We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel for sleeping” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sharda

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Sharda to your Saves list
Hotel Sharda
Hill Cart Road, Mallaguri, Pradhan Nagar, Siliguri 734003 , India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 28 Siliguri B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not a hotel for sleeping”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is a typical budget hotel until the singing from the bar begins. There is no sound proofing so you may as well be trying to sleep in the bar.
The bar/restaurant is dinghy dark and filthy. The tablecloths are covered in old food and dirt and that is only what I could see in the dark. The family restaurant area has a disgusting smell so we walked out. The menu is only a possible menu with most things unavailable.
We asked what was included in our payed for breakfast and were told everything. We were then asked to pay for the items that were not included at check out. After having to request a quieter room,moving in the late evening, putting up with loud singing most of the evening and loud blaring music in the morning, this was the last straw.
Don't stay here if you want to get any sleep.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
3
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

it is very good experience the location is very good easy access for air port,train, bus, and taxi for Darjeeling,and Gangtok, room service is very good, and the breakfast is very execlant,last but not least it is very economical and more over if u travel with clear trip discount it is very cheap

Room Tip: any as per your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhanbad, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Prime location with airport and train station at good distance, can be reached any time. Clean rooms but bathroom is not so much clean. While check in they have given room with the make my trip online booking receipt, but when we are checking out they did not accept the make my trip online booking receipts but later they had to accept. This is due to poor management as person at that time don' t have idea of the bookings. I have to explain about this. Obverall staffs were good, good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

It is not a very good option to stay in Siliguri. We had booked an AC room. All we can say was that we had a place to halt overnight before our onward journey. The problems at this place:
1. The bathroom window facing the road has no curtains - we complained but they had no solution ; so finally we put a big brown paper (fortunately we had one) and closed the window shut.
2. The power switch was inadvertently switched off by house keeping making us believe it was a power cut for 2 hours - and Siliguri is boiling hot.
3. We saw indecently dressed woman in the lobby in the night who slipped away into the corridors on seeing us - we were shocked this place was more than a hotel. By the way it has a singing / dancing bar and disco housed there.
Would never recommend this place to anyone. When in Siliguri / Bagdogra - please check the rooms before you check in and better still - opt for the good hotels (pricier too).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhanbad, India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Quite clean rooms and good location near by airport and railway station. Service is little bit late but comfortable , shower area is little bit not up to mark. Reception and staffs are helpful . If you are booking vi internet you will be waiting there for 5 10 minute which i faced as they have not updated the check in tourists .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sharda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sharda

Address: Hill Cart Road, Mallaguri, Pradhan Nagar, Siliguri 734003 , India
Location: India > West Bengal > Siliguri
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Siliguri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Sharda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sharda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.