We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful simple food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar El Cine

Bar El Cine
juan bariajo, 38650 Los Cristianos, Tenerife, Spain
609 107 758
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 250 restaurants in Los Cristianos
Price range: $0 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
North Wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful simple food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We found this place by accident & oh my how glad were we! We had lunch here nearly every day after and was gorgeous every time. Very nice to see a place filled with locals!
Get here early over wise you will have to wait!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    250
    125
    33
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Dunbartonshire
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were introduced to this place by my sister and her husband about 8 years ago. We have been back many times since. The place is frequented by locals as well as well informed visitors. Our first visit, we had to queue up in the alley way to wait for a table and it was so worth it. The freshness of the food is wonderful as is the basicness of the menu! Not a lot on there but plainly superb cooking! They have won awards for the restaurant and the owner is very proud of his establishment. He encourages patrons to post comments on Tripadvisor as they are looking to achieve their 5 Star rating! Worth every one of them.
During this visit, we had just been along to meet some friends at Las Americas (The Dubliner) on St Patrick's Day. After a few boozy hours we had no hesitation heading to El Cine for a late lunch. All of their mains are 7 euros or a half portion for 3.70. We got tomato and onion salad, canary potatoes and beer all at 2.50 and a glass of wine at 2 euro. I ordered squid, served whol grilled and was deliscious. We also had a plate of fish of the day which was a mixture of local fish and tuna steak. In addition, my husband asked for sardines. The server suggested he only has a half portion + if more required then to order later. I wanted prawns but we really had way too much between us already!! All beutifully cooked and delicious with a tital bill of on 27.20 euros!! Blinding! Wanted to come back again before leavinf Tenerife but the 45 min bus journey and 20 mins walk each way from Los Christianos bus station didn't really warrant a return. Will definitely be back next visit to Tenerife though! For sure!! Xx

P.s. Last few times we have visited here, the next door restaurant was always empty while the queue for El Cine was down to the bottom of the lane. I think next door must have changed hands since last time as it was also very busy! Don't think they would be able to entice me or my hubby away from our favourite though! Perhaps the owner of El Cine should take the next door over too and expand his business!! Xx

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This is the place to go if you are a fish lover. No frills just superb fish. Don't be put off if you have to queue you won't have to wait long. We had hake, squid and prawns which we all loved. Saw someone have the octopus it looked very special. Will always return to this little gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Ecellent Canarian Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have visited this Restaurant many times over the last 10 years and have always enjoyed the experience. It is a fairly basic menu of fish and chicken and is very reasonably priced as is the local wine. Be prepared to wait a little time and have a table close to another but all part of the atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fast fish & chips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Food was ok but you got the impression that fast turnover was the name of the game ....seating felt like you were in a noisy alleyway ...a bit of a novelty but I don't think we'll try it again

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar El Cine also viewed

Los Cristianos, Tenerife
Los Cristianos, Tenerife
 
Los Cristianos, Tenerife
Los Cristianos, Tenerife
 

Been to Bar El Cine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar El Cine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.