We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities, bit out of the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartments Villa Mandi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Apartments Villa Mandi to your Saves list
Apartments Villa Mandi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Laderas Del Espejo Golf Las Americas, 38650 Los Cristianos, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
reading, berks UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great facilities, bit out of the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We visited Villa Mandi in June with our 2 year old for his first trip abroad. As we left the airport we were given a sun hat for our son which, in the midday heat was a nice touch. The apartments are a short ride from the airport.
I thought the hotel had a nice feel about them, it's a large complex but is laid out well. We had a ground floor room which was very spacious. Although we'd ordered a travel cot we actually used the pull out bed for our son as it was so low. There weren't any sheets on the cot incidentally although I'm sure if we'd have asked they would've provided some. There wasn't much space for food storage in the kitchen area and the equiptment was pretty basic but I think that's fairly standard for SC apartments really.
The pool area is a good size and we never struggled to get beds and umbrellas. You can't put your towels down until 9am which seemed late but to be fair, not many people seemed to be around until 10ish. As everyone else said, the tiles are VERY slippery and hot so we carried our little boy between the pools.
The baby pool is perfect for toddlers and ours had a great time. The parks are also great for kids from toddlers up to about 10 I'd say. There's also a new football pitch over the road.
The kids clubs start at 3 years but there's a creche for younger ones and soft play etc which is all well run. From 8.15pm-9 they have 'T Time' which is a dancing entertainment slot for the children which ours loved.
The hotel shop is expensive as expected so shop at one of the many supermarkets nearby. It's about a 15 min walk to Los Cristianos or Playa De Las Americas so we'd walk down and taxi back.
The complex is very out of the way. There's a lot of waste land around it and I felt the surrounding area is looking run down to be honest. Having stayed near the Safari Centre a few years ago I was quite shocked. I guess everywhere declines in time.
Overall a great family hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    207
    73
    24
    9
See reviews for
383
73
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed here with our daughter Torie for 2 weeks in June, our second time at Villa Mandi.

Again the apartments are perfect, great size, well kept, all with balcony. Our apartment was at the end of the complex so had a great view over boith the main pools and the golf course. The maid service is very good, they come every day and will change any sheets/towels you leave in the basket.

The pools are lovely, this year they were nice and warm, unlike last year. Our daughter never wanted to leave them, however there are now a few broken tiles at the shallow end of main pool that need fixing otherwise someones probably going to injure themselves on it.

Food was AWFUL (hence 4 and not 5 out 5), thank god we were self catering. It's overpriced rubbish and I wouldn't feed it to a dog. Everything was either undercooked or burnt. The bar staff weren't the happiest bunch either, except for Steve who was always brilliant.

Thomson staff all very good, Torie loved Laura the Explorer, she was brilliant with her, especially in kids club.

Met some nice people, and will hopefully keep in contact.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We went to Villa Mandi in July of 2010. The usual complaints apply per some of the other reviews such as food is average and you are roughly 20 minutes walk from the main resorts of Los Cristianos and Playa De Las Americas. These weren't a problem for ourselves. We have 3 boys aged 3,6 and 8 and the walk at night to choose from 100's of good restaurants was fun. We usually got a taxi back for 5 euro which is very reasonable. We find eating in an hotel/apartment every evening a bit boring so the food factor wasn't a big deal. As for the apartments - they were really spacious, nicely decorated and really clean. The children's programme is unbelievable and the reps did everything to entertain. Our boys attended the soccer school and although a little expensive, the two boys who run it were really good with the children. I would question anyone who didn't enjoy a stay at this hotel, since we have been everywhere over the past few years and Villa Mandi was excellent value for money. This was a fantastic holiday for the children and I would advocate Villa Mandi for any young family.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

This year we thought we would try out a package holiday instead of hiring a villa and hire car plus always going to the costa del sol.And i must say we all enjoyed the holiday,the apartments were spot on,entertainment [kids club] and swimming pool great also and our daughter Amy just couldn't stay away from both.She met some lovely children and passed on details.Resturant is worth avoiding unless you have no taste buds or raised with zero standards.Please be prepared for a slight walk to get to shops,bars etc or 5 euros in taxi ,so not really an issue.But overall we loved it and would tell anyone to stay there unless you have naughty children ,then please stay elsewhere as we will be returning.And i must thankyou to Jack,Becca and laura from Thompson staff ,Amy loved them all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed here for a week with our 3 year old and it suited our needs perfectly. We got a large 1 bedroomed apartment with balcony overlooking the main pool.
The complex was very clean and well looked after and early every morning people were out at the poolside mopping and cleaning up ready for the day ahead.
All the staff seemed friendly and happy to help.

Our daughter went to the kids club from 10am - 12pm (after a bit of persuasion!) and found that she loved it, they had a chocolate party, went on a bear hunt and dressed as pirates looking for treasure.
The kids evening entertainment was fun aswell it was from 8.15 - 9.00pm and involved alot of frantic dancing and jumping around.

The restaurant wasn't that great but was handy if you weren't in the mood for making the 20 minute walk into the centre. We ate there a couple of nights and it was fine.

The walk into the resort can involve walking across wasteland as some people have suggested by we took the more civilised (and not much longer) option of using the purpose built pavements. The beach and promenade are well kept and there are plenty of shops, cafes and ice cream place to stop and look at.

All in all a great holiday and probably somewhere we will revisit whilst we have a little person in tow.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed here in June for our second visit. 2 bedroom apartment was spacious and clean with excellent maid service. The thomson entertainment team are great here which makes the holiday when you have kids. The breakast is well worth booking ( get 10 for the price of 7 when booked at the hotel reception), the evening meals are however over priced and of poor quality. It is well worth the 10 minute walk ( or 5 Euro taxi fare) into Los Critianos to sample some of the fabulous local restaurants. Football Academy is well worth it and the instructor ( clarkey) is great with the kids,however, Razzamatazz stage academy does not arrive in resort until July.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I stopped at the Villa Mandi in June for 10 days with my family.
ROOM: Room was very nice and spacious and had a huge balcony. The room was set out over 2 floors with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kithchen and lounge. Rooms were cleaned daily but not on a saturday.
LOCATION: The main resort was about a 10 mins walk over wasteland which we didnt like. We did go down there a few days and there was a nice selection of shops, bars and restraunts. We caught taxi's back which were about 5 euros.
FOOD: We went Half Board and Breakfast's were nice, had everything you would want. Wasn't over keen on the evening meals, Buffets which were on a Saturday and Wednesday were nice but we didnt like the a la carte menu so we did tend to eat out on these nights.
ENTERTAINMENT: The entertainment was good, there were activites for children going on all through the day from 11am till 4pm then again from 8 till 9 on the night. Reps were very good. Just Jack and Becca Boo were really good they never stopped!
COMPLEX: The pool area was good but the tiles did tend to get very slippy through out the day and we did see quite a few people slip on them but great pool area otherwise. The grounds were kept clean all the time and cleaners dont stop all day. There is a shop onsite which is good but is very expensive.
Also went to Siam Park and Loro Park both were amazing and recommend them both.
Overall good holiday and good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartments Villa Mandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Villa Mandi

Address: 7 Laderas Del Espejo Golf Las Americas, 38650 Los Cristianos, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Cristianos
#4 Family Hotel in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments Villa Mandi 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartments Villa Mandi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Villa Mandi Hotel Los Cristianos
Apartments Hotel Mandi
Apartments Hotel Los Cristianos
Apartments Villa Mandi Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartments Villa Mandi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.