We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palladium

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palladium to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palladium
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platys Gialos Beach, Platys Gialos 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 23 hotels in Platys Gialos
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The welcoming nature of the staff and the willingness to help was superb. This was genuine and spontaneous without the false "have a nice day" approach at some hotels we've encountered. We had a sea view room which we would recommend. The breakfasts were generous and of high quality. The room was clean with a huge bed and the en suite bathroom was satisfactory without being too small.
Clean towels twice a day were well received. This stopped 2 days before leaving but i'm not sure why.
We ate in the hotel restaurant on one night and it was first rate. We went into Mykonos for 2 nights to eat (taxi ride 10minutes) which we enjoyed. The narrow streets and shops were interesting.
The hill to the beach was steep but only 5 minutes away. The beach side restaurants were very good.
All in all a relaxing 7 day break and yes, we would go back again!

Room Tip: Sea view were best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    329
    56
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
61
238
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

a dirty stain on our honeymoon....

We had high expectations of the palladium having chosen this as the most expensive 3 nights of our honeymoon in the Mediterranean. We splashed out on a room with a private pool at around €400 per night.

It started well, convenient pre-arranged pick up from the port for our mid-afternoon arrival, friendly porter welcoming us to reception, immaculate reception area. That's as good as it got....

Frustratingly, we were told on arrival (mid afternoon) that our room still hadn't been vacated and so we had a wait to get to our room. Quite rightly, to mitigate the inconvenience we were offered a free late lunch at the restaurant. Our food was ok but to be honest we weren't that hungry and just wanted to get to the room so when we were told the room was ready we asked for my orange juice to be brought to the room, no problem but the 'on the house' drink became charged for once it was brought to the room.

When we arrived at the room we realised that the Internet promo shots had been skilfully crafted, that light airy room with the four poster bed was dark, dingy and had a normal bed. The bathroom was small with the ventilation system being a window to the hallway. We were a little disappointed but were determined to enjoy ourselves until we noticed little by little the state of hygiene the room was left in. Used contact lenses were by left by the bed, eye lashes in the sink, what appeared to be a pubic hair in the bath and crumbs and cling film on the floor by the bed dusted off with a topping of sand on the floor.

On arrival the manager had asked us to call at all if she could help, so we did. Taking her up on her offer proved harder in practice but finally we insisted and she came to our room. She agreed the room was not acceptable apologised and said that she would have to call the cleaner back to re-clean but she assured us that a greek 5* was not the same as an american 5* hotel........... On our return an hour later the cleaner was still there, apologised and explained that she had only been given 10 minutes to clean the room after the previous occupants. We told her to take her time as we thought we would take a dip in our plunge pool. Not for long, maybe we were on high alert for hygiene after seeing the room but the rickety steps and the scummy film at the edge of the pool took the edge of our ability to relax and the freezing pool was unused again.

Ok the public areas looked temping-right? Not so much. Beyond the reception the public areas were a little 'tired' and dusty.The jacuzzi smelt like a cave and had an Elastoplast/band aid on its edge; the swimming pool water was green and murky, the white lounger cushions had dirty marks where people's heads had lain and at around 4pm there were no more pool towels available despite the pool area being virtually empty.

We retuned to our room and decided we would try to leave in the morning. The management sent along some desserts as apology room service and we went to bed. A great night's sleep in a very comfortable bed gave us a positive outlook when we woke up. Maybe it wasn't so bad? Breakfast beckoned......

The cooked food was soggy there was some fresh fruit but the stand out experience was the freshly squeezed orange juice that you had to squeeze yourself. It wouldn't have been so bad if the juicing equipment did not have wet tissues clogging it where other guests had tried to stop its drips.

We had had enough. We went to see the manager and explained the other problems with the hotel. Expecting a fight to get back our non-refundable pre-paid room charge the manager admitted that if she had had our experience she would also be asking to leave. Far from reassuring us her promise to fire our cleaner was really upsetting and my wife started crying as we tried to explain that it wasn't just the state of our room but the condition of the majority of the hotel which was not good enough and if the cleaner only had 10 minutes she could not be blamed.

Helpfully, they assisted in our booking the next ferry off the island and taking us to the port. It's taken us since last August to write this review as we wanted to forget the experience of the palladium for the rest of our honeymoon.

Hopefully the hotel can learn from its mistakes and maybe our experience was isolated but for the price keep your expectations low and take some wet wipes just in case.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I, together with our 4 month old daughter (!) chose Mykonos & Hotel Palladium for the direct flights, short transfers, boutique Hotel, the nice pool & a hotel restaurant serving 'Greek' food. We got ALL of this and far, far more. This was a perfect holiday and the team at the Palladium went above & beyond to make us feel at home.

Upon arrival we were upgraded (huge benefit given the amount of baby paraphernalia), the room was large and opened out onto a pristine swimming pool which most days was largely empty - we had our selection of sun beds! Alex (Barman/pool host) was on hand with towels, drinks, food as required. The dinners in the hotel restaurant was Greek cuisine with a modern twist - Stavros & his team would serve up these lovely 5 course meals coupled with good Greek wine. Management was always at hand for any questions and would make an effort to get to know their guests.

The hotel is located up a steep hill but just a 5-10 min walk even with a buggy. A small price to pay given the views from both the restaurants and most of the rooms.

My husband and I were somewhat nervous travelling with a 4 month old, but the team at the Palladium made it a walk in the park. Efharisto!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very pretty boutique hotel located at the top of the hill about Platys Gialos. The welcoming and elegant reception area sets the tone for the hotel; you feel, and are treated, as an individual - all the staff know your name. Small enough to feel homely, large enough to offer the facilities you need.

Nothing too much trouble for the staff; Stavros, George and Thanos were fabulous!

Platys Gialos beach is very busy in the daytime (too busy for us, and we prefer naturist beaches anyway), but very chilled and relaxing for a late night drink. For a good beach, its worth taking the boat (from Playis Gialos Harbour) to Elia beach. Elia beach is very pretty, nobody minds if you're naked (ok on the Elia Suites sunloungers too) and is wonderful for swimming.

The bus into Mykonos Town is every 30 mins and pretty reliable, although it gets very busy and finishes early (the last bus back is 2am). We found Mykonos Town VERY busy (too busy) - except for the area around the old church, as its slightly more difficult to find, which means its not overwhelmed. Bar Montparnasse has excellent live music from 2230.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous stay at the Palladium. First of all it must be said that the staff are all excellent, always have time for any queries or issues (of which there were none) including advise on restaurants & beaches.
Stavros, the restaurant manager deserves special comment as he seems to be always on duty & takes great pride in his service & food. He really will 'Die like a Spartan with the coffee pot in his hand'!!!!!!!
Accommodation was excellent, we were in room 107 & I must say had a fantastic view over the bay of Platys Gialos from our balcony which was great for a sun downer or two.
I did read a comment in regard to hoards or children running a mock around the hotel, not on my watch !!! & I think it referred to the same week I was there so I don't know where that came from.
This is a first class hotel with modern facilities, views to die for, easy access to Mykonos town either by car or local bus which stops immediately outside & neither my wife or I would hesitate to return.
If I was to improve anything I would make it an adult only boutique hotel as it lends itself to that sort of clientele.

Room Tip: 107 every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

First of all I'd like to thank all the staff for their incredible and always smiling service. Since the moment we arrived till the moment we left we had an excellent service. Reception impeccable, room service so efficient, bar and breakfast great. All the facilities completely exceeded my expectations. If Mykonos' beaches and town weren't such incredible places to visit I would've stayed at the hotel pool all the time. Thank you so much for the great time we had. Definitely going back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Suite with private swimming pool and jacuzzi, it's completely worth each cent spent. Drinks at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

As party of a large group visiting Mykonos we recently stayed here.
The hotel was nice and clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful.
They dealt with any issued at hand with speed and everyone was happy.
The hotel has its own swimming pool. If you want to visit the beach you can take a sneaky shortcut via Mykonos Blu hotel! ;) and you're at the beach in no time.
Nammos Restaurant very close - you can actually walk on the beach to it.
Avli Beach Restaurant also a good choice to eat near by day or night.
We didn't have the opportunity to eat at Palladium.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palladium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palladium

Address: Platys Gialos Beach, Platys Gialos 84600, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Platys Gialos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Platys Gialos
#5 Family Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palladium 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Palladium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palladium Hotel Platys Gialos
Hotel Palladium Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palladium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.