We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karangahake Gorge

Karangahake Gorge
State Highway 2 between Paeroa and Waihi, Waihi, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Waihi
Type: Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a great drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Exellent little winnery,cafes walks and early mining history

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    35
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful gorge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Good cafe across the road but dangerous to cross this road.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katikati, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really good place to go and walk or bike.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We spent a morning walking along the river. It is a very easy walk so good for families and people who are not overly fit. You could ride a bike or push a stroller a long the path easily. My husband tried trout fishing in the river but with no results. Nice swimming whole just before the tunnel and interesting historically.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stunning Place to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Wonderful place! If it wasn't half way around the planet I'd go there again tomorrow. I'd met the retired regional director of the Dept of Conservation in a forest up north and asked him where was the best place, in his view, for me to go and paint. He thought about it for some time before telling me about this gorge. I found it some weeks later and was knocked out by it. Don't be put off by the road and parking, you soon lose the cars, noise and crowds as you head up the gorge. My painting is on my website at sandrarowney dot com if you are interested in the result. I was takenmy the lush greens, the red outcrops of rock and the tumbling water below. Beautiful and with such an interesting history too.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Despite the windy road that takes you through this Gorge, the scenery and walks are well worth it. The Gorge is not long and the roads are easily negotiated. You really should stop at the information centre towards the Northern end of the Gorge to get some history on the gold mining in the area and there are a number of historic walks that you can take varying in length from 20 mins to a few hours. They take you through countryside that was well mined in the 1900's and is full of old buildings and workings from that time. If you are not in to walking the tracks then this is still a wonderful place to sit by the river and have a relaxing lunch. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karangahake Gorge also viewed

Waihi, Waikato Region
North Island, New Zealand
 

Been to Karangahake Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karangahake Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.