We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Apartmentos Playa Sol I

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Apartmentos Playa Sol I to your Saves list
Apartmentos Playa Sol I
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Carlos Roman Ferrer 30, 07800 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Union, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Where do I begin, Let me start by saying that we are all in our 20s and are in Ibiza to have a good time, but this by far was the worst hotel experience we have ever had. While in a decent area, it is nothing more then a DORMITORY. If you have never stayed in a dorm let me enlighten you. There is noise at all times of the day, people roaming the halls while yelling or singing at the top of there lungs. Doors slam all day, and it doesn't matter if you are on the first floor, you will hear doors slam all the way from the 4th floor. Rooms are dirty, not well kept. My roommate woke up scratching himself to death fearing bed bugs! After the first room in Playa II where our toilet was not fastened to the ground, which caused leeks, we were moved to another room in Playa I which seemed promising, but after a little inspection noticed ketchup on the ceiling and mosquitos everywhere. If a maid cannot see ketchup all over the ceiling, what else could they possibly miss or just not give a [--] about. Price point of this hotel is similar to what you can find somewhere IN AREA. We moved to Mar Y Playa which was a 5-minute walk form Playa but night and day. DO NOT STAY AT PLAYA DUMP SOL. ABSOLUTEY GARBAGE. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    13
    11
    14
See reviews for
3
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

A basic hotel, our room was cleaned everyday with fresh linen and towels. The staff aren't really about your just left to your own devices. There was no telephone, the cooker didn't work and the remote control for the tv didn't work. But its a good hotel for a party holiday, the location is good about 10/15 minutes walk from fast food restaurants and very close to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were lucky with our appartment it was very clean everything worked a slight prob with air conditioning but someone was sent up to fix it straight away also short of towels and plates cups e.t.c. my friends weren't so lucky but management was helpful enough. we had to share one key between 3 of us which was very practical although it felt safe the first night it rapidly went down hill but at least some of the security staff made you feel a little bit safe. It was very loud so if your after a little bit of sleep then this is definitly not the place but it was close to everything and we had the use of the pool in there hotel across the road. i wouldn't stay again although i would reccomend it too younger people, and i would stay in there hotel if there is a next time

Room Tip: all rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I've just returned from Playa Sol 1 with no weight luggage issues as we were "done" the first night. They say location, location, location! well the first morning was spent up the police station which was only a 10 min walk away so that's a plus!
Reception and management showed little interest in our problem.
Room was small and could have done with a refurbishment, over-paid compared to other similar rooms I've had for the money elsewhere.
Never to return.

Room Tip: Get a room with a safe in it, they have safety boxes over the other side in Playa Sol 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Well, where do we start. I have never written a review before, suppose I have always been lucky with my choice of holidays in the past and have never needed to complain. But this place, well lets just say that you learn by your mistakes.
On arrival - No hot water, leaking fridge, no cups, not enough cutlery and two electric hobs that took ages just to boil a kettle.
The first night we were burgled, having Ipods,cameras and designer sunglasses stolen while we were out, lucky that we had the sense to use the security box to leave our wallets , money and credit cards etc. No sign of a forced entry, so I guess someone had a key! The hotel staff did not seem too bothered. We reported to the police who informed us that it was a regular occurance.
Even towels were stolen from our balcony. So be warned !
Some positives - Good location ( between Cala Den Bossa and Ibiza Town) apartment was clean and sheets and towels changed regulary.
After the bad experiance of our first day, our holiday was fine, we did not spend much time in the appartment other than to sleep. Things were a bit noisy and rowdy around the pool during the day, so we gave it a miss and went to the beach.
To conclude, well lets just I will not be returning.
Steve P

Room Tip: Avoid room 109 and other ground floor rooms along that side of the appartment block. High security r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Less opinion here, more facts. I stayed here after the nearby Luxmar was full. Ultimately Playa Sol is in a better location but is not quite as good as Luxmar, although really there's not a whole lot in it.

There are two hotels here really, Playa Sol I and Playa Sol II. Opposite sides of the road. Both are pretty much exactly what you'd want if you expect to spend your days out / on the beach and your nights in the clubs. It's really not a place you'll want to spend too much time chilling at, pretty much because it's full of people who are either just coming home or getting ready to go out. Expect people to bring sound equipment, and expect people to use it!

Both I and II have pools, one reception serves both hotels 24/7, the cleaners do their job and security makes the noisy folk put a sock in it when they are loud too late into the night. In terms of the rooms, they are clean but basic, you get what you pay for here and essentially you are paying for a crash pad. You'll get a fridge, a kitchenette and a table, if your room has a separate bedroom you'll get a sofabed thing too. All in all, totally reasonable for the price.

In terms of local amenities, it is perfectly easy to walk to Sankeys, Space, Playa d'En Bossa and Ibiza Town from here, there's a couple of cash points and supermarkets close by as well as an abundance of bars. The beach is also literally just down the road. Taxi's to Ibiza town will set you back about 7 euros and if you head over to San Antonio in a cab you're looking at about 30 euros.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Small apartment, fairly basic and in need of some TLC to repair a few things like broken tiles but had everything you needed for a clubbing trip to Ibiza. Pretty typical furnishings - two single beds in the bedroom and a sofa bed in the main area. Tiny bathroom (not even room for the standard bidet!) fixed showerhead that could do with a bit of a descale but it did the job, certainly no lack of hot water at any time. It's also fresh water - some of the local hotels and apartments have salt water plumbing for the bathrooms. Unexpected bonus was that our room had aircon but the balcony door must be shut for it to work - we spent a good 20 mins trying to turn it on before we realised!

Kitchen area only had two rings (no microwave), a fridge and a sink and basic crockery etc. Wouldn't have wanted to do any cooking but then that's not why we went! Had a TV as well which was a bonus but never ever switched it on so don't know if there were any English speaking channels available.

Balcony was massive and we had a great view as we were on the top floor at one end of the U shape. Because of the shape, not all the balconies will see sun but it seemed most got either the morning or evening rays. Apartment cleaned and towels changed everyday which was nice and couldn't fault the staff - all very friendly and helpful. Note that you check in / out at the Playa Sol II just across the road, you also leave the key there when going out and it's open 24 hours. The Playa Sol I has 24 hour security on duty and you get a wrist band you need to show when coming in.

Pool area is tiny and has no bar or food available but you can use the pools of the Jabeque Hotel and Playa Sol II on the opposite side of the road which are beautiful, right on the sea front / beach with sea views to match and a bar / snack bar and even four poster beds (!)

Note though - it's full of younger people and there is music on loudly pretty much all the time (they are very strict about it not being between midnight and about 8am though, so it's possible to sleep if you like that kind of thing!). Hardly seemed to be any English people there at all, seems very popular with Spanish, Germans and Italians but has a nice laid back European atmosphere rather than the rowdy Brits abroad type.

Because of this and the fact the apartments are small and basic, would not recommend for families at all. There are lifts (2) but they are tiny - not much room for more than 4 people.

Figueretas itself is loverly, much quieter and more laid back than Playa Den Bossa itself which in turn is much quieter than San An. Plenty of shops nearby - some lovely bars and restaurants about 10 mins walk up road and if you carry on round the bay you get to Ibiza Town in about 30 mins. 10 minutes the other way is PdB itself with Space and Bora Bora. Handy for Privilege (about 15€ taxi ride). Only downside is being a 20 min / 25€ taxi from San Antonio and the joys of Mambo, Cafe Del Mar, etc. Not sure I would stay again as we booked last minute and this was the cheapest option, having been in the Jabeque itself where friends stayed, I think I would have prefered to book earlier and get that cheaper but certainly no complaints.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms (5th) will get guaranteed sun in the morning or afternoon but the lower you are, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartmentos Playa Sol I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartmentos Playa Sol I

Address: C/ Carlos Roman Ferrer 30, 07800 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Apartmentos Playa Sol I 1*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartmentos Playa Sol I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartmentos Playa Sol i Hotel Playa d`En Bossa
Apartmentos Playa Sol I Ibiza/Playa D'en Bossa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartmentos Playa Sol I, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.