We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Clean Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur to your Saves list
Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Avenida de Amsterdam, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Sudbury Suffolk England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good Clean Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

Stayed self catering, 22/5 to 29/05 after booking with Thomas Cook. The flight was good, however beware that they are very strict on the luggage allowance at Stanstead and will make you pay for it!

On arrival the reception greeting was very good, found the apartment with a little difficulty, but was pleasantly surprised with what I did find. A very clean place,

A large sitting room on a lower level than the kitchen area, that was equipped adequately enough for what little cooking you would want to do. Off the siitting area was good sized balcony that got the sun from sunrise virtually to sunset and iverlooking two well maintained pools with another small childrens pool next to it. There were two other similar ones in the adjacent block.

The bathroom was a little tired but the shower worked well and although the bath itself was small it was ok.

The bedroom had the usual two single beds that were more than comfortable. There was a built in wardrobe that was large enough for all holiday clothes. There was a large ceiling fan that did the trick at night. There was a larger one in the sitting room area.

The maid came in three times during the week and there were clean sheets and towels twice during my stay.

There was the usual scramble for the sunbeds with the towels out early despite there being a supposed ban on it. That said the hotel was not that busy so it really didn't matter. There is a very good but small bar on the complex that served good food up 11.00pm more nights. the prices were reasonable.

Two small mini-markets are either side of the complex, one very good for filled baguettes the other for cheap wine! Most food was not too expensive. It was certainly cheaper in both that the nearby Netto's, somehwhere to avoid.

The apartments are situated about a ten minute walk from the beach area and are therefore fairly quiet at night.

There are washing machines for use of the guests, these are situated next to the luggage room where I left the cases as I had a late flight. The room itself had toilet and shower facilities that could be used should you have needed them before getting ready to go the airport.

Flight back was also ok, except for the unthinking person who insisted on putting his seat back for the majority of the trip!

All in all a good time was had in some very good weather.

By the way there are still the usual timeshare sharks who try it on, and the 'lookie lookie men' who were on the whole very polite.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    78
    53
    16
    19
See reviews for
94
61
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

Aparts nice. long walk to sea front. Pools absolutely freezing even for kids. Next time would definitely book some where with heated pool at this time of year.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

During our stay a thief was able to gain easy access to both the complex and our Apartment then with similar ease was able to remove the complete safe (Elsafe). The Manager was of initial help until we sought financial help regarding the insurance for the safe.Our loss was £1,000 in cash and 6 Passports.Emergency passports cost 486 euros so with other items our intial estimate of loss was 1,900 euros with the further costs of the replacement passports to be added .15 MINUTES before our departure pick up the Manager and someone from the Insurers offered us 1,000 euros in total settlement.Who does the Manager serve us or Elsafe.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

Having stayed at HR Cristian Sur in a privately owned apartment two years ago we decided to book again. This time we used Broadway Travel in Wimbledon and, though we could easily have beaten the rate they quoted for 7 days (£517.00) they were the only people who allowed us to stay Thursday to Thursday (Friday being the main check-out day apparantly).

We knew this stay was going to be different as soon as we arrived. This time everything we had had included last time was extra (iron 10 Euros, TV 20 Euros, Safe 15.Euros, fan extra too). The apartment was not by the pool but in a block to the left (Block 4) overlooking the main road on one side and into the stairwell and other apartments to the other (it reminded me a bit of Cell Block H).

After struggling up the stairs we entered to find the apartment much the worse for age. It looked like Spain accommodation in the 70's (which is probably when it was last furnished). We had requested a 2 bedroom apartment but the second bedroom was up a spiral staircase which was so tight I couldn't lift my case up. The staircase securing bolts were loose so the whole thing shook violently when climbing. In the upstairs room were 2 beds (no idea how they got them up there), a small toilet and a bare balcony overlooking the stairwell. We ended up sleeping in the one room downstairs!

Downstairs was a sofa which seemed to be a sofa bed but the padding had long gone and it was totally useless to sit in (as was the chair). I used a dining chair for the week. The dining table was ancient pine and the light fittings were without shades in most cases. A missing fire detector over the "kitchen" finished the effect. The kitchen was one unit with one electric plug, a cooker (gas but no matches supplied to light it), fridge (filthy round the edges and struggled to cool in January) and a sink. There was virtually no work space so it was impossible to prepare food let alone make toast as everything had to balance on the edge of the sink.

Only 2 electric plugs in the entire apartment had the current EU style sockets, the remainder were the older narrow type (they don't supply converters, you have to buy them and when I did, only 1 out of 10 sockets worked). So basically none of the plugs which worked apart from the kitchen were near where you would wish to use them. The iron was returned at this stage as I couldn't use it (the board was broken anyway and the steam didn't work plus the base was burnt and brown and the plug useless).

I should mention the 14 inch tv (20 Euros) which was fixed solid to a bracket on the wall and hidden behind a hanging lamp. It didn't move, was in black and white much of the time and was almost invisible unless you stood in front of it.

The front balcony lost the sun at 11.00 and was cool for the rest of the day.

I, of course went down to reception and complained, being seen by the duty manager of the resort. "I know it's terrible but what can we do?" was his response. Everything I said met with the same response until he said he would find us somewhere on the Sunday (halfway through the stay). Guess what, he's off on Sunday!

The icing on the cake was the shower. It gave 3 minutes of lukewarm water and needed 30 minutes to reheat. When I went back again and told him this, pointing out that in an apartment which slept up to 6 people, it would take nearly 3 hours to shower his answer was "I know, it's terrible but what can we do?"

This and many apartments in the complex are owned by HG themselves and I do not want to detract from the many private apartments let within it. I already know there are some good ones. So PLEASE, PLEASE do NOT rent an HG apartment in this resort.

The week prior, we stayed in an RSI resort called Club Vista Serena in Maspalomas for 8 days. The cost was over £100.00 cheaper and their were no hidden extras plus it was stylish and clean. HG Cristian Sur have completely lost the link between the guest's happiness and making a fast buck!

  • Liked — Not much
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

I have been to these appartments for nearly 8 years now and i have to comment on here because this place is amazing. I have been to these appartments with my mum and dad and also with my partner, and i would highly recommend the cristian sur to older people, young familys and couples.
The location of the appartments is very good. only 5 minutes walk to the town centre and 5 mins to las americas beach by taxi.
The go karting is a must do (my mum even loved it).
All local bars are very friendly.
The staff in the bar and at reception are all very friendly.

  • Liked — clean, close to everything
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayheavem0502
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

Have just got back from a week at the Cristian Sur. Weather was fantastic and cannot fault the appartment but the behaviour of some of the other English guests was a little embarrasiing to say the least. On the dot of 8.30 every morning there would be a queue of English, yes English not German, waiting to pounce on the sunbeds the minute they were unlocked. They would then take 5 to 6 beds each and lay them out with towels where they would then sit unused for the next 3 hours. Children were allowed to run riot bombing into the pool without any regard for younger less able children, the parents totally unconcerned as long as they weren't disturbed.

On the plus side there was so many restaurants to choose from you could eat somewhere different every evening. The street sellers were a pain and they were even encouraged by the restaurants to come and pester you while you were eating. Don't think we will be returning to Tenerife anytime soon.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

Although the kitchenette and bathroom are a little tired and in need of updating Christian Sur was a very clean satisfactory place to stay, and would definitely go again. It can get a bit noisy at night with suitcases being dragged along the stone tiles on the ground and people walking up and down the steps so would recommend earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Sun loungers by the pool are locked up over night and unchained at 9am, it you are not there then you wont get one, and they are saved even though it says you can't. The cleaner Maria and all the reception staff are very nice friendly people and nothing is too much trouble, stayed at La Siesta, a 5 star in tenerife before and we were asked if we were english pigs, so wasnt expecting friendly staff. Try the Old English Tearooms, which was underneath our balcony and smelt lovely every morning, we went for breakfast a few times and it was yummy. The harbour and beach are a 10 minute walk away so you are away from all the hustle and bustle but not too far. There are some good shops at Vista Sur and try the bar Surfers next to the rovers return, the food is excellent, with enourmous portions.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — fridge
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur

Address: Avenida de Amsterdam, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Hg Cristian Sur Hotel Los Cristianos
Cristian Sur Tenerife
Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.