We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Relaxing Golfing Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairplay Golf Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fairplay Golf Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Fairplay Golf Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle La Torre s/n, 11190 Benalup-Casas Viejas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
lancashire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Relaxing Golfing Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our 3rd visit with six friends. Everything was first class. What a shame so few people there to enjiy the superb facilities. Suites were large,very clean and we all had wonderful views. Food and service were very good, the lack of choice did not affect the standard.All the restaurants are waiter service, a real plus . The staff in all departments were great. This was the best condition we have played the course and the lack of customers meant we could play when we liked at our own pace. We have visited many all inclusive golf resorts but haven't found one to match Fairplay. Hope the economic situation improves soon and golfers will begin returning, you would not be disspointed!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have good views and all are quiet and well maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    64
    38
    12
    12
See reviews for
26
155
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had been told that the hotel standards had declined recently .We found that whilst the hotel was clearly suffering from a lack of customers ,we found the usual high standards have been maintained .The golf course was in excellent condition ,which we had to ourselves in the main ,food and service was excellent .We think the decline in people ,is mainly due to a lack of promotion ,however we had a super holiday with our 3 year old grandchild and the family,If you can find a better value quality hotel /golf course ,we would like to know about it

Room Tip: we booked a holiday with golf breaks who traded us up to two junior suites,which gave us plenty of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Four of us stayed in this hotel, the rooms were really large and clean. The food exceptional.fantastic. The staff extremely friendly. The golf was perfect, a great corse to play on.So pretty. We all vow to return. Thank you

Room Tip: A room near to the spa,so you will not have a lot of walking about to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lytham St Annes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed here in April and have just read the previous review by ReviewMeisterUk and can vouch for all the points made. The hotel is like a small village with rooms spread over a complex so there is a bit of walking from one end to the other to bear in mind and flights of steps as previously mentioned. The hotel is spotless, as are the rooms. I swapped my perfectly good room to a suite on arrival taking advantage of the quiet season and gaining a very nice balcony. I could not fault the room standard which was excellent, clean and spacious. Again, the staff are very friendly and try their utmost to get you everything you need to make your stay comfortable but restaurant staff were run off their feet still managing to be kind and helpful. The food was good for breakfast and excellent for lunch but dinner was average and choice limited. The Spa was excellent and the course lovely and enough of a challenge for me. Just one bar was open during the evening at this time of year with no music so if you want more going on in the evening this may not suit you. Overall I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Suites overlooking the valley get afternoon sun. Be aware that some rooms do not have private seatin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I was here on a group golf holiday in late April 2013 and here are my thoughts:

Rooms
My room and others that I saw were of a high standard and spotlessly clean, with excellent maid service. My room had a safe, which I assume is standard. Rooms also have a mini bar as part of the all-inclusive package, but this is not quite as good as it may sound. The mini bar is topped up every day, but only contains still and sparkling water, 2 small (200ml) bottles of coke and 2 equally small bottles of beer. There are no wines, spirits, sweets or snacks. My room was as basic as they come at this resort, but still had a great bed, bath, shower etc, together with a separate seating area. However, it was rather dark, despite having patio doors, and the only view was onto a courtyard. If possible, get one of the upgraded ‘suites’, which looked truly fantastic – or at least a room with a view facing outwards. It should also be noted that the hotel is built over quite a large area, with flights of stairs to negotiate, so it‘s not ideal for those with mobility problems. It is also quite easy to get lost and some members of my group were apprehensive about getting back to their rooms after dark, given the secluded nature of the resort.

Spa
A spa facility is offered free (for 2 hours per day) as part of the all-inclusive package, and I found this to be of high quality and exceptionally well maintained. There is a large pool area with water jets, in addition to wet and dry steam rooms and hot and cold Jacuzzis. Theoretically, entry to the spa has to be pre-booked, but it was very quiet during my stay and thus possible to enter without booking. There is a small bar offering complimentary water and orange juice by the jet pool. Treatments and massages are also available at an additional charge. A 25 minute shoulder massage was 30 Euros, for example, although this did rise to 55 Euros after 4.30pm, so best to book massages and treatments earlier in the day if possible.

Food
There was a typical self-service buffet style breakfast, with a wide range of fruits and cereals, as well as bacon (of sorts), scrambled eggs and beans. A chef was available to cook eggs to order on occasions, but he/she was not always present. I always had a perfectly enjoyable breakfast experience, but it’s fair to say that it did not meet the highest standards of choice and presentation that I have encountered elsewhere.

Lunch involves a mixture of self-service salad buffet and waiter/waitress service.
You can choose from a selection of meat and fish, which is cooked to order and then brought to your table. The fish was excellent, but the meat seemed be of lesser quality, although still cooked and presented very nicely. Wine, beer and soft drinks are also brought to your table when requested. This system worked well enough most of the time, but did come under some strain during busy periods, so I’m not sure how well it would operate during high season with a full hotel.

Dinner is where the resort really lets itself down. My group eat at 2 restaurants during my stay: the ‘Asia’ restaurant and ‘European’ restaurant. Now, this may seem to be a reasonable choice. For example, you could surely eat at the Asian restaurant every night if you wanted to, right? Erm…no, you couldn’t, because only one of the restaurants is open on any given evening and they alternate from day-to-day. This makes a nonsense of having 2 restaurants, as you could simply have one restaurant serving different styles of food on different evenings – or even better, have European and Asian dishes available every evening in a single restaurant.

So, this brings me on to the food itself. The first thing to say is that dinner is served in 3 courses by a waiter/waitress. The whole thing is set up as if it where a high end restaurant, but then fails to deliver on this promise. The food is perfectly edible, but served in a rather pretentious nouvelle cuisine style. The end result is that you get tiny portions of standard hotel food that often takes quite some time to arrive. On the plus side, wine is also served at the table and was always of a good standard and readily available.


Staff
This is where the hotel really shines. The staff worked very hard and were helpful and courteous at all times. My only criticism is that the restaurants and bar areas seemed to be understaffed on occasions, which did make me feel sorry for the staff who had to shoulder the burden.

Golf course
For me, this was the perfect holiday golf course; challenging enough to be interesting, but not so taxing that it ruins your vacation. The course was very well maintained as a whole, only let down by the poor quality of the sand in the bunkers (a real shame, as I would think this could be easily remedied). It should be noted that there are also excellent practice facilities, including a driving range. Tokens for the ball machine given free of charge.

If the hotel management are reading this, please note that one of the guys handing out buggies and trolleys was verging on rude and could do with some training on customer interaction. Walking into a haze of cigarette smoke when picking up your buggy or trolley also detracts from the high standards which you are clearly seeking to meet.

Nightlife
There was none – simple as that. That suited me, as I come on holiday to chill out, not party, but many of my group were disappointed that they was no music or other entertainment in the evening. It should also be noted that the resort is really quite a long way from ‘civilisation’, so going elsewhere for your night-time fun is not an option.

Summary
I had a very pleasant stay and would happily return. However, some of my group were not so happy, as they felt that the hotel did not meet the ‘5 star’ standard that they were expecting. Indeed, some of my group had visited the resort before and were disappointed that cost-cutting measures had been made since their last visit. If you are expecting a truly lavish ‘5 star’ experience, you may be disappointed, but if you’re seeking a relaxing golf holiday in a very comfortable resort I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a suite - it's worth it, even if you have to pay a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just returned from a one week golf group stay at Fairplay. The hotel's design is ridiculous. To get from, "a" to "b" in the hotel can involve climbing stairs, descending in a lift then climbing more stairs. Getting lost was a frequent occurrence for the first two or three days. The room naming/numbering system adds to the confusion.

Staff: very good. Always cheerful and helpful. Sometimes overrun in the restaurant and bar due to lack of numbers.

Room: very good. Comfortable bed, free room safe and huge bathroom.

Breakfast: good. Plenty of choice and good quality food. Buffet.

Lunch: very good. Freshly cooked fish and meat every day. Buffet.

Dinner. Average. Waiter service with limited choice and nouvelle cuisine portions. Very little choice for vegetarians. Food quality good (mostly).

Golf course: interesting with well kept fairways and greens. The light rough and rough were long, leading to much time spent searching for balls. Flat and easily walkable.

Value: very good if you are a drinker. Not so good if not.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We where driving through Benalup and stopped at this hotel to have luch. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a buffet with hot and cold food. Then we could choose from various of meat wich was grilled and served with vegetables and potatos after your wish.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairplay Golf Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairplay Golf Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle La Torre s/n, 11190 Benalup-Casas Viejas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Benalup-Casas Viejas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Benalup-Casas Viejas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairplay Golf Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairplay Golf Hotel & Spa is a 5 star luxury golf and Spa resort situated in the Costa de la Luz and only an hour away from Costa del Sol. The finest all inclusive Golf and Spa Hotel comprises of a 18-hole golf course designed by Paul Rolin, five excellent restaurants and a 2000m2 spa. As part of the all inclusive service, all guests enjoy included in their rate buffet breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, drinks in the bars, restaurants and mini bar, access to the Spa, free wifi, fitness and indoor parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Fairplay Golf Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairplay Golf Hotel Benalup-Casas Viejas
Fairplay Golf Hotel And Spa
Fairplay Hotel Benalup Casas Viejas
Fairplay Golf Hotel & Spa Spain/Benalup-Casas Viejas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairplay Golf Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.