We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attitude.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Arona Gran Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Spring Arona Gran Hotel to your Saves list
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Juan Carlos I, 38, 38650 Los Cristianos, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Attitude.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We used to go to the arona for almost fifteen years three weeks in January and sometimes in May or June but last year things changed and there attitude to help with new regime was terrible,room allocation changed and we were stuck in a room with no sun and very cold.went to see Stephanie but not in the slightest interest in helping.have just been down to see friends today they were telling me quite a lot of food poisoning this last few days,only reason arona can get away with there attitude is no other hotel on shoreline.will never be back very happy where we are now.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Richard, thank you for using Tripadvisor. We are very sorry to hear that you have not been happy with your last stay at our Spring Arona Gran Hotel because of a cold room. Just to clarify: the room allocation has not changed. Our clients are always getting what they have booked, so I suppose that your tour operator booked you a type of room which was different to the one you had during the last 15 years??? Or you just got a room where the sun came late in the afternoon onto the balcony? First time after 15 years, so I understand that during 15 years you always have been lucky regarding your room? The shape of the hotel unfortuantely dos not allow that all rooms are in sunshine all day, but we always offer our clients are room change if they are not happy, but this is not always possible on the same day.
Regarding the "food poising" you meanwhile may have found out that there was a NORO VIRUS brought to Tenerife. We had a lot of clients who first have been on a cruise and then stayed a week in our hotel. They told us that the whole boat has been ill, also other hotels on the island had this problem. So the illness had nothing to do with the hotel food.
We thank yo for having taken the time to write your experiences on this page and wish you all the best for your future holidays. Kind regards, Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    585
    181
    70
    25
See reviews for
318
1,255
35
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Spend a week from the 10th Jan until 17th and this Hotel is Fab first impressions great are room was excellent the staff was, and we can not see why people give bad reviews it's a shame as I can not see what they have to moan about the food was 5 star,could not fault any of the food the only one thing I would say that it would be nice to include coffee with dinner and we will be staying at spring hotels again we had a great week

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Joan, thank you for your nice comments about our hotel. Tastes are different and you cannot please everybody...but it is a pleasure to see that the most of our clients are content with the hotel and its services. Hope to see you soon again. Sunny regards from Los Cristianos. Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have recently returned from a short break in this hotel, very impressed with the cleanliness and quality of decor. Very spacious rooms and restaurant food very varied. The only disapointment was the entertainment as it was more for the elderly age group, than middle aged but young at heart.

Room Tip: Facing the beach, try to ask for a room on the west side as they get the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Heather, we are now offering YOGA and water bicycle; maybe interesting for you? We thank you for yur comments on this page and are happy to see that you have had an enjoyable stay at our Arona Gran Hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes from Tenerife. Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We enjoyed this hotel so much last January that we booked again for this month. We have just arrived home after another week and what a wonderful time we had. The staff are so friendly and the place itself is the bee's knees. It does need a bit of refurbishment in the rooms but I understand that this is being addressed very soon. It is such a relaxing place. The food is superb and there seems to be something going on every night. We spoke to many people who come back over and over again. That speaks for itself. Best Regards.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Paul, we thank you for using Tripadvisor for your holiday reviews and we are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Spring Arona Gran Hotel. Hope to see you soon again. Sunny regards from Tenerife. Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottish borders
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We are regular guests at this hotel and absolutely love it.
We love the location, the service, the staff, the food and the relaxing experience. Yes, the bedrooms need an update and this will be completed in 2014 and there is a note to this effect on the website.
We spent a week at the hotel over the New Year period and have to say that the "dressy-up" Gala Dinner with al- evening Moet champagne was absolutely superb. The fireworks which followed at midnight were awesome!
We had a marvellous holiday with no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear client, thank you so much for your nice comments on this page about your last stay at our Spring Arona Gran Hotel. We are very happy to see that you have, yet again, enjoyed the hotel and its services. We hope to see you soon again and meanwhile send you our best regards from Los Cristianos. Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I am a bit surprised when I read a poor review of this hotel. We had a very nice room with sun on the balcony for half of the day. We spent the mornings away from the hotel, so an afternoon on the balcony in sunshine was very pleasant. However the pillows provided are terrible, though as we always bring our own we survived. The pool area is lovely and there were always ample sun-beds, even though the hotel was full. Both pools are warm and inviting. The gym however does not live up to the standards of the hotel. It badly needs updating and the re-placement of much of the old fashioned equipment is long overdue. We felt that more people would use the gym more if it were more inviting. Although we enjoyed the food, the size of the dining room is rather off-putting and it takes a while to negotiate any meal. There is always freshly cooked fish or meat on offer and a big variety of vegetables and salad. The giant prawns and langoustines were amazing! The front staff are wonderfully helpful and friendly. Our complimentary airport transfers worked like magic.

Room Tip: If you like sun, ask for a room with sun on the balcony for at least some of the day. We had 545 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear client, thank you very much for your nice comment about your stay at our Spring Arona Gran Hotel. People have different tastes and different expectations, so it is fair enough that you can find different reviews about the same hotel. Neverheless we are very content to see that you have been satisfied with your stay at our Spring Arona Gran Hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again. Sunny regards from Tenerife. Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

i have just returned from this hotel and found it to be a total let down it needs a total update to bring up to the more modern 4/5 star hotels which there are already in tenerife how thomsons can let people stay here is beyond me the bed sheets are a off white colour the bedrooms need a total update the food is not that good when dining the staff are not very helpful at all the area around the hotel is very rundown i would not return to this hotel at any cost and i think when more honest reviews are done on this hotel the quicker it will get a much required facelift

Room Tip: there are a lot of more modern 4/5 star hotels which offer a lot better value than this hotel we hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Public Relations Manager at Spring Arona Gran Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Geoff, the room updating is starting in April this year and it is true that there are much modern hotels on Tenerife, they are also much younger. Sorry to hear that you did not like the food and services, but as you know: tastes are different. Thank you for using Tripadvisor for your holiday experiences. Sunny regards from Los Cristianos, Stefanie Dechert, PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spring Arona Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Arona Gran Hotel

Address: Avda Juan Carlos I, 38, 38650 Los Cristianos, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Los Cristianos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Arona Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Arona Gran Hotel, it's located in a privileged position on the seaside promenade, facing the island of La Gomera, offers spectaculars views of the bay and the old fishing port of Los Cristianos and is only 3 km from the golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Spring Arona Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arona Gran
Arona Gran Los Cristianos
Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife
Arona Gran Tenerife
Spring Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Arona Gran Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.