We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure NIeuwegein the Netherlands” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Utrecht Nieuwegein

Save Saved
You added Mercure Utrecht Nieuwegein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Utrecht Nieuwegein
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buizerdlaan 10, Nieuwegein 3435 SB, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Nieuwegein
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    126
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
69
45
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

A quality hotel. Clean throughout and a well situated just off the Motorway. The reviews cited in other sources really do match the hotel's description. The beds are very comfortable and room service was prompt and the food tasty. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and hope you too have a pleasent stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureNieuwegein, Revenue Manager at Mercure Utrecht Nieuwegein, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for the nice compliments!
We will share them with the staff members of the hotel.
I hope you will choose our hotel again, during your next visit to Holland for the reptile fair!

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Utrecht Nieuwegein
Christine van Helmondt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, East Sussex UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had overnight stop in the hotel as part of a much longer holiday journey at the beginning of August. The room was very comfortable and well-equipped and the hotel and its facilities were excellent - one of the best hotels in this chain that we have stayed in. The swimming pool was an additional bonus. Reception staff were efficient and friendly.

Breakfast was ample and good value. However, on returning to our car in the underground car park attached to the hotel, we found that it had been broken into and a suitcase containing most of our clothes was missing (we had taken all valuables to the room the night before).

Please note: this section of the review is not in any way intended to convey criticism of the hotel. We immediately reported the problem to the Day Manager, Debby, and have nothing but praise for the way she and her colleagues went out of their way to help us - within half an hour, the somewhat complicated online report form for the police (in Dutch) had been completed; arrangements were made to have the car window repaired by a local car glass company and one of the hotel staff had gone out on his bike to search the surroundings to look for our belongings. This did not produce any immediate outcome but an hour later the police reported that the suitcase had been found in a garden (nothing was missing) and one of the hotel staff collected it and brought it to us.

The car window was repaired by early afternoon and we were able to get back on the road and travel to another Mercure hotel in Bremen which Debby had booked for us while we waited.

I appreciate that this is a somewhat lengthy review but we were very impressed by the concern and good humoured helpfulness of the staff in the hotel - we would certainly recommend it to other readers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureNieuwegein, Revenue Manager at Mercure Utrecht Nieuwegein, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank for the nice compliments!
Excellent service to our guests is very important in our hotel.
It is nice if this is appreciated.
Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Netherlands.
Hopefully than just pleasant experiences!

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Utrecht Nieuwegein
Christine van Helmondt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vroomshoop, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent just one night at this hotel, but everything was very good and confortable: the bed, the pillows, the comforter... The bathroom was clean, but my husband said he found some hair on the bed. It is a very short drive from Utrecht, where we had our appointments, so we actually didn't explore the surroundings of the hotel. Friendly staff, good breakfast and free parking!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureNieuwegein, Revenue Manager at Mercure Utrecht Nieuwegein, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for the positive and critical comments.
It is very encouraging when guests acknowledge the good service of our team.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Utrecht Nieuwegein
Christine van Helmondt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My first stay at a Mercure and one I would now like to repeat. Good facilities, clean and very modern. The room was excellent, clean, roomy, modern and very comfortable. A good choice and worth the long cycle to the Utrecht central office.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureNieuwegein, Revenue Manager at Mercure Utrecht Nieuwegein, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest,
We are delighted with your positive experience!
Hope to see you soon in one of our Accor hotels and especially in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Utrecht Nieuwegein
Christine van Helmondt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel was part of a package holiday organised by Newmarket. Situated just out of Utrecht, typically on what looks like a forbidding modern state of mixed housing, hotels and light industry A cab into Utrecht cost 24 euros, there is a bus service, but we didn't use this as we were fully booked on days out in Holland. It's about an hours drive to Amsterdam

The hotel itself is a good choice for business, for pleasure you would need to be organised around travel because the hotel is out of town, however once you get there you can relax in a haven of modern facilities whilst you recover from travel trauma.

From the top:

Parking on site, Internet access, fitness facilities, pool and sauna (very good), good sized rooms, with super shower plenty of hot water ,mini basic toiletries , coffee and tea in rooms ,hairdryer TV. Don't forget your mains adaptor

Restaurant provides full breakfast plus continental .Vast array of food to set you up for the day self service but beautifully set tables

I only had one evening meal. It cost 20 euros for a three course meal plus a beer (Heiniken) Our coach arrived late so this was arranged by our tour manager . I don't know if it was typical but really for the cost it was a poor deal, the soup looked as if it had come out of a packet , I had some sort of salmon dish with potato croquettes and salad , the other option was a sort of Belgian beef stew

Dessert was ice cream flavoured with rosemary which I didn't fancy so they found a raspberry substitute which was sweet of them ,but rock hard.. This is not from the restaurant menu but I did have a look at it and found it unadventurous and expensive

You can get room service which provides pizzas or burgers (one of our party raved about the four cheese pizza) price ranging from 9 euros to 17 euros.

Basic bar

We were a mixed bunch varying from families with both small children and older teenagers. At least three of our party had mobility difficulties and one chap was visually impaired.I didn't hear any grumbles from our party n My experience of the staff.was good, the front of house were professional and friendly, my room was spotlessly clean and the restaurant staff went out of their way to make sure everyone was happy, big stars for the restaurant staff

I would definitely go back there

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureNieuwegein, Revenue Manager at Mercure Utrecht Nieuwegein, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for writing the detailed review!
We discussed your comments about the restaurant with the chief cook.
Furthermore, we have passed your compliments to the staff.

Hope to see you again in Nieuwegein or in one of the other Accor Hotels.
Kind regards,
Mercure Utrecht Nieuwegein
Christine van Helmondt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Utrecht Nieuwegein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Utrecht Nieuwegein

Address: Buizerdlaan 10, Nieuwegein 3435 SB, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Nieuwegein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Nieuwegein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Utrecht Nieuwegein 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the A2 motorway, the Mercure Utrecht Nieuwegein is not far from the centre of Utrecht, with its lively shops and nightlife only 10 km away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Utrecht Nieuwegein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Utrecht Nieuwegein Utrecht Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Utrecht Nieuwegein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.