We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Start” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort

Save Saved
You added Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   15 Beach Road, Waihi 2980, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad Start”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Recently booked and paid online in advance for three nights over Queens Birthday for a Seaview 2bedroom unit with amenities (Total $615.00)
Was informed on arrival Friday night, that my reservation had not been correctly processed although it was there, but the said units had been double booked on Sat/Sun .To my annoyance I was then offered a single unit (we have 2 children ) at no discount .
I was forced to stand my ground and argue in front of my young son that :
A) We were already there first
B) Were staying longer
C) Had already paid
D) Had a confirmed reservation
E) The double booking was their problem not the paying guest!

After an uncomfortable standoff was reluctantly given keys to the furtherest back unit (punishment as the forward ones were empty) and made to feel distinctly unwelcome .

On a positive note the facilities were great ,very clean and the kids loved it !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi there,
Thanks so much for your review!
As a business and a team we pride ourselves on our customer service and we strive for perfection as we promise to give the best to every guest all the time! This time we have obviously come below yours and our expectations and we are sorry about the initial experience that you had on arrival. Our team member who served you is upset that she came across in the manner you have described as this was not her intention.
We are always looking for ways to improve and Trip Advisor is a fantastic tool for us to use to our advantage, so thank you for taking the time to write to us.
We have now corrected the problem that our new reservation system had at that stage to ensure the booking system problem never happens again.
We are pleased that your kids had a great time!
Many thanks,
Malcolm Rowe
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    36
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
77
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The coastal town of Waihi Beach hosts some of the friendliest people in New Zealand. Even the local policemen will pull you over to give directions and craft shows will offer entry fee discounts for large groups of people. In amongst it all is Waihi Beach TOP 10 Holiday Resort, a local gem that provides top quality accommodation all year round. Just a short and relaxing drive from Tauranga, Hamilton and Auckland, Waihi Beach TOP 10 Holiday Resort is located next to one of the safest surf beaches in the country. Nestled in a natural environment of trees and bush, it is an idyllic place of paradise for both the young and old. “It’s a bit of a hidden secret,” says Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort operations manager, Malcolm Rowe. However, it is a secret that travellers love to uncover and never want to leave alone. This is evident from the great number of visitors that return to the resort each year.For those people that have not stayed at a holiday resort in a while, “return”, “relax” and “revive” are the three key words that are used to invite them to this one. The invitation is genuine as Waihi Beach TOP 10 Holiday Resort has all of the necessities needed for a luxurious stay. “Gone are the days of cold showers and lumpy mattresses, holiday parks have changed! We’ve recognised that we are competing against hotels and motels so we’ve upped the game,” say owners Ian and Vicki Smith. They have definitely done their homework as Waihi Beach TOP 10 Holiday Resort has Qualmark 5-star rated facilities - including a heated 25m pool/spa, gym, sauna and excellent customer service. Although quality accommodation is essential, it is not the only aspect that is embraced by the team at Waihi Beach TOP 10 Holiday Resort. Support for the community and environment also plays a part in their day-to-day lives. Ian holds an important position in the community as Chief Fire Officer of the Waihi Beach Fire Brigade. He gives 5-6 hours of his time every week in this role. Employees at the resort are also encouraged to volunteer locally. In terms of the environment, the team at Waihi Beach TOP 10 Holiday Resort is guided by two principles: Kaitiakitanga and Manaakitanga. They have graciously taken it upon themselves to care for, protect and manage the piece of New Zealand that they call home. Visitor engagement is yet another component that gives the resort that special something. Fantastic family fun around holidays is just one of the many things that the team does to add value to their visitors’ vacations. With events such as high jump on their huge jumping pillow, pool volleyball and short film contests, the whole family can get involved. So if you are looking for accommodation over the holidays or just a weekend getaway, there is no doubt that Waihi Beach TOP 10 Holiday Resort is the place to be!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was the best park we stayed at while travelling around the North Island in a motorhome. As it was a quiet period we were able to get Site 1 and backed the van in to enjoy the view of the beach. The facilities were spotless and modern. We stayed on the beach side of the road and can imagine it would be a bit squeezy when all of the powered sites are full. The only downside was the unisex toilets and showers in the one room. My husband felt slightly uncomfortable walking into the toilet when an older Chinese lady was getting out of the shower. But apart from that, we had a great stay and hope to return at some stage.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Wow, thank you for such great feedback, we appreciate that you have named us as the best! We do very much try to offer something a little special so I am so glad you had a great time - we hope to see you back again one day!

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during school holidays. What a fantastic place. The 2 bedroom Self contained unit had all we required. The beds were very comfortable and the amenities were very clean and well presented. The pool was amazing and even though the weather wasn't that hot the boys had a wonderful time in the pool and on the water slide! Great beach and they even arranged a game of beach touch rugby on Anzac day, NZ verse rest of the world - great fun!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your response, it's great to hear the touch rugby game went down a treat, it looked like everyone had fun and that all the families got involved which was fantastic! We hope to see you back again soon - maybe for the October school holidays....!! Keep an eye out on our website for what we are up to as we have loads of exciting events coming up.

Cheers

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great place, fantastic rooms, fantastic decoration, great people at reception, amazing two pools. The only downside was the pillows, which didn't let me have a great sleep, but otherwise we were very, very impressed. Thanks so much for a fantastic stay! We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hi,

Thank you so much for those kind words, we look forward to having you back again soon. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us, and we will check out those pillows!
Cheers

Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were travelling around the north island in a camper van and stopped at Waihi Beach. We checked in for one night on a powered site but after seeing the facilities decided to stay for 2 nights. It was one of the more expensive caravan parks we stayed in on our travels but the facilities were really great (clean bathrooms, huge camp kitchen with everything you could need, dining room, BBQs, heated pool/spa, playground, jumping pillow, gym). As the mother of a 17mth old, I especially liked the toddler room and parent's bathroom which had a little bath for kids. Unfortunately during our stay there was torrential rain and Waihi Beach (including the caravan park) flooded to the point where many residents were evacuated. Our camper van was backed onto the eel stream which over flowed so we were evacuated to higher ground during the night. Due to the flooding and continual rain, we didn't get to use the awesome caravan park facilities to their full potential which was very unfortunate. I agree with one of the other reviews - the town is fairly small with not a lot of variety in shops & they were expensive so I also recommend bringing your own food & alcohol. I hope you managed to get your beautiful caravan park back to its former glory after the flooding and if we ever return to NZ, we will come in summer so that we can use the beach and the facilities in your caravan park & hopefully there won't be any rain!!! At least we had a great story to tell of our NZ trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for your feedback, the flooding is definitely worth a story or too. We are lucky we are very much back to normal now thanks to the community and staff who all pitched in with the tidy up. It sounds like this didn't dampen your enthusiasm for our place and we look forward to seeing you again sometime - in the sunshine this time perhaps!!
Cheers
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just to clarify to everyone, this is not a holiday resort. It is a caravan park!! with a few self contained units in it. Not worth $180 per night.
Nice beaches great for kids. make sure you bring enough food because the shop down the road is very expensive and not much to choose from.

Room Tip: If wanting to stay here in a self contained unit. ask for the ones with the views out to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review, we are disappointed that we could not have done more for your during your stay with us. We do think we fit the name we have given ourselves and do take pride in the facilities we have here including the heated pool and spa, gym, sauna, jumping pillow, playground, kids clubs etc and 30 units, we do apologise if you found our name misleading and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort

Address: 15 Beach Road, Waihi 2980, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty lodging in Waihi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waihi Beach TOP 10 is the kind of nostalgic place that parents dream of. Offered are a huge variety of accommodation options, and the range of activities within the extremely well equipped facilities means the kids can have a blast while you relax and unwind knowing they are safe and occupied. To find out the full extent of the Resort’s capabilities and service, contact them today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.