We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for Rail Traillers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikino Station Cafe

Waikino Station Cafe
33 Cadman Street | State H/Way 2 Waikino, Waihi, New Zealand
(07) 863 8640
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Waihi
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great spot for Rail Traillers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We recently rode the Hauraki Rail Trail over two days and we stopped in at the Waikino Station cafe for coffee and a snack on both days. It's a great little cafe in the old railway station, which is a bit different. The coffee is great, so is the food - some really tasty baking on offer. It's only a short detour off the Rail Trail, across a bridge over the river and through a short tunnel under the road, which all adds to the event. Highy recommended for rail traillers or passing traffic.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BEST CAFE AT THE GORGE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Easy parking, friendly staff, fresh tasty food and a holiday atmosphere make this our favourite place to have lunch when visiting Karangape Gorge. We regularly go walking at 'the gorge' with our small furry friend - and having somewhere welcoming and be able to enjoy the total experience is very important to us.
It is such a treat to finish the journey with lunch at the Waikino Station Cafe.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best steak burger I can remember.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a delightful stop. Plenty of great choices in a quaint old fashioned cafe. Didn't have to wait long for the food. The coffee delicious and hot. However no one likes to get runny egg yolk all over their face and down their shirt when they bite into a burger!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane-nz
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good choice to suit different tastes.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We met our son and two grandchildren for a 'swap' of children for the school holidays, as we know we can get food they like and also to our tastes. We were disappointed to find their alcohol license had lapsed so no wine or beer today, though they assured us it was temporary. (Sounds like poor management to me!) I was rather disappointed as I think they have let their standards slip a bit. The food was 'ordinary' and my quiche was smothered in chutney which I didn't want so they took it back and scraped it off! All our meals had big dollops of sauce or chutney which cheapened them. It obviously was a busy day as the new cycle track had just opened through the gorge; some staff may not have been very familiar with usual practises.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Appears to be a tourist trap, but the food is quite enjoyable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

My partner raved about the pancakes she had, said they were perfect.
Very thin on the ground for vegetarian options. But sweetcorn fritters I had were pretty good.
Yes it's overpriced and gloomy, but they have kept the station in tact, and the food is high quality and generously portioned, so we felt pretty happy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waikino Station Cafe also viewed

 
Waihi, Waikato Region
 

Been to Waikino Station Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikino Station Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.