We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sea inside!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mykonos Kosmoplaz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mykonos Kosmoplaz to your Saves list
Mykonos Kosmoplaz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platys Gialos 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Platys Gialos
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The sea inside!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We arrived with high expectations and so I was a little afraid that I would be dissapointed. However, this charming beach hotel never let us down. The rooms were clean and the view was amazing. The service surpassed our expectations and I was surprised by the eagerness of the staff to help and accommodate us in every possible way. I don't know if we were just lucky, but we surely enjoyed it. I would like to go back next year and we are already trying to figure out an itinerary that will include a few days in Mykonos. To close this review, I would like to personally thank Dimitris for his warm smile and impeccable service and the manager Argiris who offered us the best vacation of our life.

Room Tip: The rooms with seaview are the most hard to get but it is worth the effort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    29
    21
    8
    16
See reviews for
29
66
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Excellent hotel and located at stones' throw from the beach as well as the bus station to access the city center. Lots of food options at Playts Gialos beach. At noght they have greek zorbas and other entertainment activities. Very courteous and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathmandu
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We were upgraded to a sea view room as our arrival was a day late due to ferry cancellations.
The hotel is nice and clean.Dimitris the manager was very helpfully and guided us we'll.
They have locker facility in the lobby and it seems they will get wi fi in the coming yr in all the areas as right now it's available only in the lobby.
The breakfast was good and the room was clean and ok.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos_Kosmoplaz, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very happy to read your comments. Dimitris thanks you too for your kind words. We would love to have you back anytime. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poeldijk, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

The hotel is nice, maybe a bit outdated. The staff is great and the rooms are clean. There seem to be 2 taxis on the entire island of Mykonos, so the local bus is the only option next to a rental. Mykonos is a "party island" which tries to compete with Ibiza. There are 50 multi-million dollar yachts in the harbor, yet everybody acts like they own at least 3. Not my crowd, not my island!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos_Kosmoplaz, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Some people like Paris, others prefer New York. Some like Mykonos, others prefer Santorini. It would be pointless to try to change your mind, since you were clearly disappointed by the same things that fascinate others. It sounds pretty normal for a traveller who knows what he/she wants. However, we are sorry to hear that our home-island did not manage to captivate you. We only hope that you at least enjoyed our hospitality. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We stayed at Kosmoplaz hotel for a week during September/October 2014. The view (we had a beach facing room) and location of the hotel is fantastic. The first day we wanted to shower and get ready for dinner there was no hot water. We were told by the manager on duty that this is the normal temp of the water during summer and that all South Africans complained that the water was cold. The next morning we spoke to Dimitri about the temperature of the water and he turned it up. During the week that we were there it was turned down a number of times. Eventually when we started shouting about it, it was left on a decent temp. The shower above the bath is awful and sprays in every direction possible. The bath towels are threadbare and when my husband dried himself with the bath towel it actually tore in half. The breakfast is absolutely shocking and we eventually started to buy our own yoghurt at the shop next door for breakfast. The reception area is dark and very unwelcoming. This is the only area that you can use the hotels wifi and we found it rather unpleasant to sit there. The beach chairs in front of the hotel are €10 for the day and you have to order from their menu (very average food). If you walk a few steps to the next restaurant you can use their beach chairs for free but have to order from their menu. This was only a pleasure as the food and service was excellent. I would definitely not stay at kosmoplaz hotel in the future, nor would I recommend it to anyone. I'm not sure how they got to be a four star hotel but I would rate them a two star.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos_Kosmoplaz, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments about the location.
You vivid description of an incident with the bath towel sounds weird. We replace all our towels and bed sheets regularly and it is the first time we hear/read such a complaint.
The dramatic tones persist while you describe the breakfast as... "shocking" and the reception area as dark! I cannot comment about your favorite beach restaurant because this has nothing to do with our hotel. Our managers and staff has long contemplated on the response to your review which sounds biassed -the least we can say and we decided that we want to thank you for not coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

First time on Trip Advisor.....so here goes, hotel ok, we had sea view which was fantastic, Dimitris, the manager fantastic, couldn't do enough for you, friendly and informative about the area.....we had a full size fridge which was great so we could bring our drinks to the room, contrary to other peoples reviews, we had no problems taking drinks to our room.....the only problem was the sunbeds, hundreds of them, yes i saw them on the website before i booked it, but didnt actually think it would be as bad as it was, cut long story short.....the beds are not owned by the hotel, which we didnt know...and when i plonked myself on one of them, the guy was very rude and told me to get off, we didn't bother the rest of the week to get a bed, it was unbareable and then when things couldnt get any worse, a bus load turned up about 4pm, it is slightly quiter further down the beach, but not much....and all 5 local beaches were the same, so if you want peice and quiet sunbathing, this really isnt the place for you.....but again Dimitris, the manager was great......pity we won't be going back due to the sunbeds, it would be a lovely hotel with just a few beds located on the front.......my husband and i went in July, kirsty and Gary

Room Tip: Sea View fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos_Kosmoplaz, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
We loved having you with us too and we are sorry that you didn't enjoy the beach. It is true that during the peak of the season, Mykonos is bursting with people. Off season however, the oh-so-popular Platis Gialos is not as crowded and you might even find the beach with just a handful of sunbeds, reserved for the lucky ones. Since the hotel is at a stone's throw from one of the island's most fascinating beaches, we have made a special agreement with the manager of the sunbeds so that our guests enjoy some privileges: priority over the other visitors and free hours on the sunbeds. However, it is true that the sunbeds are not ours to manage.
We usually recommend to our guests who, like you, prefer peaceful and secluded beaches to hop on one of the boats departing from the beach in front of the hotel and explore the island's less visited coves. So, next time, if you enjoyed our hospitality, you might want to consider this option.
Keep travelling and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel and it was very nice. The breakfast was the nicest free breakfast of all the hotels we stayed at in Greece. The view of course was amazing and the whole boardwalk nearby was great to enjoy as well! You can get a bed at this hotel or any of the hotels really and some have deals, like eat lunch there and then get a free beach bed for the day. Just look around. The two gentlemen at the Kosmoplaz were so nice and spoke very good english, which was great for us! However the Wifi in the hotel was not very good, even in the lobby. It worked, but with technology these days they should really upgrade and try to allow wifi in all hotel rooms, that would have made this a 5 star review. Also I think in Mykanos this might be standard but we didn't enjoy the salt water shower or faucet. However, overall we loved the resort!

Room Tip: Well worth the extra money for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos_Kosmoplaz, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Mykonos and thank you for taking the time to write this review. It has been a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back next time you visit. By then, we promise a better wifi connection throughout the hotel! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mykonos Kosmoplaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Kosmoplaz

Address: Platys Gialos 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Platys Gialos
#11 Luxury Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mykonos Kosmoplaz 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mykonos Kosmoplaz is ideally located right on the beach of Platys Gialos. It has a private beach with umbrellas and sunbeds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mykonos Kosmoplaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kosmoplaz Hotel Mykonos
Mykonos Kosmoplaz Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mykonos Kosmoplaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.