doors are very thin. Don't forget your earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THERICHMOND09, General Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your feedback on trip advisor.

I personally apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us.

We have already taken necessary steps on improving the areas highlighted in your feedback.


We look forward to welcome you back at “The Richmond” Puducherry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 days and the stay was really memorable. The rooms are value for money and it location is one of the main advantage. Its located right in French colony and walking distance from the waves. Food is good but you should try outside. Satff is excellent. Overall place to stay if in Pondy.

Room Tip: If travelling with more than one family, take the adj rooms since they are connected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THERICHMOND09, General Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your feedback on trip advisor.

We are pleased to note that you had appreciated in our hotel location, Food & Service during your stay. Your feedback has been conveyed to our Staff.

We look forward to welcome you back at “The Richmond” Puducherry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Richmond, Puducherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond, Puducherry

Address: 12 Labourdonnais Street | Near old Law college, Pondicherry 605001, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Richmond, Puducherry 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond, Puducherry is the fifth property of The Residency Group of Hotels. The Richmond has 14 well appointed rooms with the following in-room facilities: 1.Tea/Coffee station. 2.Digital safe. 3.Well stocked Mini-bar. 4.Hair dryer. Location: Immediate proximity of the promenade beach. In the quiet French colonial quarter, Pondicherry is completely accessible from here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Richmond, Puducherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Puducherry Pondicherry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Richmond, Puducherry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.