We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Kamari - Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kamari

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kamari to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kamari
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platis Gialos | Mykonos, Platys Gialos 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Platys Gialos
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Kamari - Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

First time I stayed at Kamari Mykonos was 2006 and it was a great place, I requested this hotel again for my recent trip in June 2012 and I wasn't disappointed, in fact the hotel is better than ever as it's been renovated and it was fantastic. Helpful staff, lovely location, excellent rooms, beautiful pool & bar setting, overall a great place to stay and if I am ever back in Mykonos I will most definately stay there. Thank you Kamari for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    77
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
85
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The grounds of Hotel Kamari are beautiful and the location is great! Other than those things, we were a bit dissappointed. This was the lowest priced hotel in our almost two week Greek trip, so we were willing to give a little bit, but I think some further attention to the basics is warranted. First, the staff was a bit cranky. We did not experience a bad attitude at any of our other hotels or even local restaurants. For the most part, it seemed that the Greek people were happy to have tourists, but the staff here just seemed to be in a bit of a bad mood (except for the bartender at the pool, who was very nice). Also, when we were given towels to go to the pool, we were not instructed that a deposit was being put on our room charges pending return of the towels. Not knowing this, I left my towel down at the pool when I was finished with it (as I did in all of the other hotels on our trip) and when we checked out they tried to charge us 20 Euro. Ultimately, the clerk at the front-desk agreed to take off the charge, but this was pretty annoying.

The size of the room was pretty generous and once we figured out the air conditioning (all of the doors and windows have to be properly shut and locked before it works), the tempurature of the room was nice. However, the "King Sized Bed" in our room was really just two twin beds pushed together - not particularly romantic.

Also, there are shutters on the outside of the windows that can be closed to block out some of the sun light, but otherwise, there are no black out curtains. The shutters also rattle in the wind quite a bit in both the closed and open positions and so it's disrupting to sleep.

Finally, this seemed like a VERY kid friendly place. For families, that is fantastic. The pool seemed like a pretty fun place for the kids to play. However, for couples looking to relax by the pool, read a book and have a drink, this was not so good.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 216, which had a nice view, but note the other comments about the shutters above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place, staff were great, friendly and helpful. Rooms were large but nothing fancy, great view from our room overlooking the pool and hillside, with the classic white and blue buildings. Breakfast was nice enough and pleasant. Pool is also great and location of hotel is only a few minutes to the beach and restaurants. A bus stop right out front takes you into town. Best part of the hotel was there was not masses of tourists, always a seat at the pool or breakfast. Would recommend this to anyone wants a great time in Mykonos.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

One week stay early June 2012. Given a room for 3 although there was only two of us - so nice start, big clean room with balcony overlooking gardens with sea in distance. Hotel staff professional and friendly, (they took us to the airport when the transfer bus went early).Breakfast superb in covered area overlooking pool/gardens. Pool and bar all first class with sun beds always available. Short walk down to beach(s) where there are several good quality restaurants, some with Greek dancing, some offering free sun beds the following day, but all offering good food and service,although this part of the beach has the potential to be very crowded looking at the number of sun beds - 90% of which were empty. Bus to/from Mykonos town stops outside hotel and is quite reliable, or local boats take you to various beaches for a reasonable amount. (if you are the only ones getting off make sure they will come back to get you - we got caught out!). I was surprised how quiet everywhere was given that it was half term. We did book early and got a very good deal for the package.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors overlooking gardens are best (I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in May 2012. Room was bigger than I expected, very clean and comfortable. Had a beautiful view of the town from my balcony. Staff was very friendly and attentive. They can help guests book tours and transportation at the front desk. Dined at the restaurant twice, and the food and wine were delicious, and at a good price. The hotel is about a 2-3 minute walk from the beach and other restaurants. The bus stop is also right in front of the hotel, which I really appreciated. I was charged 4 euros each way for the shuttle ride to and from the airport, but it was a nice service to have. Free Wi-Fi is available, though a bit difficult to get from my room. Overall, lovely hotel! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This was our first stay in the Greek Islands and could not find fault in the Kamari Hotel. Staff and accommodation was excellent for what we paid. Nothing was a problem.
Location was also excellent with great beach and top class restaurants within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Beds tend to be a bit firm for our liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our time at Hotel Kamari. The rooms are fairly simple, but clean and comfortable. There is a beautiful swimming pool with a convenient small bar area. Free airport transfers and breakfast were great additions. The service at the hotel really made the difference too-- everyone was friendly and willing to go the extra mile for guests.

The walk to Platis Gialos beach is under five minutes, and there are several good restaurants as well as convenience stores right there. There is also a bus stop to go into town directly outside the hotel (you may need a cab back if returning late), and a regular boat that will take you to Paradise beach down the street.

I would say the hotel and surrounding area is more family or couple oriented than a lot of Mykonos so that's good to keep in mind depending on what you are looking for.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay. Not a lot of bells and whistles but I would still certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kamari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamari

Address: Platis Gialos | Mykonos, Platys Gialos 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kamari 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kamari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamari Hotel Platys Gialos
Hotel Kamari Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kamari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.