We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place. Would Happily Return. 10 Mins Beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saint George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Saint George to your Saves list
Saint George
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Av. Finlandia, 5, 38650 Los Cristianos, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Nice Place. Would Happily Return. 10 Mins Beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

No restaurant. Friendly staff. Bus stop is 3 mins away (El Camison) only 1.90 Euros, on bus no 450 from Aeroport. Pool bar was open every day 9am to 6pm and served food. The guests were mainly middle aged so there was no noise at night. It is equidistant between Los Christianos Port and Playa Las Americas. About 15 mins walk to Los Christianos Port. Was a hob with 2 cooking rings, a toaster and kettle. There is a decent supermarket (Mercadona) about 5 mins down a gentle slope. The only downside was that the twin beds were a little bit hard for my liking. I would happily return. There are 3 ways down to the beach, a 200yds steepish hill or the other 2 which are a bit longer but very gentle.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    49
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
38
53
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at Saint George for one week November. Room was on ground floor close to pool. On arrival was pleasantly suprised by reception,pool area due to reviews. Check in was slow and could be done more efficiently. Room was basic with electric hob,toaster,kettle and cutlery etc. I found beds comfortable and clean. If needed extra bedding, towels etc staff were happy to accommodate. I did notice dirty marks around door handles on cupboards and wardrobes which could have done with a clean but apart from this rooms cleaned regulary and were tidied to an acceptable level.
The pool and surrounding areas were clean and tidy and no problems getting a sun lounger and umbrella. The pool bar was open everyday and cheap snacks and drinks purchased.
The apartments are on a busy road where traffic noise can be heard but this was not really a problem, we never had any problems with noise from other guests.
The apartments are great value for money and I would definitely stay there again for a cheap inexpensive break. Reviews on here did make me worry about what kind of place would be staying at but really you do get what you pay for and was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at the St George Apartments 11th - 21st October on a First Choice Holiday. We were very dissappointed.The apartment is totally different to the picture that is shown in the brochure.The pool has tiles lifting off of it all over the place, There were broken tiles which were not cleared away for a few days, and on one occassion a woman took her child and her dog in to the childrens pool. It was only cleaned once in the 10 days we were there. The pool bar only opened the last three days. The cleanliness of the apartments left a lot to be desired and the patio area was not swept or cleaned at all.
For our welcome meeting we had to find our way to a partner hotel which was a ten minute walk away. We were supposed to have a rep but she was not at St George at any point during our stay. IOther holidaymakers had made several visits to the other hotel and complained to the rep but she did nothing. Los Christianos was a beautiful area and a meal in the Tropical Queen on the front is a must. The location of the St George is excellent and the apartments basic but it felt like we were there out of season and that it was on the point of closing down ie no pool bar/no restaurant/basic cleaning/limited staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Stayed at the St George between 11-22 October 2012. We booked through First Choice. Check in was very rushed as the receptionist was desperate to go home. Once we found our apartment we discovered that there was no kettle and we could not go back to reception and ask for one as they had left. We also found out later that we were lucky as they usually charge you to open reception if you are a late flight. (after 9pm)
We went to our welcome meeting the next morning which was held at a partner hotel a good 10 minute walk away and we were given no instruction on how to get there. Lucky for us we found it but the whole meeting was about the partner complex and we had to ask for information about the St George. We were told at that point we would have a rep (Kirsty) who I might add never once showed up at the St George and I never even managed to get a glimpse or her. I know through talking to other holiday makers that she was invited to come down to the St George and see what it was like but she refused!! Therefore any issues that we did have couldn’t be resolved as we couldn’t get hold of Kirsty and we weren’t prepared to ruin the rest of our holiday running up and down to the other hotel.
The cleanliness of these apartments was very poor. Although the maids came in I am not all that sure what they did – floors were filthy, patio area was never swept once during our stay towels were refolded and hung up but not regularly changed. The patio area patio table and clothes airer were covered in ants, we found dead cockroaches in the top section of the wardrobe. Not what you want when you are on holiday. There was also a dreadful smell from the drain which was in the centre of the patio which made sitting outside quite unpleasant at times.
The pool was cleaned once during our stay and that was due to complaints. There were broken tiles at the edge of the pool which were not cleared away. Some of the sunbeds and parasols were broken and on one occasion we all were able to witness someone taking a dog into the children pool – how hygienic is that?
We were told we would have a pool bar which was closed and only opened on the last 3 days of our holiday and even then it was very limited as they were waiting on stock coming in.
My husband and I were both unwell during our stay and I came home with a verruca on my foot. Please ensure you were flip flops or something on your feet at all times.
So would I go back to Tenerfife – YES and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday BUT I definitely wouldn’t stay at the St George apartments. I have made a complaint to my tour operator and I am currently waiting to hear the outcome.

Room Tip: Upper Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

we stayed at st george apts from 071011-211011 and were bewildered from the start , luckily we arrived while reception was open but saw the notices on what to do if it was shut and this instantly made us think what sort of hotel was this . As previously stated by other reviews there is no shop on site or restaurant and the pool bar was shut for our 1st 10 days , other residents complained of the pool being dirty and unkempt but this was just shrugged off . With no rep on site - unless your scandinavian - you were always expected to either call or go chasing the reps if you wanted help. We thought the room was average at best - no air con , limited kitchen items and uncomfortable beds - i always sleep like a log but constantly woke at various hours .
Thoroughly recommend Los Christianos as a resort , we had fantastic walks , swam everyday and became so relaxed it felt like being young again - as a chef i would rate the restaurants very highly especially Little Italy on the beach front the staff & food were brilliant -say hallo to Luigi ,Miquel, Winston & Nacho for me - they thoroughly looked after us - we went 5 times .

Room Tip: stay somewhere else if your expecting some sort of decent standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed at the St George Apartments back in August, we had 2 weeks of hell! We booked through Thomson/First Choice. From the moment we arrived things went wrong! There are no TUI reps on site and some of the apartments are privately owned so the locals rent them and make a noise all through the night by being in the pool and having parties.
The apartments are on the busiest & noisiest main road going in to the harbour, which goes on all day & night. I had to wear ear-plugs and take sleeping pills because the noise was so bad! When we asked to move to somewhere else we were told we would have to pay extra, also there might not be anywhere for us to go. So we had to stay in this nightmare of a place. There is no air con so you can't even have the doors open because of the noise. You get kids ringing on your door bell all through the night because their parents are drunk and swimming in the pool until 3am.
The reception isn't always open so you get locked out and if you stay out later then 9pm then you will be locked out all night long.
The receptionist was having sexual intercourse with her boyfriend as we walked through the reception at 4.10pm, we had our two children with us, they are 12 & 10 years old so they saw it all too. We complained to a TUI rep when we eventually found one,She did nothing! As soon as we arrived back in the UK we complained to Thomson who are doing NOTHING! They have had our complaint nearly 2 months now and they haven't even showed any of the 6 page, A4 letter to their management, we also included photos to show the state of the place and the fact that there were road works being done the whole two weeks we were there so you couldn't relax by the pool. The pool has tiles lifting off of it all over the place, the pool bar isn't open when stated, there is no resturant or mini market on-site. The sun loungers & parasols are broken, when we arrived at peak season it looked as though it was shutting up for winter, SHOCKING!
There is one lady serving at the pool bar, we waited an hour for food and then she hadn't served it all, by then we had enough and got a refund on our food. The picture of the apartment is totally different to what is shown in the brochures & websites. If you are looking for a quiet location, somewhere with a pool bar & restaurant, this is not the place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We were at the St George apartments from 23rd August to 3rd September 11 and really enjoyed it.

Yes the apartments are quite basic without airconditioning (you can hire a unit but we didn't), small kitchenette, no tv etc but you should be aware of that before you go so you won't be disappointed. We had a studio for 2 adults and 12 year old daughter and our friends had a 1 bedroomed apartment which again was clean and functional.

The best bit is the location of the apartments - slap bang in the middle between LC and Playa de Las Americas, you are literally 10 to 15 mins walk to anywhere probably less than 10 mins to the gorgeoud beach.

Pool is not huge but was quiet when we were there so sometimes there was only 5/10 people in the pool, you could play with lilos and inflatables and stuff like that.

The pool bar was open and had snacks and drinks that you could purchase, again nothing fancy but still very nice

We thought Tenerife was great but very very hot and would go back but maybe at a cooler time of year and would go back to these apartments

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint George

Address: Av. Finlandia, 5, 38650 Los Cristianos, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint George 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Apartments Hotel Tenerife
Saint George Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.