We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, fantastic location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mykonos Kosmoplaz

Save Saved
You added Mykonos Kosmoplaz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mykonos Kosmoplaz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platys Gialos 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 hotels in Platys Gialos
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, fantastic location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at Kosmoplaz this pas June and it was a great hotel. The rooms were a little old and air conditioning not very powerful however couldn’t ask for a better location. Right on the beach (a very busy beach) 2 minute walk from the taxi boats and 2 minute walk from the bus. The taxi boats will take you to Paradise, Super Paradise, Elia, etc. and the bus ride is 10 minutes to Mykonos town.

Aside from that the hotel staff was very nice and friendly. Dimistris, the manager is polite and fluent in English, Spanish, Italian and understands a little French. Don't get offended if he speaks to you like a 5 year old, he speaks to all gests this way and means well.

If you don’t expect too much from a hotel breakfast you will find what you need; eggs, sausage, croissants, fruits, vegetables etc. (small buffet) you can enjoy your breakfast on the restaurant terrace right on the beach. The diner is ok, better places in town however it’s nice to enjoy diner on the beach.

We had a great time at Kosmoplaz and recommend the hotel. Don’t expect high-end hotel however we found it was good for the price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmoplaz, General Manager at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Happy New Year,

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays.
Also, for your great review.
We are looking forward to accommodate you again soon.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    22
    16
    7
    12
See reviews for
26
48
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Kosmoplaz Sept 2010... After several times at Plati Yialos beach.. I decided to stay at a different hotel. I am so happy I made this choice.. The hotel is located in the center Plati Yialos which is ideal and right on one of the best beaches Mykonos has to offer! The rooms were very clean and comfortable and away from the noise of Mykonos town. The service was excellent and the staff made every effort to make me comfortable.. I will be returning again this year... and recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmoplaz, Front Office Manager at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Happy New Year,

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays.
Also, for your great review.
We are looking forward to accommodate you again soon.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

The hotel restaurant sits right on the beach front so is a beautiful dining setting any time of the day.The location was excellent and close to public transport. The rooms are spacious,would definitely recommend this Hotel if you are traveling with a family in Mykonos!!
The staff are absolutely amazing! Dimitri, the manager, made us feel very welcome.Overall super place to spend your Holiday!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmoplaz, General Manager at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Happy New Year,

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays.
Also, for your great review.
We are looking forward to accommodate you again soon.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Can't say anything bad about the hotel itself but the staff were really rude once you asked them anything they did't like. They suck you into eating at their restaurant by offering you 8 euro refund on your beach chair if you eat at their restaurant. We took up the offer and then lived to regret it. Not only was the food overpriced and small but when we questioned them about being charged for the bread we didn't order they told us that we had to pay for it no matter what and that's how they do things there. They manager was extremely rude and didn't budge no matter what we said. Every other restaurant in Mykonos and Greece had free bread or no bread if you didn't order it.Beware they are liars.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ch
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

we choosed the restaurant of the hotel for dinner. the prices for the food where really high. after asking for the bill we saw some extra costs for really small bread and dips. we asked the service personal regarding the rason for it. it ended with a hard and loud disscusion with the boss. he said that we have to pay for it and he will offer us a sambuca but never got it. after paying the bill the service personal ignored us completely and gave us no answer about our questions. we left the restaurant afterwards because it didn't made sense for more useless discussion.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

When we arrived the room we booked sleeping 3 adults was small with 2 single beds and a foldout bed as the 3rd all squashed together as one. The view from the rooms balcony however was amazing. the restaurant downstairs had great food but was a little on the pricey side. the included breakfast had a good selection, so try and fill up then. there is a small shop next door to the hotel which sells drinks and some food at reasonable prices. The man behind the counter (Dimitri) was very helpful and informative as well as liking a good chat. The lack of free internet is pretty bad in my oppinion. you can buy pre-paid internet but for 5 euros for 90 min is a ripoff.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmoplaz, General Manager at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Happy New Year’s 2014,

I would like to thank you for writing a review for our hotel. For us it was a big chance.

With your review finally we had the chance to make a big renovation at the hotel.

We changed completely the profile of our hotel and we did some big improvements regarding the problems we had.

You could see our new image with all the improvements we made for Hotel Kosmoplaz at the end of February. You can visit our website which still remains the same www.hotelkosmoplaz.gr.


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

My friends and I ended up at the Kosmoplaz because our travel agent messed up our hotel booking, and it turned out to be the sister of our original hotel, the Acrogiali (right next door). This hotel had a better beach than the Acrogiali-it was our backyard, and it was beautiful. The restaurant on site had good seafood but you could find cheaper comparable places in town, and a few doors down there was a small market that sold liquor, beer, snacks, and other random stuff for cheap (really convenient). Note that Mykonos is really expensive so better to stock up at the mini market. If you stayed at the hotel, you were given discounted rates for the beach loungers (about 5 euros for the day), but we ended up not paying because the staff wasn't strict with the policy - get to the loungers early and you won't be charged, go during peak afternoon hours and you will be or you just won't find a spot. The rooms were basic and clean, fairly big, but not meant for more than sleeping and showering. The doors are hard to lock and there's no in-room safe, but there are lockboxes in the hotel reception. They serve a basic continental breakfast (eggs, cold cuts, Greek yogurt, coffee). The hotel is a 5 minute walk on the beach to the bus-stop, well lit, that goes into town and you can purchase bus fare at machines in town or at a small shop next to the bus stop. Town is about a 10-15 minute bus ride away and they run all night....don't try driving.

The stand-out at this hotel is Dmitrios, the fulltime receptionist, was AMAZING. He gave us a personal tour of the hotel, fixed all of our booking mixups even though it wasn't his job, explained everything we needed to know about Mykonos (food, history, parties, shops, transportation). He made our stay so easy and if we had any problems he seamlessly ironed them out.

Overall, we had a great experience here and would definitely go back based on the service, beach, and location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kosmoplaz, Front Office Manager at Mykonos Kosmoplaz, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Happy New Year,

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays.
Also, for your great review.
We are looking forward to accommodate you again soon.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mykonos Kosmoplaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Kosmoplaz

Address: Platys Gialos 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Platys Gialos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Platys Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mykonos Kosmoplaz 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mykonos Kosmoplaz is ideally located right on the beach of Platys Gialos. It has a private beach with umbrellas and sunbeds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mykonos Kosmoplaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kosmoplaz Hotel Mykonos
Mykonos Kosmoplaz Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mykonos Kosmoplaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.