We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive but excellent facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   15 Beach Road, Waihi 2980, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Very expensive but excellent facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had joined Top 10 loyalty card scheme so figured we should stay at Wahii Beach.
Beautiful location directly opposite beach with good clean sand and nice safe waters
Campsite facilities were excellent with lovely pool, games room, kids room, kids play area - all very well kept and maintained.
Only issues were -
- the powered sites were on top of each other and it felt very cramped at weekend when site filled up
- The price was a massive $80 for a powered site with 2x adults, 1x child and1x infant - most expensive we stayed at but I guess you do pay for facilities and quality (we found similar quality sites for much less such as Hot Water Beach)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for giving us feedback, we do take on board your comments. Thank you for commenting that the facilites are excellent as that is what we do strive for. Our sites do differ in size with some being larger than others, but they are all large enough for a tent and a car on each site. We do hope you come and visit us again perhaps in a larger site or a more suitable area of the campground. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    39
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
83
30
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A great place to rest by the sea!!!! lovely staff!!!! We enjoyed the place, the sunset, the moon rising!!!!!!!!!! The bathrooms are clean and nice, the kitchen is huge and they also have a bbq!!!! We do not have those kind of places in Spain and we were really pleased!!!!

Room Tip: Take the campsites next (sites 1-2, and 13,14,15,16)to the beach and you will see a beautifull sunse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, it's great to hear you got to experience Waihi Beach which we think is one of the lesser known gems of NZ. We appreciate you taking the time to give feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirby Cross
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed in our campervan on the beachside of the road which was a fantastic location, only two other guests on that side, so you could watch the sunset and admire the sea throughout our time there. Twenty seconds to wander on to the beach and it was beautiful.
Great fish and chip shop just at the end of the beach, freshly caught and freshly cooked and great value for money.
Worth knowing that the facilities, on the beachside are unisex, so don't be shocked by someone of the opposite gender wandering in. If you are worried by this you can always use the main facilities on the other side of the site. Wherever you go you'll be treated to spotless and modern gear in the shower/toilet blocks and the kitchens, they've also got plenty for younger guests and an on site pool, not forgetting eel river where you can feed scores of eels if you've got any leftovers.
Great site and very friendly and welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, we do think it's a pretty special location here, and it's great to hear when other people enjoy it as much as we do! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Holiday Park never fails to impress and the pool/ facilities were spotless as always. Highly recommend this place. My 5 yr old thinks it is actually heaven!
Safe and secure with lovely reception staff to help out when needed.
Have been going there for 5 years now and it has become a little tradition within our family - great memories yet again to last a lifetime!
Thank you Siobhan O'Shea

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are pretty proud of what we have here and the fact that kids have an absolute blast. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our 1st trip to Waihi Beach & am glad we decided to stay here. We arrived a day or so after Christmas and stayed until after New Years Eve & we totally enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a cabin with 2 children aged 9 & 11 - they practically lived in the pool which gave us the opportunity to go for walks on the beach or just to sit out on the verandah & watch the kids in the pool. We found the staff to be very friendly & quite helpful with any queries we had. We did notice that the camp sites were very close to each other and spoke to the campers about this, but they seemed to have no issues about this (also a lot of them are return campers who come back every year so everybody seemed to know each other)
We found that there were a whole lot of places we could visit on a day trip which was quite handy especially when the kids want to go & visit different places - also with the township not far from the campsite it was nice to walk via the beach to go for breakfast etc
All in all we enjoyed it so much we are hoping to return again for Christmas 2013!!
Our room was serviced daily & the service ladies were always friendly & cheerful

Room Tip: If u want a view & also like quiet, book units 23/24/25 which overlooks the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, it is a bit like one big family over the Christmas and New Years period here as we have so many returning guests, and it's great that they all get to know each other and return year on year - hopefully we have been able to accommodate you for next season!?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Haven't been here for a good 3+ years - and was looking forward to coming back.

We stayed here on the weekend - I know we were staying during their peak 'summer' season - but I think $25.50 a night per person for just a campsite per person is a bit steep for what you get. The place now has lots of fancy cabins placed everywhere - and it seems like its all about the $$$.

Yeah there was a nice pool & spa, but the pool was packed with children and families & shut at 8pm (so no time to let the kids go to bed & leave the adults to it). So we didn't use this.

The facilities were good - like the Showers & Toilets were all nice & clean.

Would of given them another star - but we had a friend & her partner who were coming with us experience a death in their family - so couldn't make it. When we cancelled their booking we weren't able to get a refund on their booking but offered vouchers to come again which I thought was an OK offer but didn't show much compassion from the management of Top 10. It was a campsite, not a cabin or motel.

We still camped with a group of friends, we had a good time & had enjoy our stay, but don't think I would rush back to Waihi Beach Top 10 again.

Room Tip: We were by the beach - was nice - but lots of foot traffic which was quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we do try to strive for excellence here and it is unfortunate that you did not percieve our resort as value for money. We do think that we offer a vast range of fantastic facilities here from the heated pool, to the sauna, games room, jumping pillow, gym and family under 5's room. We have a beautiful location and try to look after our guests with friendly and welcoming customer service. We do offer an adults only swim time during our peak season from 8.30 - 9pm which you unforunately may have just missed. We would love to have you stay with us again, and if you have any further comments please do not hesitate to call us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I love Waihi beach so when our 1st wedding anniversary came along we figured we'd head down to Waihi and stay somewhere close to the beach but still nice.

On the website, the explanation states that the rooms have either views of the resort or beach and are great for a couples getaway. This couldn't be further from the truth.

The studio room has only 1 window which happens to the sliding-door/entrance which looks directly at a wall/hedge and on to the only access point used by 3 other units. This meant that people were constantly walking past with a full view of our room, unless of course we had the curtains shut leaving the room with no natural light. At one point someone even walked in through the open sliding door past the curtains in to our room, awkwardly said sorry and walked back out. Obviously I don't blame the person, but that level of privacy is completely unacceptable for a room advertised specifically for "couples seeking a bit of relaxation". Some time after the random person, we had a random maintenance worker bashing our wall for 20 minutes from a ladder that could see straight through our ensuite window. I can honestly say that I couldn't wait to get home to my little house in busy Auckland so that I could relax after a complete accommodation fail. Ultimately it ruined our 1st wedding anniversary.

The only positive was that the unit was at ~100m from the beach.

If you're a couple, avoid this place like the plague.

From a distance it did look pretty good for families, there were kids going crazy and having fun all over the place, which we as a younger married couple had no problem with.

Room Tip: For the price, you can find a lot better in Waihi. There are several B&Bs but don't leave it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hi there, we apologize for the experience that you had us as we aim to exceed expectations and obviously the unit location and the description on our website has fallen short of this. We are currently upgrading our website and we will look carefully at the way we describe this unit so the expectation of the room, the view and the privacy is in line with the product.
We really hope that you would consider coming back and staying again so feel free to call us so we can fully describe our range of units, their privacy, location and views with you so you are not disappointed. We wish you all the best and we are sorry that you didn’t have a great anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort

Address: 15 Beach Road, Waihi 2980, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Waihi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waihi Beach TOP 10 is the kind of nostalgic place that parents dream of. Offered are a huge variety of accommodation options, and the range of activities within the extremely well equipped facilities means the kids can have a blast while you relax and unwind knowing they are safe and occupied. To find out the full extent of the Resort’s capabilities and service, contact them today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.