We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plataneras Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Plataneras Bungalows to your Saves list
Plataneras Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Avda Londres, 38650 Los Cristianos, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Brilliant Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We returned to the Atlantida in December and after reading all the bad reviews, where expecting a hell hole. Instead we were extremley impressed with its new image. The complex has been painted, the reception area has been changed and looked fab, and they have also got a third splash pool which is brilliant. I dont know why people are slating this hotel because it has than alot of others around. The crazy golf has been revamped and theres plenty for the kids to do, both day and night. We also used the safes in reception, which are now in a locked area and very secure. The complex is spacious and in a very good central position. We will be returning to the Atlantida as we think it is brilliant. They have a few new members of staff, but yolanda is always there to help and speaks excellent english. please take no notice of the bad reviews because they are not true.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    62
    42
    35
    38
See reviews for
94
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

its basic,no frills accommodation.Everythings not so much old but mature.Breakfast was very good.restaurant clean,self service but few staff to support.Staff are chilled and helpful:nothing was too much trouble.Heated pool was clean but small but well supervised.good quality loungers,but there were far too few for the sizeof theplace.Good but again basic sports facilities.near beach and restaurants and ,importantly ,rock pools full of fishes and children with small nets.Location is ideal for Siam park, bus station,SPAR,and motorway access if you wish to drive toMount Teide or Loro Park in Puerto de la Cruz..Childrenaged 6,8 and14 always felt safe.
Rooms were basic in every department;but we asked for new sheets and they were supplied along with a kettle.there was a fridge-freezer. toaster.oven and a washing machine from the 50's.
THERE WAS NO AIR CONDITIONING,andthough this did not present a problem in January,it would between March and November.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Dont stay here!!!
Rooms have no aircon or ceiling fans. When windows open you cant close curtains.
Rooms are shabby and maid dont clean them.
Main Pool fenced off and having work done but seems to have stop along time ago and not finished. Other Pool water was green and mank. Third tiny pool no room to sunbath next to it. as down in a pit.
Restraunt nothing like advertised. No rainforest its under a hang over, Plastic garden furniture. Food kept on tables outside. Food had flies all in it as not covered over. I would have been very ill if i eat it.
We changed hotel as would have destroyed our holiday staying there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

went with some exetnded family an dkids, room was ok, we walked out onto the pool which was great for kids, heated ppol was good, enetrtainment was rubbish, and in the centre there wasnt much entertainment either, was ok just to get away for a while, kids enjoyed it though, eating out was ok too, loads of cockroaches aswell, market was good highlight of our week lol

we didnt eat in the restaurant because the service we received while eating at the lunch bar was terrible!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Meant to be staying for 2 weeks, due to the horrible accomodation managed 1 night only before having to book into a nearby hotel. Bathroom stunk & was filthy dirty & no lock on door. Kitchen a joke, didn't even have a kettle. Wardrobes and drawes so bad could not even think about unpacking if we'd wanted to. View from main bedroom, three walls & pile of dead leaves.Paint peeling from windows, chairs missing from balcony. This place is a dump & I would suggest you think carefully before spending your hard earned cash booking into this holiday home from hell !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

i stayed in the Atlantida Apartments with my partner and 3 children, we booked this holiday mainly for the kids, we thought there would be plenty of things for this kids to do but all they seem to do is stay in the pool next the the cave bar, there was no entertainment for the kids during the day, me and my partner did'nt get to relax coz we had to entertain the kids ourselfs, everywhere was all locked up, the main pool was locked up, it needs updating and cleaning you cant use that pool at all, you have to go to the reception for keys for the mini golf, squash, tennis court, in the gym it all needs updating as some of the equipment was rusty or broke, for all inclusive the bar was only open till half 10 at night and after that you have to buy your drinks the entertainment was from 9:30 till 10:30 and it was good, the dj was good with the kids he played 1 game with them and also got the kids up dancing that was the only time me and my partner could relax at the end of the night, the staff are over worked sometimes there was only 1 of the staff working 2 bars at 1 time, for all inclusive you can only get burger and chips or chicken nuggets and chips from 11:00am till 1:30pm you have to pay for anything else like pizza ect. the food was ok but nothing special you even get chips in the morning, the chef is really friendly as so is some of the staff, I would'nt put it down to the staff its down to the company that has took over, some of the people we meet also said the same thing, i think it could be a really nice place to take the family if it was better looked after and more things for the kids to do, they need reps coz they havnt got any and they could do more selection of food, when we got there we just got handed a map to find our own way to our apartment we dont know where the supermarket was, i wouldnt go back there until they made it alot better , i would rate it 5/10 i would recommend you look into this holiday before you book the pics on the website are nothing like the real thing they must of been took when it first opened.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

My family and I have just returned from a week all inclusive. We stayed in room 104 near the cave bar and had no problems with security or cockroaches or filth. first impressions werent great as the reception is basic but there is some Internet connections which are 1E per 10 mins. Our apartment/bungalow was clean enough. The Atlantida resort is a very densely packed resort with three pools. one of the pools is not in use, one pool (smaller of the 2) is next to the Cave bar with the other (better pool but lots of tiles missing) a few minutes walk away with no local bar so you have to walk to the Cave bar for drinks and snacks etc. bit of a chore but no major drama. It seems this resort was taken over by new management in 2009 and have let things go somewhat and have not made any investment over the last year. there is no evidence of any reps so there is no activity during the day for the kids although there is a day room for the kids whcih was accessible but empty, mine were happy enough in the pools which contrary to stories here were clean enough and we cleaned daily.

Room - no aircon but you can hire fans at 9 Euros per week, we didnt bother but it was uncomfortably hot. Oh for some aircon investment!! everything lockable but no safes. tip - hire a safe at reception save carrying money and passports round like us ;>) beds were comfortable but the sofa bed not so. rooms cleaned every other day. One other thing - we heard of some problems, a break in where mobiles and ipods were stolen and also some sewage problems which were resolved with a room move but on the whole ok, dont leave valuables in the room

All inclusive value - Food was actually enjoyable. Breakfast was basic and standard and the worst meal in my book (eggs, bacon and smoked sausage, cereals were like cardboard as was the toast, juice machine fine and coffee/tea was not good so take your own) but lunch and dinner more than made up for that. lunch was typically a chicken dish, a pork dish and a fish dish with chips on the hot side with plenty of salad stuff on the cold side. there was also plentiful ice cream for the kids. Drink service also by your server. Personally would recommend not doing 2 weeks all inc as you will get bored as i suspect its rotated menu. Disappointed not much in the way of pasta dishes, spag bol or lasagne would have been nice touch. Prices in the restaurants around the area were very good nothing like mainland spain with the tax breaks in Tenerife. Downside on the all inc is that it finished at 10.30 then you have to pay but prices fairly reasonable and the Cave entertainments ends at 11 anyway. very quiet here!!

Staff - on the whole they are ok, some were miserable but if you try and speak Spanish they love it. I suspect they are not treated great by the new management, they are also short staffed and running round like mad things. DO NOT Treat them like your servants and speak the lingo to them and they will be fine :>)

Recommendation - Speak Spanish - you will have a more enjoyable stay and the locals will love it if you make the effort.

There's a free area where you can leave suitcases and luggage and have a shower before you leave if you had to check out at midday like us. very basic but it served a purpose.

Other - Resort about 15 minutes walk to main beach, would like to have been closer but still. recommend a visit to aqualand or Siam Park water parks - free bus outside Princesa Dacil just round the corner.

On the whole had a good stay but think there are nicerr places to stay but if on a limited budget which we was this was good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plataneras Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plataneras Bungalows

Address: Avda Londres, 38650 Los Cristianos, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plataneras Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Budget Places, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plataneras Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantida Apartments Hotel Tazacorte
Atlantida Tenerife
Plataneras Bungalows Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plataneras Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.