We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel...don't get a manicure...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palladium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palladium to your Saves list
Hotel Palladium
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platys Gialos Beach, Platys Gialos 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
TOP 25 Hotels In Greece
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel...don't get a manicure...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

My fiancé and I stayed at the Palladium for a long weekend in August 2008 as we were in Mykonos for a friend's wedding. The staff were very accommodating and friendly and we cannot fault the hotel in any way. The assistant manager even went so far as to show us a number of available rooms on different floors so that we could choose which one we preferred. They went out of their way to do small things that they were under no obligation to do (such as helping us out when our scooter was not working!)

The only blemish to our stay was my last minute manicure and pedicure. Unfortunately for the 80 euros I paid, I was very disappointed. They use a mobile beauty therapist (so this is no direct reflection on the hotel) who was simply not very good. She took over two hours and I was forced to remove the varnish on my finger nails immediately afterwards as the standard was so poor. I relayed this the next day to the hotel desk who were very sympathetic but that was the extent of any recourse. I would have hoped a refund or some other similar gesture would have been offered.

Other than this - clean hotel, friendly and courteous staff and we would return.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Price
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    62
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
74
278
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gran Canaria, Spain
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

Firstly i would like to say that this review is only our opinion of what we found here on offer at the 'Palladium' hotel. I guess everyones view is different depending on previous hotel experiences, amount of traveling done and class of hotels stayed in.
I should also say that i am well traveled and have stayed in many hotels of all grades and fortuate enough to stayed in many 5* establisments, including others on Mykonos.

I also use this site before traveling to any hotel to try and get some 'Real' idea of what we can expect, although i have to say on this occasion i was dissapointed. In our opinion this hotel is not by any stretch of the imagination a 5* hotel.

My partner and i had booked an 11 night stay at the 'Palladium' in an Deluxe seaview room.
When we arrived at the hotel it was a sunday afternoon and we felt really excited. We checked in and were quickly shown to our room which we thought was 'OK' But didn't exactely have the 'Wow' factor.
We decided to head for the pool bar, relax and enjoy a drink, to my suprize the music being played was 'club' music and at a very loud level, infact so loud the barman couldn't understand what we were ordering! We did ask him to turn it down but he refused, so no surprize here to find no one else at all in the pool bar area's.......Dont get me wrong no prob's with club music, but there's a time and place for everything, i guess i was expecting chilled relaxing ambient music!......Severe lack of class here.

The bath/shower setup in the rooms has to be the worst i have seen in any 5* hotel, if you actually manage to get under the shower you will without doubt flood the bathroom floor!
We put up with this for 3 days before we complained. We were shown other rooms but they all had the same shower/bath except one we were shown but this backed onto a montain.
So we decided to opt for a slightly better room put up with the shower and still keep our sea view.
I must say here that the staff were helpfull in assisting us with our complaint and it was indicated to us that this was certainly not the first time residence had complained about this.

One evening we were in our room i decided to go down to the bar and order a cheese baguette to be taken back to the room, to my amazment i was told that this was not possible and that only a 'cheese toastie' could be ordered! I found this to be most unbelievable and had to remind myself of the 5 stars.
On another occasion my partner went down to the bar to order 2 glasses of white wine.
He returned empty handed as they were unable to find a bottle opener, but said they would deliver the wine to the room. We waited 15 mins before the wine arrived at the door in two different odd shaped glasses, and worse than that the wine was not even chilled! So we sent it back and they managed to find some chilled......Again this is not 5*

Also if i dare go on the beds in the rooms our very uncomfortable, we did stay 11 nights but towards the end you come to realize just how firm they are. Some people of course may like this.

O.K I could go on, but dont get me wrong the 'Palladium' is a nice hotel. It is clean, the breakfasts our lovely and the staff do try to make an effort when prompted. The main point i am trying to make is that this is not a 5* hotel. (in case you hadn't noticed!) In my opinion 3* would be much more realistic.

So there you have it, our experience at the 'Palladium' hotel. I am sure that with time the hotel will improve and i know that is there intention.

D.J.Cavey (Norwich)

  • Liked — Nice balcony view
  • Disliked — Bath/shower set up
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mykonianresorts, owner at Hotel Palladium, responded to this review, September 14, 2008
Dear Sir,

Though we as an establishment honour your opinion to the fullest, we find it necessary to mention some points regarding the Palladium Hotel as well. Throughout your stay, 11 nights, though you were having many problems, none of these were brought to the attention of our Guest Relations officer in order for her to settle the issue. Only on one occasion was something actually brought to her attention, and she dealt with the situation accordingly. Additionally, the guest relations officer did manage to find you other rooms with a completely different shower set up, however you refused.

There must be one point understood by all visitors to Mykonos, the 5 star ratings in Greece, and in Mykonos certainly; are different than those in a place such as Las Vegas, or the United Kingdom. Palladium Hotel is a small boutique hotel of which in accordance with the Greek Government and the European Union has all the qualities, necessities and services to exist as a 5 star establishment. Just last year (in order to bring up the point of the uncomfortable beds) the Palladium Hotel underwent a complete and total renovation. All mattresses and other materials in the Hotel were changed, and this is actually the first instance in which a client, satisfied or dissatisfied has mentioned anything about the mattresses.

As a final point, we would like to mention that throughout the season of 2008, the Palladium Hotel has had many guest walk through her doors. Many clients have left enthusiastic, of which is evidence of the other criteria below. This by no means tries to disvalue the critique in which you have written, this is just a way to insure that all opinions will be seen objectively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

We had a fantastic stay at the palladium in Mikanos. The hotel is outside of the noise of Horas (5 km), but located in the perfect location 200 metres from the beach. The staff were so friendly and helpful, from the cleaners to the manager. The hotel itself is so beautiful with such modern architecture, yet with a lovely homely feeling to it. The relaxing colours and decor really added to the ambiance. The cocktail bar next to the hot tub / pool really helped too. :-) I would highly recommend the hotel that made our honeymoon magical and will stay in our memories for ever.
Thanks, Eoin & Daniela fromIreland

  • Liked — Staff & Friendliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We went to Mykonos not expecting much in the way of hospitality, but more for the beaches and the lack of hospitality was something we decided to sacrifice going to a beach/party place like Mykonos. We got a good deal through a website and we decided to take it since it is a 5 star hotel. Still we didn't expect much... but let's just say we were pleasently surprised... the warm hospitality was great, the food was amazing (i'm getting hungry just thinking about it right now), the location was great as it was really close to the beach and port (which takes you to all beaches) and quite simply i really felt welcome with the right balance of privacy! The great about the Palladium was the fact that Mykonos was all about the partying and having a place like Palladium to go to at the end of the night was very much needed!

I highly recommend Palladium for anyone staying in Mykonos!

Ramzi Ghurani

  • Liked — The whole ambience
  • Disliked — the bath tub needs some work
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

We had a great time at this place; the stuff was really nice and helpful. Rooms are not luxurious, but cozy and with nice view to the sea or swimming pool; with private bathrooms and very clean. The place is not in the middle of the noizy city, but still just 10 min walk to the beach. everything is close if you rent a car or motor

  • Liked — the view and the stuff
  • Disliked — no pay tv or internet available in roooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

This one's a real gem. It's hard to describe how very lovely and relaxing a place this is. It's beautifully done out - cool and calming and discreetly tasteful - and the staff are truly charming. We watched Eurovision with them in the hotel lobby and had a great time. It's pure luxury and they've really thought of everything.
We paid a little extra for a junior suite and found this well worth it, especially as it meant we had a large terrace. Ask about a terrace rather than a balcony, as the view is lovely and we found we spent plenty of time there. In fact, we spent quite a lot of time in the room, as it was so spacious and comfortable - they even have a kettle to make tea and coffee.
We didn't eat in the restaurant, as we dined down on the beach each night, but the breakfasts are amazing - everything you could ask for, from eggs and bacon to arrays of cakes and pastries.
The location of the hotel is perfect - just far enough back from the beach to be peaceful, but a short walk down there for dinner/swimming.
Just a note about the resort: this place is not cheap. It has many excellent restaurants but, with little evidence of a resident population, all are centred on tourists and restaurateurs possibly operate some sort of cartel, as there is little variation in price. Three of us spent between 55 and 65 Euros each time, and that's including only one single alcoholic drink each time (I was with my children). As a single parent, this stretched my budget, especially with the current exchange rate, and there was only one place we found where we could get a cheapish snack lunch. However, the location of the restaurants, right slap bang on the beach, is stunning, and that's certainly worth a few extra Euros. Also, the restaurant staff were exceptionally friendly and nice.
From what I could see, there is no better hotel in Plati Gialos. You won't want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

I couldn't imagine that a sevice like Palladiums' even exists!
The rm was perfect and the people there were so polite and helpfull.
The price was 330euros per night and was really great value for
suite like that (3pax) and being in Mykonos.
Although I'm very hard to please,these people there(all of them,
including the owner)make me beleive that there is service perfection in hotels!
I'm telling you:just go for it!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — sea view
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Palladium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palladium

Address: Platys Gialos Beach, Platys Gialos 84600, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Platys Gialos
#1 Spa Hotel in Platys Gialos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
#4 Family Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palladium 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Palladium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palladium Hotel Platys Gialos
Hotel Palladium Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palladium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.