We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acrogiali Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Acrogiali Hotel to your Saves list
Acrogiali Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mykonos | PO Box 610, Platys Gialos 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Right on the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My fiancée and I booked a three nights stay in August at this hotel after reviewing all the positive reviews on trip adviser. Before we arrived we contacted the hotel and we were happy to know that there is a free shuttle available to pick us up from the ferry docks where we would be arriving from Athens. Once we arrived the driver was there and informed us that there has been a mistake with the reservation and for the first night our reservation was lost and he drove us to Pelican Bay hotel instead. Pelican Bay hotel was a great hotel but I have to say it was a bit of an inconvenience to unpack for one night and pack again the next day to our original hotel. The driver picked us up the next day and took us to Acrogiali hotel which is located right on the beach! I was a bit disappointed to know that they could not offer us an ocean view room even though they made a mistake with our reservation. But our room was clean and had a garden view. This hotel is so convenient and it's a great feeling to step out of the room and walk right on the beach! It is located on Platys Gialos beach which is a beautiful beach. I would say its more of a family/ couple beach rather than a party beach like paradise. The great thing is that there was a boat available on the beach where for 5€ per person a speed boat was available to take you to an other beach like paradise beach or super paradise beach. The bus to take to Mykonos town was steps away from this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful when it came to giving direction. The breakfast was decent with good coffee.

Room Tip: I suggest if you want an ocean view room in this hotel you inform them in advance and not at the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    72
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
46
115
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

having made a very happy visit in may we have just come back from an august stay for a few days
as usual we booked a free pick up - at the same time as the main booking.
august is an extremely busy period and our budget could not afford a luxury hotel so we came
to our tried and trusted Acrogiali Hotel.
our room was clean - ITS NOT LUXURY - its pleasant and acceptable.

we don't eat much at restaurants as we are vegans
but we stood patiently as each maitre d presented their offerings along the beach

all the hotel staff try and help and sometimes thing were not done immediately

im not sure if we were at the same time as the reviewer Matushes
who indicated that everyone was rude !

but there were some people who you just could not satisfy
they reminded us of road rage drivers who don't care about anything else but themselves.
the hotel could never please these people so they let them be
and eventually half ignored them as a very sad case of " i want everything now! "

having done a web search on this user name its obvious that he uses the same handle on everything. he is an unreliable ebay seller with various negatives on his profile
in fact he has never ever made a trip advisor review

when we came to this hotel we were polite and requested things with a please and thank you's
it always works !
next time i would recommend MATUSHES to go and pay top dollar for a hotel that will bend over backwards - they do exist and you just DEMAND instead of saying please or thank you !

please don't let his bad review influence you and dont be bullied.
everyone in mykonos are trying to look after visitors from the bottom of their hearts.
and everyone at the Acrogiali are in that crowd

Room Tip: front rooms are too noisy - if you wish to sleepstay at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

If you can stay somewhere else, do! This place has a nice view but the accommodations were awful. From the moment we checked in - which took over an hour - the women at the front desk were rude, robotic and unfriendly I've traveled around the world and have never had such an awful experience to the point where I am compelled to go on tripadvisor to write a review. The room was very plain, the breakfast was terrible and the restaurant is a scam. You are paying for view and close proximity to the beach and nothing else! Oh and they don't email you to ask if you want a ride from the airport they just wait til you show up and find out that that service is included in the price and you have already spent 30 euro on a taxi

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgyriosTheoharis, General Manager at Acrogiali Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
dear,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property.

pick up transfer is not included in the price , it is a free service provided if you notify us in advance at least 24 hours so you organize you pick up. (it is stated in our web page 24hours prior notice)
taxi from the port or airport is around 10-15 euro and not 30!!!

concerning your room if you didnt like it we could find a solution to give you another room.

American buffet breakfast is served at the hotel but still you found it awful i really dont understand what you didnt like?

our restaurant is awarded with certificate of excellence for the last 5 years ! how you call it a scam?? you didnt clarify why is scam? we are proffesionals we respect your money and your vacations.

after all you didnt like anything room , breakfast , restaurant , service etc. you did account to tripadvisor just for us!

because i do remember your case everything started from the sunbeds!!!!
we do have a small spot at the beach to be used by our hotel guests for free(the only hotel that does that), the beach of platis gialos is PUBLIC beach, everyone can use the sunbeds so if they are full early in the morning we can not kick out people.
you demanded for first row umbrella at 15:00 of course they told you they are full. there is a difference between the rows?
we do have 25 umbrellas at the beach 5 first row for 70 rooms, first comes first served, anyway there are more that 500 umbrellas at the beach available for a cost of 10 euro the set i dont think this amount is really expensive for a set to be used without time limit if the hotels one are full.

my private mail is info@acrogiali.gr if you want to express your complains in details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

breakfast, terrible bad. no swimming pool, rooms average poor, beach crowded. the good thing is that you have the water boat taxi 50 meters going to paradise, super paradise, etc.
the restaurant on other hand is a very good option and much better than the hotel and breakfast.
if price is good, take this option but it is better to stay in downtown Mykonos so to take the buses to the different beaches. if you stay here, you have to go to downtown by bus to take another bus to other beack, rent a car or a quad is much better

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Acrogiali for 2 weeks in July with my sister and her partner. This is a very well placed hotel which has spotlessly clean bedrooms with large bathrooms. We had a garden room which meant that it was lovely and cool walking back to our rooms from the beach. A good selection of food and drinks is served at breakfast. The bus stop to Mykonos town is a 2 minute walk from the hotel and there are lots of very good restaurants and bars in the town (the Piano Bar being one of our favourites). There are also several good restaurants/bars in Platys Gialos. The hotel also provides a very efficient pick-up and drop-off service from the airport.

On arrival at the hotel we were introduced to the restaurant manager who told us that the sunbeds were free for use however, we soon found out that due to the close proximity of the sunbeds the only ones worth using are those on the front row i.e. at the sea edge and that the manager reserves these for his ‘special’ restaurant guests. On one occasion we tried to get 4 sunbeds together and merely moved the manager’s towels to the next beds in the same row; the manager then approached us while we were eating breakfast and accused us of first of all throwing the towels away (we hadn’t), and then moving them to the row behind (again, we hadn’t). This was a particularly upsetting and embarrassing incident which took place in the middle of the restaurant in full view of other guests. Having read other guests’ reviews and reading the manager’s response when someone dares criticise his management style, no doubt he will either refute these accusations or treat them with contempt.

After this incident which left us feeling particularly uncomfortable, we discovered a beautiful beach at Agia Anna which is approximately a 10 minute walk along the beach/cliff from the hotel and I would suggest that you also use this beach. There are free sunbeds/parasols here, lots of space and a lovely taverna which served food all day/night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel was fantastic for its location to the beach. You basically walked out of your room, through reception and then straight onto the beach. Who needs a swimming pool when you have the lovely Platys Gialos beach right at your footsteps. Hotel was fine. Clean rooms and decent sizes. A bus ride into Mykonos town for the shops and nightlife. Plenty of restaurants to choose from on the beach front at Platys Gialos. Would definitely stay here again. We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2013. My room was clean if not a little bit old and worn - like a cracked window in the bathroom, and old aircon system. I also had a TV that did not work and even though I asked for it to be fixed it wasn't! And I had a massive cockroach in my room but these things happen!!! . Therefore I'm not sure it was worth the 125 euros I paid per night compared to other places I stayed on my Greek Island Trip that were less than half the price and just as good. Although I found everything in Mykonos to be at least 30% more expensive than evreywhere else. The staff were lovely and helpful and the complimentary pickup /drop off service was fantastic. The best feature is the beach at the front. When you go to get one of your free beach loungers don't be put off by how many towels are already on them in the morning. I found the hotel did this themselves to try and drum up paying customers that are not hotel guests!! The beach is packed and you are on top of each other, but then I am Australian and not use to this!! The local bus was close to go into town or other beaches. So great location wise and plenty of restaurants at your door step to choose from. Mykonos was far from my favourite island so personally I wouldn't rush back but this was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acrogiali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acrogiali Hotel

Address: Mykonos | PO Box 610, Platys Gialos 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Platys Gialos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Platys Gialos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Platys Gialos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
#9 Family Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Acrogiali Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Acrogiali is a 4-star beach hotel, situated on one of the most beautiful beaches of Mykonos, Platy Gialos.All rooms feature air conditioning, satellite TV, and a balcony with sea or garden view. Free Wi-Fi is available at the Acrogiali Hotel.Acrogiali's restaurant offers both Greek and Italian cuisine at the beachfront terrace.The town of Mykonos is a 10-minute bus ride from Platis Yialos beach. Other local beaches can be reached by boat.A free airport shuttle service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Acrogiali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acrogiali Platys Gialos
Acrogiali Hotel Platys Gialos
Acrogiali Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acrogiali Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.