We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Nireas

Save Saved
You added Villa Nireas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Nireas
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Platys Gialos, Platys Gialos 84 600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a fabulous holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Having been to Greece many times and stayed in many places we feel we have to write about this one! Firstly Platys Gialos is a fantastic place. Villa Nireas exceeded every expectation. People have already commented on the quality of the apartments, the facilities and the service. All praise is accurate. The family itself is so welcoming and so concerned with making their guests' holiday as perfect as possible, we cannot thank them enough. We would recommend these apartments to everyone. We shall be going back next year. Richard, Jo, Emma and Phil, Newcastle upon Tyne, England

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent a week with Alex and his family. Like most other people, the reviews seemed almost too good to be true. As previously mentioned, Alex stopped off at the supermarket to help us get initial supplies and help us get our bearings. The apartment was spotless, not one cockroach etc in sight. Plumbing great, bedding and bath towels changed daily, apartment cleaned at the same time. Views were great, lovely to eat breakfast on the balcony overlooking the beach. Both beach and bus stop were the proverbial ten minute walk away (I timed both!). The slope up to the apartment is steep and a little slippery, but our kids (aged 6 & 5) managed without any problems. It's only the last 30 or so yards, otherwise the area is surprisingly flat. All in all a great location and an even better apartment. Can't say anymore than that. 5 star!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Villa Nireas for four nights in July, 2013, and it was fantastic. From the moment we arrived everything was perfect. The owner took us to the grocery store to stock up on snacks and beverages, then we came back to settle in. The apartment looks even better in real life than it does on the photos on Expedia (which pretty much never happens), and it's very clean. We stayed in the 2 level apartment (2 bed/2 bath). It's a short walk to the beach, and an even shorter walk to the bus station.

I'd definitely recommend this place to others, and would stay here again myself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a fabulous 2 week stay at Villa Nireas in July. We booked this holiday purely based on previous reviews on Trip Advisor, and we were certainly not disappointed. The location is fantastic, with great views over the bay from the room we had, the apartments have absolutely everything you need and are fitted to a very high standard. Alexander picked us up from the airport and took us to the local supermarket on our way back to the Villa, so that we could stock up on milk / water and all the essentials without having to worry about trailing off to find a local supermarket. He kindly offered to take us back anytime we needed to go, and insisted on carrying my shopping bags for me! The price of water, beer and food sundries was quite a bit more expensive from local shops. Maria, his lovely wife, cleaned the rooms daily, with fresh towels available. It was just like a hotel! Better still, we were treated to some wonderful home-made pastries, which were incredible. Thank you Maria! You made us feel truly welcome, and like valued guests.
Platys Gialos bay consisted of several restaurants, one of which (Avli's) was recommended to us by Alexander. We ate there several times and found the food and service were excellent. Better still, they did not have the customary greeter, harrassing you as you tried to walk by. No hint of desperation here! The beach is close by, however the vast majority of the beach is taken by 'Pay per day' sun loungers at 10/15€. Psarou beach is a good alternative, with a much larger free area. The local bus station made travelling into town quick and easy, with a set price of 1.70€ and tickets were available from the local supermarket or the driver. All in all, a very pleasant stay but made truly memorable by Alexander and Maria. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We just came back from a week at the villa nireas on saturday 20th july 13.We were a bit apprehensive about it as we booked it on a cheap website,but how wrong could we have been as it was a very very nice place to stay. When we arrived alex the owner was at the airport waiting to pick us up, he also took us back to the supermarket for some shopping . There were 3 of us staying as we had booked a 3 person apartment we expected a put up bed,, for my son but we ended up getting a 2 bed apartment enough room for 4 people, the owners told us we would have to move rooms 4 days later as a larger family were expected and we expected to be short of space, instead of putting us in a one bedroom apartment they gave us two 1 bedroom apartments, we thought this was very kind and thoughtful of them.the area is close to the sea, the beaches are excellent and there are a few small restaurants down there to eat and drink.alex and marie were very very helpful with info about the island and they were lovely people,nothing was to much trouble for them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We are sitting here on the balcony before our departure after a weeks stay, we felt that we must put into words how fabulous this apartment is, from Alexandra meeting us at the airport then taking us to the supermarket, clean apartment and towels every day and not forgetting the Raki and hot homemade cake Maria gave to us. The location is excellent 5 minutes from beach,bus stop,shops and restaurants. Whilst you are here you must try the water taxi this is an excellent way to see Mykonos from the sea. The restaurants we visited were, Notos, Avilo, both were excellent but if you eat at Notos just ask for free sunbeds for the next day, but a must visit is Axivaiol restaurant which is a 15 minute, lovely,walk around the left headland which s situated in a tiny bay, the food and service here was superb with free sunbeds on the small beach. A big thankyou to Maria and Akexandra for making our stay home from home.

Room Tip: Please note there is no pool or fitness centre but the last 50metres to the apartments will be your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 1wk at these apartments and I can honestly say it was one of the best holidays we've ever had. Villa Nireas was fantastic. I cannot fault them for anything. Location is fantastic, seaviews and a fully fitted kitchen/diner should you choose to dine in. The owners Maria and Alexander could not have been nicer, from picking you up at the airport to taking you into the local town to stock up at the supermarket (and butchers). Maria cleaned the apartment everyday and it was immaculate NOTHING was too much trouble. The bus stop is a 5minute walk from the apartments straight into Mykonos town where all the shops are and the harbour where the cruise ships come into. Honestly, we would have no hesitation in returning to Villa Nireas and would like to say very big Thank-you to Maria and Alexandra for making our stay with them so special. (Good luck for the new arrival in October !)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Nireas, Owner at Villa Nireas, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words! We keep improving our services!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Nireas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nireas

Address: Platys Gialos, Platys Gialos 84 600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Platys Gialos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty lodging in Platys Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Nireas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Nireas is a brand new with an eye catchy sea view complex consisted of two maisonettes suitable for 4 persons, one maisonette for 2 persons and two apartments for 2 persons. The Owners Zouganeli Family, invested their loving care and attention to detail aiming to synthesize traditional Cycladic architecture with modern comforts and facilities. Unique decoration of each apartment, built shower equipment according to Mycenaean architecture and the hand-made furnishings are testifying the owner’s lust and love for natural material. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Nireas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Nireas Mykonos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Nireas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.