We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superlative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poets Corner Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Poets Corner Lodge to your Saves list
Poets Corner Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   28 Poets Corner Road, Waihi RD1, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Gloucestershire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superlative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed at Poet's Corner Lodge for 4 nights at the end of our trip to New Zealand. We had just spent 5 nights on a Tall Ship, with very cramped accommodation, so to be welcomed so warmly by Marg & John, and ushered through the large double doors into the attractive courtyard, was wonderful. We had 3 of the 4 rooms, and had the place to ourselves for the first 2 nights. The rooms were beautifully decorated, with comfortable beds with good linen, and large shower rooms. For guests staying longer, a chest of drawers might have been useful.
The large lounge, with full length opening windows out onto a terrace, was a lovely, restful room, and the panoramic sea view was stunning. Music, television, a fully equipped kitchen with drinks, cookies, cheese, fruit and other snacks available. Marg and John came and served breakfast, and we chatted like old friends - they obviously love having people to stay and are truly interested. As ex-farmers they are very knowledgeable about rural life in New Zealand, so fascinating to chat to. They were full of ideas for things for us to do, and seemed slightly sorry that we mainly wanted to chill out at this point in our trip! Having said that, the walking was good, the nearby beach of Waihi is excellent - with surfing lessons on tap. Marg and John recommended some good restaurants, so we ate really well, but weren't able to sample Marg's cooking as we were there in the run up to New Year and they had family staying. It was definitely our best stay in the whole of our trip, and I thoroughly recommend it - it was a lovely place to relax and unwind at the end of a busy tour, and I am so pleased we saved the best till last.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hoofddorp
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Poets Corner Lodge was the last stay of our 14 days roundtrip over the North Island. We thought it couldn't surpass all the other nice lodges we'd stayed in, but we were wrong! What an extremely pleasant surprise when we arrived. A WOW feeling! What we saw was a beautiful lodge in a lovely setting! The lodge is seperated from the nearby house where John and Marg live! Marg gave me a very walm welcome! She and I had quite a lot of e-mail correspondence before we arrived. She always replied very quickly and gave us some very good tips. The moment Marg saw us she opened her arms and gave me a big hug as if we were long-time friends. I couldn't have felt more welcome and that feeling never disappeared. The lodge is very tastefully furnished and the guests have their own lounge and kitchen with fresh juices, fruit, cheese, tea/coffee and cake. Marg cooks breakfast for the guests there. She cooked dinner for us twice and we can recommend her cooking skills to everybody going to Poets Corner Lodge. Not only is the food great but also the company. I celebrated my birthday together with John and Marg and it was one I will never forget. Right now we are planning to stay with them again!

Mike and Joke
Netherlands

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

As far as we are concerned this must rate amongst the top three B&Bs in New Zealand. How 'Cafejardin' could only classify this place as 'very good' defies belief. If any accommodation in New Zealand warrants the classification of 'First class' this place certainly does. The hosts, Maggie & John, went out of their way to make us feel welcome, even inviting us for drinks each evening. As others have mentioned, the breakfasts were excellent and the guests lounge, kitchen and dining area was absolutely ideal if you fancied an evening in. A wonderful experience and not one to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croughton, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

Poets Corner Lodge is a wonderful find - a 4 bedroomed contemporary lodge built around a small garden and a lounge/dining/kitchen area with a terrace with a stunning view towards Waihi Beach. Rooms are nicely furnished in keeping with the lodge and we were given a warm welcome. The breakfasts comprised a good selection of buffet items and a generous sized delicious cooked breakfast - enough for all day if you can manage to eat it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

If you are looking for the best of the best B&B in New Zealand this is it. John and Maggie were wonderful hosts. You will never meet anyone friendlier and that loves running a B&B more than these two. We have travelled around the world and we always try to stay in B&B's when possible to get a feel of the local people and surroundings. We always try to stay at 4 - 5 stars B&B's and this one definitely qualifies as the best of the best.

It's a beautiful B&B where the rooms are separate from the main house. Although separate, Maggie and John seem to always be available whenever needed.

Maggie makes a wonderful gourmet breakfast, enough to last you all day. From the French toast to the Farmer's special you will be very pleased with the quality and quantity.

Back to the wonderful host and hostess. Although we only got to spend two nights there we were invited to the house for evening drinks. After some great conversation and meeting other guests John and Maggie then invited us to go to dinner with them at a nice restaurant in town for a wonderful meal where they were friends with the chef. They just made you feel like you were family.

If you have a chance to spend a night or two or even a week or two at Poet's Corner I would highly recommend it. It's a beautiful place with spectacular views and great hosts. Again, we think it's the "Best of the Best"!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beek en Donk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

After visiting family in New Zealand, we looked for a place to stay for 5 days to conclude our holiday. We were very lucky to find Poets Corner. We’ve seen a lot of nice places during our visits to New Zealand, both on the North and South Island, but Poets Corner is a unique combination of Excellent hospitality and an Excellent place to stay.

Poets Corner has a central lounge where an Excellent breakfast is served in the morning (cooked by the hosts) and where you can read a book, watch the news or just relax. The lounge has an outside deck with the most beautiful sea views we’ve ever seen. The lounge is also a great place to meet other guests.

From it’s central location you can explore the Bay of Plenty and the Coromandel. You can take a day trip to Tauranga and Mount Maunganui or up the Coromandel coast. Waihi Beach is around the corner.

John and Marg are Excellent hosts. They stand by and take care to make you’re stay comfortable and pleasant.

Some places are worth visiting. Poets Corner is worth returning to.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

A purpose built luxury four bedroom lodge with a large shared lounge/dining room/kitchen alongside the main house in an amazing setting. The kitchen is well equipped and stocked for guest use. John and Marg are charming hosts and we quickly accepted the invitation to dinner on our first night. It was a splendid meal and a most enjoyable evening. Breakfasts were lavish and beautifully cooked with fresh home baked bread every morning. We were so comfortable, it was a pity we couldn't stay longer

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poets Corner Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poets Corner Lodge

Address: 28 Poets Corner Road, Waihi RD1, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Waihi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Poets Corner Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Boutique Lodge with expansive coastal views, surrounded by native bush. Four double rooms with en-suites. Large lounge/dining with full kitchen. Gourmet breakfasts included in tariff and complimentary fresh fruit and NZ cheeses. Lodge is separate from the house so privacy assured. Dine with your hosts by arrangement or eat at one of the many local restaurants. Base yourself here to discover the Coromandel,.Rotorua. Auckland is just a 2 hour drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Poets Corner Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poets Corner Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.