We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good if you like crunchy pizza!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolo

Piccolo
Av. de Sucia, Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 286 Restaurants in Los Cristianos
Price range: $15 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“good if you like crunchy pizza!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had passed this restaurant several times and it always smelled really nice and has lovely views over the beach, so we thought we would give it a try.
It was very busy when we went but they managed to fit us in. This was a mistake. The service was terrible - just not enough staff for all the tables.
We both ordered a pizza and a bottle of wine. It took nearly an hour for the pizzas to arrive and when they did come they were rock hard - extremely crispy around the edges and not very edible - only the middle of the pizza was capable of being eaten, but not necessarily enjoyed, but time and nearly a whole bottle of wine meant we were hungry!
No one came to check on us and we couldn't get anyone's attention to tell them how bad it was.
We only ate about a third of the pizza, if that. When the waiter finally came we told him how bad the food was. He said sorry but did nothing else.
After another 15 minutes we gave up and got the bill - they gave us 1 pizza for free! We didn't bother complaining further as we were hungry and wanted to leave, so we paid for one of the inedible pizzas and wine.
Not a good experience at all!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    49
    24
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Fresh Pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was pleasantly suprised with the food here as I dont really eat a lot of pasta normally as I never seem to find any restaurants that are as good as Rome. The place was quite busy and there was a lot of din but we had a nice sea view. My pasta dish was amazing, the pasta was cooked just right. I had one of the specials and finished with an irish coffee which was far too hot.
Still worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The food of course the also the staff are just brilliant ...the pasta is to die for along with the Pizzas the Ice creams all I can say try one they are just the real deal.
I had a sore throat on the night of our visit and after i spoke to the waiter he asked about my throat and next visit to our table brought me a Honey and Lemon drink fantastic service and a fabulous night out recommend

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Always solid, good food, pizza, pasta etc. Absolutely love the focaccia's, they're better than pizza and healthier too! Sometimes the service seams a bit slow, but the food makes up for it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
“Nothing special - just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We ate here on the last day of our holidays. We'd had a late night so needed some carbs. We thought we'd try this place near Playa de Vista. We had bolognese sauce with penne (me) and spaghetti (my partner) with a lovely salad. The salad was great, the prawns were sweet and very tasty and there was a great selection of leaves in the salad - no iceberg which was a welcome change. The bolognese sauce wasn't up to much, you could do better yourself.

Service was a bit slow and it looked like he had somewhere else he'd rather be.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo also viewed

Los Cristianos, Arona
Los Cristianos, Arona
 
Los Cristianos, Arona
Los Cristianos, Arona
 

Been to Piccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.