We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Family Bar Balu

Restaurant Family Bar Balu
San Telmo | Playa Las Vistas, Los Cristianos, Tenerife, Spain
922 75 14 16
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 250 restaurants in Los Cristianos
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
“Great views, nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Prime location, lovely views, friendly staff and decent food. Couldn't fault it. The Chunky chips are a must with your meal. What better way to spend an afternoon or evening with spectacular views over the water. The chairs are very comfortable too. I also liked the notice that requested patrons to wear a shirt in the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    31
    16
    4
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic menu and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a definite must visit while in tenerife as the views are amazing and the kids area enables us to relax and enjoy the great atmosphere and fantastic food knowing the kids are having just as much fun in the safety of the restaurant. Highly recommended and Ma (the owner) ensures the great atmosphere!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely beach views and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Well everytime we visit Tenerife the very 1st stop after checking into our hotel is the Balu bar to enjoy a good meal (the chunky chips that are served with some dishes are delish) and drink a nice cold pint of Amstel over looking the beautiful las vistas beach, ahhh our holiday has started :)
Great reasonable priced food, good beer and lovely people with good facilities overlooking a pritty beach what more do you want, brilliant! Wish we were back there now!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good! or Very Bad!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have visited Balu every year since it opened. Owned by a lovely couple. Initially we loved this place and recomended it to everybody. The food was fantastic as was the service. The childrens area was a fantastic idea, safe, secure and unique. The guitarist at night was also very relaxing as the sun went down on the terrace.
Last year the food, service and the childrens area had gone greatly downhill.
This year we were pleased to find very pleasant staff (new) far better food and service. We returned in the evening and were dissappointed to find that the enterainment had been cancelled for the past six weeks due to a berievement. The internet speed was almost too slow to use.
we feel with a little more attention this place could be back to its unique former glory. Definatley worth a visit, especially if you have children.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

lovely location looking over the beach, food was lovely and staff really friendly!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Family Bar Balu also viewed

Los Cristianos, Tenerife
Los Cristianos, Tenerife
 
Los Cristianos, Tenerife
 

Been to Restaurant Family Bar Balu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Family Bar Balu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.