We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down side of mass tourism” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Princesa Dacil

Save Saved
You added Sol Princesa Dacil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Princesa Dacil
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Juan Carlos I, 25 | Playa de los Cristianos, 38640 Los Cristianos, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Los Cristianos
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Down side of mass tourism”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

stayed at Sol Princesa Dacil for one night before heading back home from beautiful La Palma .
the shock was immediate upon check in when we could hardly listen to the receptionist while awful dj/live concert was playing in the lobby. receptionist was kind enough to assign a room on the highest floor but soon the dark side of the hotel was unrevealed .
the public areas as well the rooms are dated and everywhere are signs of bad taste , poor management and cleanness. in fact we found cots and beds parked on the floor , our bathroom was filthy and breakfast buffet was among the poorest quality , messy and poorly attended resulting durty after the visit of the large number of tourist staying in the premises. while going for bfast we found large amounts of glasses , cocktail glasses left around the lobby that was not yet collected by the hotel staff...it is not clean , not well looked after and managed and i would not suggest staying in this hotel .

Room Tip: don't stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franciscoperez, Gerente at Sol Princesa Dacil, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear client,

First of all, we must thank you very much for your valuable time to write and share your opinion about the service received during your stay. Furthermore, you should knw how disappointed we are to know that we have not been able to satisfy your expectations and needs. Your satisfaction is our main priority.

On the other hand, I have to inform you that we do take in account our client's opinion and the Quality Department and Management is already analysing all the deficiencies you noticed during your stay and consequently, taking the pertinent measures in order to improve our Quality Service.

Finally, I do hope this bad experience does not deter you from choosing Meliá Hotels International in the future and you contnue having trust in our company.

Yours sincerely,

Francisco Perez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    475
    290
    146
    121
See reviews for
282
629
94
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My wife and I spent 2 weeks there and asked for the same room as we had last year which they duly obliged. A couple of small problems were immediately seen too so no complaints there. Food once again certainly met our needs and the staff were certainly very helpful. TV's could do with updating and more English channels made available. We would certainly stay again and overall very good for its 3 star status.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franciscoperez, Gerente at Sol Princesa Dacil, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear client,

First of all, I deeply thank you your loyalty to Sol Princesa Dacil hotel and our satisfaction to know that you have enjoyed once again your stay with us. As you know, our client's satisfaction is our main aim and I can guarantee you that I will inform all the staff about your review. Comments like yours are of the greatest importance for all us in order to continue working even harder and offer our clients a good Quality Service.

On the other hand, I also appreciate you mention us the small deficiencies you noticed during your stay and you must know that we do consider them for our projects of improvements.

Finally, I am looking forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

At your disposal,

Francisco Perez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and I booked a six night stay in the second week of January in order to get some winter sunshine and to celebrate my birthday. I had originally intended to use the 111 bus from the airport, which drops off in Los Cristianos within sight of the hotel, but there was a large queue of travellers at the bus stop. I was aware of the reports on TripAdvisor about slow check-in at the hotel and knowing that there was a Thomson flight (Thomsons use the Sol Princessa Dacil) about to land I took the decision to take a taxi. The cost is no more than 25 Euros, a lot more expensive than the bus but as it turned out it did mean that we didn’t have to wait to check in. It’s worth having some small denominations of Euros as my taxi driver pulled the “no change” excuse and was about to drive off with my 30 Euros for a 22.40 Euro fare. Miraculously she found a 5 Euro note from somewhere. Check in is slow but it seems that this is due to the sluggish computer system and not the staff. We also paid 20 Euros for the room safe. The safe itself is key operated, remember this is a 1972 built hotel, so no small metal box with an electronic key pad device here. The safe is set into the concrete inside a wardrobe and sufficiently large for your valuables. You will get 5 Euros refunded when the key is handed back in when checking out. By the time we had checked in there were a few more arriving guests seated on the couches behind us. Reception is also the place to pay for the mattresses for the sun beds for which a receipt is printed which you hand to the pool attendant. This will also lead to delays at certain times of the day.
Our room was on the thirteenth floor and faced the harbour. A nice view but it is on the side where you will get no sun until late afternoon. The room was clean and comfortable with two single beds, a large bathroom and small settee. We couldn’t get the fridge to work and phoned down to reception. By the time we got back from dinner just over an hour later a hotel employee had called and the fridge was working. There are four lifts and we never experienced any significant delays when they were requested.
We had booked half board and like a few other reviewers found there always to be enough choice to satisfy our hunger. Take time when selecting your table to ensure you are not on an obvious traffic route as people will be passing to and from the food area all the time which gets annoying. Drinks can be purchased from a small bar area and it was not uncommon to see guests taking a half drunk bottle of wine to and from the dining area each evening. We paid 5 Euro for a half carafe of house wine on a couple of evening which was OK. The automatic hot drinks dispenser at breakfast is a bit hit or miss. The hot water for tea is not hot enough and if you like a coffee you can taste then go for the espresso. Press the button twice to fill the cup, it won’t overflow. The main bar area just before the restaurant was quite expensive and got quite busy in the evening. To be fair the majority of guests at this time of year are quite elderly and tend to stay in the hotel in the evening rather than venturing into Los Cristianos so the bar will get busy. The animation team (Jordi and Ola) took time to include people from different countries using their language. Ola in particular knew people by first name and guests were joining in the daytime activities by choice rather than being cajoled.
A nice surprise occurred on my birthday as the hotel left a chilling bottle of Cava in our room. They obviously check birthdates from the scan they take of your passport. I called in to thank the duty manager in her office by the lifts and she was pleased to have added to the occasion and asked us about our stay.
Overall I was more than happy with my stay. Yes, it is an older design of hotel which has been brought up to date but it is clean and comfortable with hard working staff and offers a good product. I would hope that they include a decent free wifi in future as I would choose a free wifi enabled hotel over a payable wifi. As more people of all ages are buying tablet PC’s this may give the hotel an advantage over other hotels in the area when it comes to making a decision about where to stay. We waited until we were in Los Cristianos and were able to use the free wifi in bars. A dedicated smoking area would be nice to see rather than guests having to pass through the smokers congregated under the canopy leading to the main lobby.

Room Tip: Go for a pool view if you want sun during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This was our second stay and our last in this hotel. We stayed there in January 2014 and our comments areas follows: our bedroom was on the second floor at back of hotel at corner of hotel where it was blowing a gale and patio door did not close properly. The sliding door of the wardrobe would not slide. The room was very small. The TV was old and reception very poor. You had to pay to rent a hairdryer (in a hotel?)

The dining room is like a Butlin's holiday camp and the food was not good. They recycle the food. There is no finesse whatsoever with everyone walking around with trays and you had to wait ages for your toast that you actually had to toast yourself! I would suggest getting some new toasters.
On the plus side the entertainment was very good.

Room Tip: Pool facing Rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent 30th November 14th December at the Sol Dacil Princessa on an all inclusive basis.

We have good and bad points.

Arriving and checking in a Breeze! Even given a glass of champage as we were checking in.

The weather was a bit hit and miss - we even had a Hurricane ! - but

although we couldnt get out of the hotel for a few days we must give a BIG THANK YOU to the Entertainment staff - namely Ola, and Elo. They were very friendly, the best we have ever come across - they kept us entertained all the time - We know Elo left but hope that you keep Ola on She is a real bonus to your hotel. She certainly made our holiday.

We would also like to mention Jack in the Bar - who was also a very nice person.

Our room was 1102 on the 11th Floor . Fantastic view.

We told reception that our mattress was lumpy and uncomfortable - They gave us a brand new mattress within the hour - Thank you.

However, here are the negative points.

There are no hairdryers in the rooms !!!
There was no electric socket in the bedroom. There were 2 in the lounge area.

All Inclusive Option. A bit Hit and Miss

The snacks that were supposed to be available - i e hot dogs, pizzas, burgers , sandwiches. We saw no evidence of these. Only the odd cake or biscuits. You had to pay for everything else.

The pool closed down for maintenance work on the 12th Dec. We were told when we were leaving that the hotel had actually taken some guests to The Paradise Hotel to use their facilities. We were not told about this.

The food was good and hot on the first 2 days of our stay. Then it took a disaster course. Food not cooked properly. Meat half raw. Food almost cold. (Clearly new staff or cut backs !)

The same food was served lunchtime and evening- It seemed it was served until it was eaten or had to be thrown out or made into soup !.

Overall we enjoyed our holiday - shame about the food - which let it down.

Room Tip: We liked our room 1102 which had a great sea and mountain view. Although it did lack power points...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

this is our third holiday in this hotel will sure to come back

the staff are very kind and the hotel is situated in the correct place for my family and friends we are already looking at our next visit

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franciscoperez, Director General at Sol Princesa Dacil, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments.

We are satisfied if we could fulfill your all expectations during your holiday. Thank you to consider our staff because they always try to do their best as the other departments as well to satisfy the customers' needs.

Thank you again for your comments. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the close future.

Kind regards,

Francisco Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Staff lovely good food could do with updating would go there again enjoyed entertainment people with me loved it there but please up date the hotel patio area and bar inside also new beds mattresses to hard

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franciscoperez, Director General at Sol Princesa Dacil, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Dee B,

Thank you for writing this review about our hotel.

We are glad to know that our staff and food could fulfill your expectations. Furthermore, we take note of all your comments.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Francisco Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Princesa Dacil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Princesa Dacil

Address: Avenida Juan Carlos I, 25 | Playa de los Cristianos, 38640 Los Cristianos, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Los Cristianos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Princesa Dacil 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Melia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sol Princesa Dacil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Princesa Dacil Hotel Los Cristianos
Sol Melia Arona
Sol Princesa Dacil Arona
Sol Princesa Dacil Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Princesa Dacil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.