We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mykonos Kosmoplaz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mykonos Kosmoplaz to your Saves list
Mykonos Kosmoplaz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platys Gialos 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Platys Gialos
West Malling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Step back in time...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed here for one night as a stop-gap and as per the earlier reviews it could do with an update. The pool 'glimpse' room was large and clean and the bed firm and comfortable but a step back in time to the 1980s with regards the decor with not much thought gone into making the room feel homely it felt more like a hostel. The reception chap was polite and multilingual but felt there were better options out there for the money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmoplaz, General Manager at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Happy New Year,

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays.
Also, for your great review.
We are looking forward to accommodate you again soon.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    29
    21
    9
    16
See reviews for
29
66
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in July (for 3 nights) last year for my honeymoon, I was so busy and sorry that I just write the review now.

I feel a bit surprised that the rating of this hotel is not so high in Tripadvisor. But from my experience, I think this hotel is actually quite good. First of all, the location of this hotel is excellent. Personally I think staying in Plati Gialos is be best choice in Mykonos. Plati Gialos is a great beach, there is also a pier there to travelled to other famous beachs including Paradise, Super Paradise, Agrari and Elia. It is very quiet in the morning and at night. It also only takes about 10 mins to travel to the busy Mykonos Town by bus.

Hotel Kosmoplaz is located in the best spot in Plati Gialos. It's right on the beach side, close to the pier and the bus stop, also close to a convenient store for you to buy drinks and bus tickets. We booked a room with pool view, if you have more budget, you can book a beach view room which i think should be very great. Every morning, we enjoy very much eating breakfast and watching the sea and the beach.

The biggest asset of Hotel Kosmoplaz is the manager Dimistris. He is very polite and helpful and he can speak fluent English. When we arrived the hotel on the first day, we arrived at around 11 am. Dimistris allowed us to check in early and brought us to walk around the hotel for a short tour to introduce all the facilities. Everyday we also asked him for many travelling tips in Mykonos. Dimistris has worked in the hotel for many years and he is very familiar with Mykonos. He even told us how to find the famous pelicans!

Yes, to be honest, I also agree some of the criticisms regarding to this hotel. I agree this is not a high end type hotel and the furniture and decoration is quite outdated. But you have to also consider the price. Mykonos is very expensive, some people think that it's even more expensive than Santorini. Many hotels charge you over 200 Euros during summer time but the facilities are not much better. I think the price charged by Kosmoplaz is really "value for money" considered its good location.

It's also true that a lot of extra services need to pay extra charge, e.g. pier transfer, use of sun chairs, use of computers. But I think a lot of hotels provide such "free" services actually charge a much higher rental. As I won't use such services everyday, I would rather the hotel charge me a lower rental and charge for the extra services.

I hope that Hotel Kosmoplaz will renovate soon, but don't increase the rate too much!

Room Tip: I stayed in a pool view room, the view is quite nice, sure beach view will be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmoplaz, General Manager at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Happy New Year,

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays.
Also, for your great review.
We are looking forward to accommodate you again soon.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed here for 2 days after moving from Hotel Acrogiali right next door. Stayed in a "pool-view" room so cannot comment on the Sea view rooms up front. Pool view should have been "pool-glimpse" as I could hardly see it from my room!
This hotel is inferior to Hotel Acrogiali in that it is more expensive for a lesser experience. Everything here is an extra cost insrtead of complimentary.... beach lounges, WiFi internet, airport transfers are all additional charges. Had a "special price" dinner in the restaurant one night and the service was very poor. Breakfasts are adequate but not great.
Other than that this hotel is quite OK and has a great locartion right on the beach., so if the above things do not spoil your experience you will enjoy it here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmoplaz, Front Office Manager at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Happy New Year,

I would like to thank you for your feedback and you time that you spend on that review.
It is really important to know our mistake and to get improve for the next time.
Also i would like to apologize for my delate to answer to this review.

First of all, you can not compare two different hotel because every hotel offer you different things. Our hotel has swimming-pool, private beach, two different restaurants, one beach bar, Jacuzzi, sauna and fitness room.The other hotel does not offer any of the above facilities. Please tell me now how could you expect this two hotel with completely different facilities to sell the same room price?

Thank you very much for your time.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

very nice, clean and friendly. room was large, but bed spreads and curtains were extremely outdated.
Wireless connection but NOT free. beach is crowded, but very nice small beach coves nearby in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmoplaz, General Manager at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Happy New Year,

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays.
Also, for your great review.
We are looking forward to accommodate you again soon.
From last year we have changed already our profile of the hotel and we have done a completely huge renovation at the hotel.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

This hotel is definitely NOT a 4 star hotel. It was more like a 2 star Motel 6, but with a nice view of the beach. We booked one of the "nicer" rooms with the sea view and were greatly disappointed with even the basic accommodations such as the beds. Their idea of a double bed is to take two twin-sized beds and push them together. The mattresses were horrid -- both my husband and I woke up after the first night with terrible back and neck pains. It was so uncomfortable that we asked to leave and were forced to pay the cancellation fee -- what a ripoff! My husband has scoliosis and had trouble walking after sleeping there the first night. We talked to the manager and he took absolutely no pity on our situation and still charged us a cancellation fee!

Other problems:
1. You have to pay extra for using beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, internet, phone to call a cab
2. You are not allowed to bring any food or drink into the room, so the mini-fridge is pointless except to pay for their overpriced stuff
3. The hot tub is not a hot tub -- it is kept the same temperature as the pool
4. You have to pay extra to use the gym and sauna. This is a no-frills "hotel".
5. Very little privacy -- the maid barged in our room while we were sleeping

This place is a rip-off and should be AVOIDED!!! BUYER BEWARE!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmoplaz, Public Relations Manager at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Happy New Year’s 2014,

I would like to thank you for writing a review for our hotel. For us it was a big chance.

With your review finally we had the chance to make a big renovation at the hotel.

We changed completely the profile of our hotel and we did some big improvements regarding the problems we had.

You could see our new image with all the improvements we made for Hotel Kosmoplaz at the end of February. You can visit our website which still remains the same www.hotelkosmoplaz.gr.


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at Kosmoplaz this pas June and it was a great hotel. The rooms were a little old and air conditioning not very powerful however couldn’t ask for a better location. Right on the beach (a very busy beach) 2 minute walk from the taxi boats and 2 minute walk from the bus. The taxi boats will take you to Paradise, Super Paradise, Elia, etc. and the bus ride is 10 minutes to Mykonos town.

Aside from that the hotel staff was very nice and friendly. Dimistris, the manager is polite and fluent in English, Spanish, Italian and understands a little French. Don't get offended if he speaks to you like a 5 year old, he speaks to all gests this way and means well.

If you don’t expect too much from a hotel breakfast you will find what you need; eggs, sausage, croissants, fruits, vegetables etc. (small buffet) you can enjoy your breakfast on the restaurant terrace right on the beach. The diner is ok, better places in town however it’s nice to enjoy diner on the beach.

We had a great time at Kosmoplaz and recommend the hotel. Don’t expect high-end hotel however we found it was good for the price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmoplaz, General Manager at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Happy New Year,

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays.
Also, for your great review.
We are looking forward to accommodate you again soon.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Kosmoplaz Sept 2010... After several times at Plati Yialos beach.. I decided to stay at a different hotel. I am so happy I made this choice.. The hotel is located in the center Plati Yialos which is ideal and right on one of the best beaches Mykonos has to offer! The rooms were very clean and comfortable and away from the noise of Mykonos town. The service was excellent and the staff made every effort to make me comfortable.. I will be returning again this year... and recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmoplaz, Front Office Manager at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Happy New Year,

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays.
Also, for your great review.
We are looking forward to accommodate you again soon.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mykonos Kosmoplaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Kosmoplaz

Address: Platys Gialos 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Platys Gialos
#11 Luxury Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mykonos Kosmoplaz 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mykonos Kosmoplaz is ideally located right on the beach of Platys Gialos. It has a private beach with umbrellas and sunbeds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Mykonos Kosmoplaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kosmoplaz Hotel Mykonos
Mykonos Kosmoplaz Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mykonos Kosmoplaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.