We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 day break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Arona Gran Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Spring Arona Gran Hotel to your Saves list
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Juan Carlos I, 38, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3 day break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Wow ! Fantastic hotel , lovely setting ,very clean ,good staff & nightly entertainment was fine.
Excellent selection of food . Pool areas were spotless. Definately will return.
Wish I had booked a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hello Virginia, now you know where to go for your next holidays...thank you so much for your small report about our Spring Arona Gran Hotel. We are very proud to learn that the hotel impressed you so much. Hope to see you soon again and meanwhile we send you sunny regards from Tenerife. Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    626
    200
    73
    28
See reviews for
341
1,351
37
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Hasn't detracted from our visit to this hotel whilst it undergoes it's refurbishment? The actual refurb starts in July until the end of the year and the hotel is just deciding the best plan from about eight choices.
The food in the restaurant is very good especially the fresh salads and the excellent variety of hot and cold dishes.
The pool area is lovely and the pool temperature is perfect. The evening shows are of mixed variability but a lot of fun nonetheless. The bar pianist is excellent.
The staff are variable - Esther, Eva and Mariluz in the restaurant have been lovely all week - very hard working and happy. Many of the staff are miserable. I think they still operate a system where if the manager says jump they do that but miserably rather than a team performance where they pull together.
The hotel has a small library where you can borrow books and a small exhibition about the island of Tenerife.
Lots of plus points and very good value for money.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear client, thank you for putting your holiday review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our Spring Arona Gran Hotel, although some works have been carried out while you were here. We hope to find a nice new decoration for our hotel rooms, so that you it will be even better the next time you are coming to visit us. Sunny regards from Los Cristianos, Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel is always spotlessly clean. The staff are excellent. The grounds are beautiful and well tended. The buffet provides a wide range of choice. Privacy both in the rooms/balconies is very good and the fact that the pool deck is out of view of the promenade is a huge advantage, as is the fact that traffic passing the inland side of the hotel is unheard on the site. Views particularly from the balconies are simply beautiful - we always ask for the 5th floor. As regular guests we have made many returning friends over the years. The experience is particularly attractive to retired guests but we love to see small children playing in the children's pool. A minor comment is that we dine in the La Palapa restaurant on the evenings it is open and would very much like to see a greater rotation of the menu. We shall be back again in the autumn.

Room Tip: A Sea view is a must and the higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hello Colin, thank you for your nice comments about our Spring Arona Gran Hotel. It is a pleasure for us to see that our clients are still enjoying the hotel and its facilities after so many years they are coming to our hotel. Your comment about the menú in the La Palapa restaurant by night will be passed to our Management. Looking forward to seeing you again in the autum and meanwhile we send you sunny greetings from Los Cristianos. Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

just returned after 2 week stay.this was our 21st visit.met up with old friends.hotel rooms are getting a makeover at last, all the dark wood, made rooms look smaller than they are.
as usual all the staff were very friendly and the rooms were spotless.pool area great.
my only comment to the hotel would be that the quality of food should be mentained, there seems to have been a drop in quality over the last couple of years,towards the cheaper cuts of meat, on the gridles and on the main carvary(belly pork,lasagne)a lot less steak (fillet)and joints of meat, but that may be a personal choice.over all we came back chilled and relaxed , and can't wait till december when we are returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hello Janice, thank you for using Tripadvisor and for telling other people about your holiday experiences. We are glad to learn that your are still happy in your "second home" and that you have already booked up to come back in december. Regarding your comments about the food. we will look into this matter and it is like you say: tastes are different. Thank you again and count the days back. Not too long to go. Sunny regards from Los Cristainso. Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February last year and agin in April this year and on both occasions we had a good time. The hotel has a calm and efficient air and the staff are extremely helpful. The two swimming pools are heated and are kept immaculate and the lifeguard removes all towels left on unoccupied sunbeds- great! What is it with Brits and sunbeds? There was a good variety of food and the hotel caters for all nationalities. We particularly enjoyed the lunches as it was lovely to come indoors and have a meal in a quiet and cool environment. The waitress at lunch was wonderful. Think her name was Esther. We loved the downstairs bar area of an evening, especially the gin menu! The hotel does seem to cater for the more mature guests, so if you are looking for a lively nightlife this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Sandra, thank you for using Tripadvisor and for your nice comments about our Spring Arona Gran hotel and staff. We are very happy to see that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities of our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Sunny Greetings from Tenerife. Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Holiday booked and paid for by Son and Daughter as a surprise special birthday and anniversary present, lovely bottle of champagne in room on arrival.Room 418 on fourth floor with great sea view. Pleasant and helpful reception staff, exceptionally clean, lovely and peaceful for a relaxing stay. Very pleasant pool area with ample seating if you don't want to do the sunbed thing. This was our 5th time and have just booked to return end of August. We have travelled to all the canaries extensively but seem to return to Tenerife and for value for money this Hotel cannot be beaten. Yes the restaurant can be busy at certain times but this is the case in all hotels and didn't have any problems, the food is of a good standard and staff very pleasant.
The bar prices are comparable and you get what you pay for, yes you can drink cheap unbranded stuff at some of the bars but thats a personal choice. I wish I could get this service in my local!.
Cannot understand the negative reviews especially around the immediate area,, locals do live here and we have met some friendly people strolling along the natural coastline which is excellent for walking.
All staff work very hard and try to please and cannot understand the moans of some people they must be very hard to please!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Susan, thank you so much for your nice comments about our Spring Arona Gran Hotel. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed for the 5.time your stay at our hotel and we hope to see you soon again. Meanwhile we send you all our best wishes and sunny regards from Los Cristianos. Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARNSLEY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel, very smart but expensive, doesn't warrant the costs involved. Drinks are on average 25% higher than in other hotels and restaurants in Los Christianos. I know it's a hotel and hotels always seem to need to charge 'hotel prices' but honestly, they don't need to really when there is an alternative on their doorstep. Saying all that, the food, service and rooms are very good; the outside needs a really good spring clean, walking up from the sea front you can see loads of stains on the hotels front. It used to be immaculate. Don't let this stop you from enjoying a lovely holiday there, it would be unfair to take this review the wrong way, I'm just disappointed that the cleanliness seems to be wanting on the outside.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear client, thank you for using this page to public your holiday experiences. Although the stains may have been caused by the weather and the fact that the hotel is in the first line of the sea, please be advised that our Spring Arona Gran hotel is getting a facelift this year. Hope to see you soon again and sunny greetings from Los Cristianos. Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spring Arona Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Arona Gran Hotel

Address: Avda Juan Carlos I, 38, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Cristianos
#3 Family Hotel in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Arona Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Arona Gran Hotel, it's located in a privileged position on the seaside promenade, facing the island of La Gomera, offers spectaculars views of the bay and the old fishing port of Los Cristianos and is only 3 km from the golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Spring Arona Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arona Gran
Arona Gran Los Cristianos
Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife
Arona Gran Tenerife
Spring Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Arona Gran Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.