We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poets Corner Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Poets Corner Lodge to your Saves list
Poets Corner Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   28 Poets Corner Road, Waihi RD1, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
norfolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed for two night's with Marg at Poet's Corner. The bedroom was well equipped, bed very comfortable with a good shower. The guest's communal area was stunning, comfortable sofas with a TV, dining area and very well equipped kitchen with a well stocked store cupboard and fridge. Bread was freshly baked every morning and Marg!s homebaked cakes were delicious! There was also an outside area for sitting with the most stunning views

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed in a small courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Poet's Corner in November, 2012.

We were provided with some great tips for exploring the area, but to be honest, the dramatic scenery and the hot-tub, fireplace, heated floors, delicious tea selections and comfy couches made it pretty hard to make it beyond the front door!

The INCREDIBLE breakfast (even made to meet my pesky dietary requirements) made us forget to eat until dinner-time.

I would absolutely recommend this place to friends and hope to return some time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is an amazing lodge, absolutely stunning value for money. The hosts Marg and John and friendly, welcoming and make you feel at home in their lodge. The setting is perfect, with a multi-million dollar view. You have to see it, no photo can truly show it.
The breakfast is great, Marg is a magician in the kitchen and there was an endless supply of home backing and fresh fruit on hand.
With only 4 rooms it is a personal touch, but there is enough space to not feel smothered. The surrounding Waihi region has great attractions to keep yourself busy with and Marg and John are very helpful in suggesting what you can fill your day in with.
A true 5/5, and a true Kiwi gem.

Room Tip: All are pretty much the same size/location etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

What a find this was! Marg and John are the perfect hosts. I am torn between wanting to encourage everyone to know this place, and keeping it for ourselves. We are already planning to return with our best friends, and to stay longer. Do not turn down the offer of breakfast. I didn't need to eat again until late evening!
The place is a little out of the way, but the instructions on getting there work perfectly.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be fine. There is even great wheelchair access in one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

John and Marg were the perfect hosts! This accommodation was by far the best during our stay in New Zealand and a perfect way to finish our holiday. The attention to details, from bed turn down, putting on soft music and the fire in the lounge area, to homemade cakes and slices being available at any time, were better than any 5 star hotel I have stayed at. It is a beautiful little drive from the gorgeous Gold Mining town of Waihi (a must to visit) but 100% worth the effort. For that romantic, peaceful and relaxing location you can not beat Poets Corner Lodge. I look forward to staying there again soon… and did I mention the breakfast!! Amazing selection to choose from. Marg is a brilliant chef!

Room Tip: All rooms looked perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

There is little to add to the other five star reviews. This purpose built BB should truly be the model for every other BB. We would return in a minute, and we plan to recommend it to all our friends.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I fully endorse recent comments. The guest rooms are comfortable and the views from the communal room are wonderful. Fridge is stocked with drinks and cheese for the peckish and thirsty. Wifi available provided it is used sensibly. Evening meal was divine. Visitors' book worth a read as guests are encouraged to write a poetic entry. Very good advice on local attractions, such as Waihi open caste gold mine (free), Waihi clifftop walk (free) and nearby 19th Century traditional gold mine with tunnels and chasms (free - take a torch). Breakfasts met full approval of my demanding French wife. Charming hosts.

Room Tip: All four rooms similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poets Corner Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poets Corner Lodge

Address: 28 Poets Corner Road, Waihi RD1, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Waihi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Poets Corner Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Boutique Lodge with expansive coastal views, surrounded by native bush. Four double rooms with en-suites. Large lounge/dining with full kitchen. Gourmet breakfasts included in tariff and complimentary fresh fruit and NZ cheeses. Lodge is separate from the house so privacy assured. Dine with your hosts by arrangement or eat at one of the many local restaurants. Base yourself here to discover the Coromandel,.Rotorua. Auckland is just a 2 hour drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Poets Corner Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poets Corner Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.