We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely complex.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Marino Apartments

San Marino Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Cristianos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Marino Apartments
Save
You added San Marino Apartments to your Saves list
Recepcion Edificio San Marino, Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
POULTON
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely complex.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the San Marino Apartments for 2 weeks beginning of April, we had a lovely apartment booked independently on the 6th floor with sea view. The apartment is privately owned so was well equipped with everything even a washing machine. The last time we went to Tenerife was 10 years ago and I must admit we were very impressed with the resort now. At the back of the apartments there are a row of bars and restaurants, recommend Porkies for breakfast and the roast dinner on Sunday. The Merry Monk is a brill place to have a drink, Happy hour from 6-8. James the host is a great guy. Also on the complex is a great Chinese called Overseas. But you are spoilt for choice for eating out. With the euro being so bad at the moment we thought things would be expensive but this was not the case, meals were around the same prices as here, drinks cheaper though. We found the supermarkets rather expensive for essential items, there is a Netto at the back of the apartments and a larger one across on the left pass the large roundabout, this was alot cheaper then Netto and had a bigger selection. A great way to get out and about is to buy a bus pass works out alot cheaper then paying each time. The taxis were reasonable as well. The bus stops and taxis are right next to the San Marino. If you like Soul Music then Soul Divine in Playa Las Americas is a great place, they have a Temptations evening, Four Tops and Supremes evening which we really enjoyed. I can recommend the San Marino we booked through tenerifeholidayapartments.net.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

Booked directly through San Marino. A bit confusing at first as we were given 2 separate prices. We were informed that our 2 bedroomed apartment would be exactly the same as the one on their website. It was nearly the same. The lounge and kitchen had been updated, however the bedrooms and bathroom needed updating with new linen and towels etc. The balcony was big and spacious and there was lots of room in the lounge. However, if you do book an apartment make sure you get one that isn't directly facing the road, ie the bus stops. The constant noise from the engines left running was unbearable at times. Also the road is quite a busy one with the cars etc, so make sure you book one overlooking the pool. We didn't use the pool at all as we were informed we had to pay daily for the beds. We prefer a pool with a greenery around it and this was quite sparce. However, we hired a car for the whole week and enjoyed travelling and exploring different parts of Tenerife. We didn't stay around the apartments at night and travelled to some beautiful restaurants in Playa and Costa Adeje. However the Chinese restaurant underneath the apartments do very nice takeaways. We enjoyed breakfast at the Tenerife Sur Hotel next door which was very nice. As far as apartments go I would give it a 2 key, the advantages being very large and spacious but could do with updating.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flintshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the San Marino in November 2008. We booked a 1 bedroom apartment which was very spacious with a balcony facing the pool which got the morning sun. The Hotel/Pool very clean and well looked after. The apartment was a bit dated but that was fine. It's a nice 10 min stroll down to the seafront with plenty of restaurants. This hotel is also on the flat which is good for people with walking difficulties.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Smell of stale cigarettes in apartment
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

stayed here at san marino last 3 years with different owners going back jan 2009 love the place nice pool area handy for shops and bars next to bus terminus for trips to anywhere on island cheers bar on complex good night out with scotch eddie

  • Liked — area around apartments nice and flat good for people with disabilities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

We booked directly through the san marino staff.

We had a 2 bedroom appt which was very clean and spacious.

It's about a lovely 10-15 min stroll down to the beautiful Los Vista's beach. Loads of nice and reasonable priced restaurants nearby. We had two large balcony's and found all the staff to be really friendly and helpful.

Our only problem was the noise, we were on the 3rd floor, at the front of the appt and the noise from the C+W kareoke bar opposite was terrible until about 2am in the morning every night. If not for this I would give it 4-5 stars.

I'd recommend staying overlooking the pool, in a high up appt near the middle of the complex to avoid this - esp if you've got small children.

  • Liked — The rooms are really big
  • Disliked — The noise at night
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

Booked the room independantly as many of the apartments of the San Marino are privately owned. Myself, my husband and our 3 daughters (12, 9 &7) stayed in a 1 bed apartment on the 5th floor overlooking the main road. It was extremely spacious, so much so that we left the beds made up in the living area without it impeding our space. The area of Los Cristianos pretty much closes down at midnight so there's no risk of being kept awake all night. The hotel pools were attended by life guards and had a long set of rules, ie no lilos, no hats, no balls, shower before entering etc. This didn't cause much of a problem as our daughters made their own fun, however, should it have been the height of summer I would have been worried about the kids not being allowed a hat on or a t shirt whilst in the pool. The pool area itself was immaculate, as were all the hotel grounds and all staff and other residents were very polite. It was certainly very relaxing at the pool knowing there was a guard watching them. There is a seperately owned bar on the grounds where you will be made to feel very welcome and can grab a cold drink and a sandwich. The beach is only a short walk away, as is the centre of Los Cristianos. There are many shops and cafe bars within the vacinity serving very cheap and very nice food.The water park is very cheap compared to other countries and is worth visiting just to see the dolphin show which is amazing!I will be staying at this hotel again and would day it is suitable for anyone.

  • Liked — Locations, Family Friendly,
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was fab
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Marino Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marino Apartments

Address: Recepcion Edificio San Marino, Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Los Cristianos
Number of rooms: 279
Also Known As:
San Marino Apartments Hotel Los Cristianos
San Marino Apartments Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Marino Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.