We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have to try the porch breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Porch Kitchen & Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Porch Kitchen & Bar
23 Wilson Rd, Waihi 3611, New Zealand
0064-7-863-1330
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 18 restaurants in Waihi
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Have to try the porch breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Went for breakfast food was great. Just the right amount. Need to clear tables a bit faster.

Great coffee.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    15
    11
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Porch Best meal in NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Thank you to the people at The Porch. We arrived into this little seaside village after dark feeling like a really good meal to top off a really great day. By chance we walked into the Porch and was greeted by a really nice lady. We chatted for a while and decided to stay for dinner. I can honestly say we were so impressed, and ended up ordering all 3 course's. Every bight was delicious. I can highly recommend the restaurant, the service, the food. All first class.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Another wonderful time was recently spent at The Porch, in picturesque Waihi Beach.

Chef was very obliging and still offered the Breakfast Menu, even though it was well into lunchtime. Home made Baked Beans are not too rich, not too spicey, but just right.

For those in the group that did choose from the lunch menu, the Fish & Chips - pan-fried tarakihi and the Steak Sandwich were cooked to perfection.

Every effort was made to cater to the two smaller people at our table and we were told that the Hot Cakes were "great" and the Bacon & Eggs "really good".

While we waited we sipped very good coffees & hot chocolates.

We'll be back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Favourite1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Whenever we are at Waihi Beach we always eat here. Great menu & fantastic staff. The new winter menu is excellent. Very flexible with menu for any dietary requirement. Also has a great bar if you just fancy a drink.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed with very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Courteous, helpful and knowledgeable staff made our visit (the latest of many over the years) made this a very relaxing and pleasant experience. From the beginning with a warm welcome we felt at home. Our food was delicious and attractively presented. The menu provided quite a wide range of options and there was the possibility of "mixing and matching" to meet dietary or taste predilections. There was a good range of wine available by the glass. Overall, an experience which reinforced our previous experiences and makes us look forward to the next time we are there.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Porch Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to The Porch Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Porch Kitchen & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.