We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK. You can do a lot better for the price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Los Claveles

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Cristianos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Claveles
Asomada de Los Ceres, Los Cristianos, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Market Harborough
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Just OK. You can do a lot better for the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have a feeling that most of the 5/5 reviews are from the owners of timeshares at this place. We are currently 5 nights into our 7 night stay at these apartments and can honestly say that they are ok. Nothing more, nothing less.

Good points:
Very clean.
Polite staff.
Nice (heated) pool.
Free parking.

Bad points:
A long way from the centre of town - up a big hill.
Tired and dated apartments.
Old, 'fuddy duddy' clientelle.
Deposit payable for everything (Towels, safe, tv remote).
No aircon.
Not enough sunbeds.

The apartment we have (number 73) has a balcony - but it has no view, apart from 15 other apartments overlooking it. The sun hits the balcony at about 9.30 am until 3.00 pm - not bad, but no privacy whatsoever.
Other apartments may be better, but ours is certainly not what we expected from the description on the Wimpen website.
Would we return? Probably not - there are many comparable (or better) apartments available in this resort for a similar price that are in a much better location.
Certainly not 4 star in any way.

Room Tip: Some apartments overlook the pool. Ours overlooked 15 other balconies. Avoid number 73.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimPen, Owner at Los Claveles, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are disappointed that you are not fully enjoying your stay. Different apartments have different view aspects around the resort which is ideal for guests who have different requirements. However on checking your booking it is noted that you did not request a pool view apartment. The town center of Los Cristianos is only 10 minutes walk from the resort and is accessible by 3 different routes, one of which does not use a big hill. Our reviewers and guests are across the spectrum from first time visitors, young families and older regular guests. During November our guests tend to be of the older generation escaping the colder weather at home and also because the period is not within the school holidays. We are proud to say that Los Claveles is a relaxing resort for a peaceful holiday and is not intended for guests requiring a lively party resort. With regards to refundable deposits we unfortunately find that we are required to request deposits for facilities otherwise some clients misuse the services / items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    39
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This Was our second stay at Los claveles, our first time was a few years ago, and we ended up here this time as we were looking for a cheap last minute get away. The flights to Tenerife were very reasonable and I knew that staying at Los Claveles would be reasonably priced and a great standard... And we weren't disapointed. The resort is just what we want from a holiday. Spotlessly clean (the cleaners work hard every day) quiet and staff are friendly.

We stayed in a studio room, and to be honest they could have called it a 1 bedroom apartment and we'd have been happy. It's very big for a studio, you have all the basic facilities you need to go self catering and eat in if that's what you want to do? (We ate out every night, but you could easily cook in you studio.) there is also a tv with loads of channels, including movies and sports, which was great of a siesta time :-)

The pool area Is a little cramped to be honest, however there were always enough sun loungers, and with a little moving about of loungers you could get a little room to your self (all the loungers are placed next to each other, so you can end up lying very close to someone you don't know... Hence the need to move stuff about) The pool area was clean, sunny, and warm. There is a life guard on hand to ensure the strict rules are followed :-)

The pool bar is cheap & does good basic food. We only ate there a couple of times, but the burgers, hot sandwiches & omelettes we had were fine. The service is top class. Lucy works hard day & night, she remembers everyone, and their "usual" drinks.

There Is wifi Available for 5 euros a week... The coverage is a little patchy, but for the basics it works fine.

As stated above it is very clean, rooms are cleaned a few times a week & clean bed linen and towels are available 3 times a week. The only downside (if you can call it that) to the clean resort, is that to get this the cleaners start quite early, so you will hear them sweeping, moving stuff etc from about 8am. But this didn't bother me!

I really can't fault this place. I didn't eat in the main resturant so I can't comment on the food there. However there are loads of places to eat & drink within walking distance. The main beach area is about a 20 minute walk, a little far but taxis are available if you aren't up to the walk.

I would definately recommend staying here, and my parents stay here every year...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I'm say by the pool in Los Claveles on the last day of my 2nd stay here.

The place continues to be clean and well maintained. The staff are as friendly as they were last time.

You rather expect to find more of the negatives with a place the 2nd time around. I'm happy to say that that has not really. Been the case here. We spent a week here with friends last year and they enjoyed it so much they bought a week of their own.

I'm looking forward to many future stays at Los Claveles.

Just a a bit of balance I will say, as more and more people's personal entertainment systems require, even temporarily, connection to the internet, that the powers that be at Los Claveles should give som thought to improving the range and bandwidth of their wireless service as it is still the case that wireless is not available in a number of apartments and is spotty in others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willerby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our family comprising of myself, husband and 12 year old daughter and my mum stayed here 9th 23gust. My mum has timeshare weeks here in January and suggested we tried it in the summer. We had a large 2 bedroom apartment sleeping 6 people. It was spotless and clean and had all the facilities from home including a washing machine, fridge freezer, full size oven and hob and microwave etc.

Considering it was the middle of the school holidays the pool was not particularly overcrowded. The management had a rule of lilos in the pool for 3 hours a day (11 - 12, 1.30 to 2.30 and 4 to 5) so that everyone had a chance to enjoy the pool.

Every morning the maintenance staff cleaned the pool area thoroughly including the sunbeds and mattresses. There is a lifeguard on duty at all times.

We found all the staff friendly and welcoming especially the Reception staff, nothing was too much trouble.

Only one downside for me - no aircon. We had a celing fan in all the rooms, but for me, it didn't really help very much and it was hot and muggy at night, so I did not sleep very well. I think the management are considering putting this in as a few timeshare owners have requested this.

You can hire towels so there is no need to take your own if you don't want to, (but we did).

The restaurant was not busy either, but the food was great and reasonably priced. I think a lot of people ate in their apartments, there was 2 large supermarkets not far away stocking everything you need and at very good prices.

The beach was about a 15 minute walk away, a bit steep coming back but a taxi back was only 3 or 4 Euro.

Plenty of nice reasonably priced restaurants out and about, including some good English ones if you want to. We had a great filling breakfast down at the front for 2.95 Euro, which includes bacon, sausage, 2 eggs, beans and toast and coffee!!

We had a few trips out, my daughter and husband went to Siam Park, which they thoroughly enjoyed (Lucy went on the Tower of Power!!). We enjoyed the whale and dolphin boat trip on a Catermaran (a bit choppy but we saw the bottle nosed dolphins) and a 'Songs from the Shows' musical evening including a meal and unlimited drinks for the evening - a great laugh!

We would recommend these apartments to anyone and we can't wait to return to these apartments and the Los Cristianos area. We had a relaxing holiday and if you wanted more action, nothing was too far away in a taxi at cheap prices.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spotless, rooms vary from one bed studios to large 3 bed villas. Poolside rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Me and my boyfriend visited los claveles in August 2013.

Apartments - absolutely lovely!!! Could not fault. Cleaned 3 times in one week, towels made into swans on arrival (lovely touch). English TV, fully fitted kitchen with washing machine! Large settee, huge balcony with table and 2 Sunloungers. Large double bedroom with bathroom and another toilet also. Hairdryer and safe in (have to pay for safe) Lovely rooms :)

Pool - gorgeous pool area plenty of sunbeds (you can't reserve them) very clean and lifeguard was on duty at all times. Inflatables only allowed at certain times which I thought was really good as it didn't get too crowded.

Area - really good area 5 min walk from resturants and bars and only 30 min walk to las Americas!


Overall we had a fantastic stay, staff very friendly! Loves it!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just spent three weeks at Los claveles and had an amazing holiday. Week 1 there were 21 of us and it dwindled down to 6 of us for last week with age ranged from 8 to 79
The staff are friendly intelligent courteous and knowledgable on where to go and what to do.
The rooms and the pool area are spotless. We had a huge terrace and a separate balcony off the master bedroom, all overlooking the pool bar and restaurant.
Fresh towels every day for the poolside with covered kids play area including pool tables and table tennis table.
There is no scramble for beds which is a real pleasure and virtually every guest owns a time slit here and therefore cares about it a gret deal and looks after it.
The manager Salvador and the reception staff were a pleasure nothing was too much trouble.
The pool bar is good value for money and the food is quick and well presented. The restaurant (evenings only) is fantastic service and excellent food even when catering for big crowds

Los claveles is only a short walk from some lovely restaurants and local shops, it is 10 minutes walk to the Sunday market and a touch longer to the beach

Los claveles is a great place to stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I went on this holiday at the end of July and the start of august with my family using our RCI points that we have. The resort is situated close to Los Cristiano’s and a supermarket so you can stock up on some essentials, also the bus station is close by and if you ask at reception they will give you some good places to go. We arrived late at night but the reception staffs were still very welcoming and they sorted our room out for us within minutes. I would recommend that if you are going with small children that you spend the first few days by the pool to try and acclimatize to the heat as at this time the temperature was between 25-30 degrees every day. The pool is very nice and guarded by a life guard at all times of the day and they are very efficient. The only down side to the pool that there isn’t enough beds for everyone if the resort is full, however there is no rush to try and grab beds as no one can reserve them until 9:00am. The resort has a pool bar where you can go for breakfast and lunch and it is very good value for money. The resort also has a bar which all the entertainment is held in at night, even though the entertainment isn’t that great! It is very good for background music if you were to be playing cards while having a quiet drink. The entertainment was all finished by 11:30pm and everyone has to be out of the bar by midnight, which makes it a great family resort as there is no noise to keep you awake. I and my family ate at the onsite restaurant every night but 2 as we thought we better explore! The restaurant is great value for money and there is a different special every night and a range of foods that everyone will enjoy, personally I recommend the sirloin steak with mushroom sauce and sauté potatoes and that only cost €12!! The apartments are kept spotless and all of the staff are there for you whenever you need them and for whatever for. Overall the resort is definitely one that the family will enjoy and if all you want is some sun and relaxation you are going to be in the right place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are situated perfectly close to everything but the best ones are the onmes that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Claveles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Claveles

Address: Asomada de Los Ceres, Los Cristianos, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 Specialty lodging in Los Cristianos
Also Known As:
Los Claveles Hotel Los Cristianos
Los Claveles Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Claveles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Los Claveles to your Saves list