We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avli Tou Thodori

Avli Tou Thodori
Platys Gialos Beach, Platys Gialos 84600, Greece
+30 2289 078100
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We've had several great experiences at Avli Tou Thodori restaurant at Platis Gialos, and in addition to the good food, the atmosphere is chilled out and stylish. The Pork fillet with potatoes, thyme, honey, and mustard was a real stand-out. The owner/manger was also very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    787
    227
    38
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“best meal of our entire holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The service was amazing here. We got a free dessert (incredible goat cheese cheesecake) and the food was very tasty. I had the moussaka which was beautiful and my husband had the vegetarian pasta and he loved it! There were quite a few restaraunt options on platys yialos beach but this is by far the top choice and I'd go back again if we had another night on mykonos.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best beachfront restaurant in Platys Gialos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The best restaurant in platys Gialos by far! Great views, amazing food and service. Ate here several times during our stay. If you eat lunch or dinner you can use the beach umbrellas and beds during the day.
Recieved complimentary dessert on several occasions and the owner is very friendly, always smiling and greeting all his guests. Yummy food (probably need to go to the gym to work it all off) but so worth every mouthful :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best food on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Ate in many places but this one caught my eye before we departed. We were not disappointed, freshest crab with a lovely yoghurt and oil dressing. Feta wih pastry and lovely mykonian honey. all washed down with fine prosecco overlooking platy gialos... our favourite beach on the island i think.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Platys Gialis by far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We made a special trip here as we'd been 2 years before on our honeymoon and LOVED it! Second visit did not disappoint. The lovely owner Thanassos remembered us and got us a great table on the front. Food is some of the best we had all holiday, amazing Kleftiko and halloumi & tomato salad. Great fish options too. The staff are fabulous, and brought us a free pudding of mini donuts and chocolate sauce. Great value too. Oh and a fantastic wine list, go for the Emphassis if you like white, or the Thalassitas. Again you are given a bottle of mastika to enjoy with the bill, its strong so don't go crazy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avli Tou Thodori also viewed

Mykonos Town, Mykonos
Mykonos, Cyclades
 
Mykonos, Cyclades
Mykonos Town, Mykonos
 

Been to Avli Tou Thodori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avli Tou Thodori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.