We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argo Hotel Mykonos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Argo Hotel Mykonos to your Saves list
Argo Hotel Mykonos
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platis Gialos, Platys Gialos 84 600, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“We loved it and we'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

This is a really good hotel and we will definitely stay here again when we return to Mykonos. We paid roughly €76 per night including breakfast which we thought was very reasonable considering the price of other hotels close by. The hotel emailed me a few days before we were due to arrive on the island and arranged for us to be picked up from the airport. We were allocated a room overlooking the pool which was really nice as it also had a seaview. The room was a good size, with a huge bed which was extremely comfortable. The room and bathroom were spotless clean. There is also free internet access available at reception. The hotel staff were very friendly and most helpful. The location is perfect, two minutes walk from the beach and restaurants and the bus stop is literally just across the road. Platis Gialos beach is beautiful and wasn't too overcrowded. There are also a good selection of restaurants along the sea front and every meal we had was really enjoyable. We particularly liked the Blue Myth Restaurant, Avli Tou Thodori and Atlantida. Overall great hotel and would definitely recommend staying here. Thank you to all the staff at the Argo for a lovely stay.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    87
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
134
311
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Out of all the hotels I stayed in on my trip to the Greek Islands this was by far the best! The rooms were nicely finished, with a very comfortable queen bed (most other hotels only offer double beds), and very modern bathroom facilities. The location is great, just set back from the beach and near restaurants. The service is excellent with a lovely breakfast, and very clean rooms, and there are even sea views from the rooms (if you are upstairs). I would definately recommend anyone travelling to Mykonos stay here as it is moderately priced and upmarket.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff. I sent an email to give them the flight details and we were picked up and dropped off at the airport which made life so much easier. The hotel room is lovely and traditional and there is a beautiful pool to gaze at especially at night.
Breakfast was by the pool and was adequate, the best part was the Greek yoghurt. They give you a 10% discount at their beachfront restaurant which is excellent. WIFI was easy to use and fast. I would definately recommend it to anyone going to Mykonos.

Room Tip: Upper floors may have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We spent three nights at this resort and can't believe it is only three stars. No way. We stayed in a new room, apparently the first guests to grace it, and it was spacious and so clean! Shower was nice and big with a rain shower head and all new fittings. Service was amazing, so well priced for quality and location. Breakfast was AMAZING. Included in the price and it was a gourmet buffet like no other found in Europe... eggs, bacon, cake, croissants, fruit, biscuits, yoghurt, breads, cereals, tea, juice, coffee... It was a highlight for us after travelling around Europe for a month before our stay. The pool looked amazing and the atmosphere of the hotel was very nice. Gorgeous beach and restaurants only metres down the road. The restaurant associated with the hotel was so good we went there every single night - and you get 10% off for being a guest of Argo! Free highspeed internet and free transfers makes this place remarkable. A blissful stay, we didn't want to leave!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

The Argo Hotel - in Platys Gialos, near Mykonos Town - proved to be as good as previous reviewers have said. It offered space, comfort, quiet - all at near budget rate. The Argo gets all the basics right: the standard double-bedded room was quite spacious, had a good view over the pool, with a balcony large enough for two to sit comfortably in the morning sun. The bed was large and comfortable, the linens and pillows excellent too. The bathroom was basic but practical, with both hairdryer and shaver point. The shower was good sized and worked well, with enough hot water. The hotel is located only a few minutes' walk to the beach at Platys Gialos, and a minute from the bus stop for transport into Mykonos Town (10-12 mins. journey time, at 1.60 Euro each way. Taxis worked out at 7 euros each way, not bad for 2 people). Other features of the Argo have been noted by previous reviewers: free transport from either the airport or the ferrry port (and return); complimentary breakfast on the terrace by the swimming pool. The breakfast was varied, healthy and enough to take anyone through to a late lunch. My only complaint was that really hot coffee wasn't available, but the coffee machine delivered coffee that would satisfy most visitors. The staff were friendly and well-informed throughout. Rooms were tidied - and new towels provided - every day. Service was excellent throughout my stay. The Argo is not a luxury hotel - but it is very comfortable and a great bargain. My stay in Mykonos during the second week of May was very pleasant, but perhaps a week or two too early to enjoy Mykonos at its best: it was both a bit too breezy and not quite warm enough. The water - in the pool and in the sea - was for the hearty; I only went in half-way. Platys Gialos is very attractive itself, and what's more a path leads from the end of its beach, overlooking the sea, to the next beaches: Paranga (about 10-12 mins. walk), which is less formal and more laid back than Platys Gialos, and then on to Paradise Beach (a further 10-15 mins). There are plenty of beach restaurants at Platys Gialos (the best of which are the Argo Hotel's own Avli tou Thodori and next to it Atlantida: both are moderately priced, but not cheap). There are also good tavernas on the way to Paranga Beach (Nicolas) and at Paranga Beach.
I recommend the Argo to singles, couples and small families; a great deal!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but ask for an upper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We spent 4 days at the Argo hotel and the service was fantastic. Large rooms, clean and great staff. There isn't much in terms of entertainment at the hotel, but it is a 5 minute walk to the beach. You can also get a ferry from here to Paradise, and other "party" beaches.

The hotel also has a car service to take you to the city center - which is awesome given the small number of taxis.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

the hotel is well located and has pretty everything you need. the staff (the hotel is runned by a family) is the most friendly, educated and welcoming you will find in Greece.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Argo Hotel Mykonos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argo Hotel Mykonos

Address: Platis Gialos, Platys Gialos 84 600, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Platys Gialos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Argo Hotel Mykonos 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argo Hotel will provide you comfort staying in a family environment with friendly atmosphere. It is located 100m from the beach of Platis Gialos, on the south side of Mykonos Island, 4 km from Chora (Mykonos Town). All rooms have air conditioning, TV, fridge, radio, safe deposit box, bathroom and balcony. The hotel also has a terrace for breakfast and a snack bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Argo Hotel Mykonos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argo Hotel Platys Gialos
Argo Hotel Mykonos Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argo Hotel Mykonos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.