We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Murtra 5, 07817 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Essex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

So many positives about this hotel.

Excellent food in beach restaurant

Great spa

Buffet dinner has a good variety and is good value

Relaxing pool area and right on the beach

Communal areas have been refurbished to a high standard-Impressive

Rooms are not modern enough for my tastes however they are large and the shower is nice and powerful

Friendly reception and check-in, although could have provided more info regarding spa, room safes and towels

Free wifi throughout

I don't really have any major negatives for Garbi to be honest - It's in a good location in Playa den bossa close to everything and does everything it should do for a 4 star hotel.

Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    259
    68
    29
    19
See reviews for
44
326
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed with a group of friends at the Hotel Garbi and we all had a wonderful time there for 99.9% of the time. Check in was swift, you pay up front, staff all seemed nice, rooms were good and we had a lovely view, rooms are cleaned daily which was excellent, free WIFI which works well. Pool is lovely and the CHILL bar/cafe sells very lovely food for lunch. Breakfast runs between 8-10.30am which is a good time and has an OK selection of food. Not the greatest, not the worst ever. We didn't make it often anyway! ;) and you can get sun beds so long as you put your towel down before 10am, if not, the beach if right there. Overall, excellent.

The one flaw that really left a bad taste in the mouth was this - you pay €20 deposit for your beach towel. Fair dues, without doing so, they may walk. But when we handed ours back, the man on front desk (older guy, tall with white-ish curly hair) refused to give us our deposit back without us handing back a piece of white paper as well. We had not received any piece of paper when we gave them our deposits. They had both a white and yellow slip which said on it 'direct' in Spanish, meaning we had paid them cash / directly - so someone had just pocketed our money. If you had paid the deposit with a card it said 'sans something' and they had a credit card slip instead. Anyway...it was really shocking. Surely the main thing was that we were handing back the towels, not a silly piece of paper, otherwise we wouldn't have been given the towels in the first place. Clearly they had mislaid our money so after much of a hoo-ha at the front desk, the guy eventually backed down and said, ok, I will 'gift' you the money back. It wasn't a gift, it was ours in the first place matey! So just be warned please, I don't want that happening to anyone else. Other than that, it is a nice hotel. So sad this soured our experience.

Room Tip: Higher rooms will have a better view. Most have good pool and sea views, but ask to ensure of this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time you take to communicate your experience. We highly appreciate our customer´s feedback.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused at the reception. We will inform the reception manager about it to ensure that it does not happen again.
We hope to seeing you again
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Garbi is a great hotel in great location. Spacious rooms and lovely pool area. You needed to be at pool by about 10am though to get a bed. Breakfast was lovely especially freshly made omelettes. Nice and quiet at night, I was not wakened by noisy residents at all. Only 10 mins from airport. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Great place to stay if you want nice quality and somewhere to escape from the usual Ibiza madness (which is on your doorstep if that's what you want too!)

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

we stayed there last year, at the end of October, just before the hotel was closing for winter. We had very nice room, sea view, with a swimming pool view. Breakfast and dinner was very good, there was lots of choice. Reception staff was very friendly, even let us stay a bit longer, because we had evening flight, and we had baby with us (infant), so we could use our room longer. Room was tidy. Excellent

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Ok so let me start with some pointers:

You should know you need to pay something for a safe deposit but the way the Garbi runs is €4 a night and €15 upfront as a deposit. You get your €15 back when you hand the key back. Also you need €20 deposit for towel and again you get back when you hand in your towel, you can change your towel daliy at reception anytime too.

I saw people on their first day queuing up for the drinks machine at dinner, dinner unfortunately (if you never knew) you have to pay for drinks. Breakfast from 8-10.20am includes drinks, cooked and continental breakfast - lovely! Dinner 7-11pm great dinner but you have to pay for drinks, also great times if you're heading out late.

I would not recommend this hotel if you have a young family as no animation team or major kiddy stuff to do. That’s where they get this hotel right, as in a nice chill out hotel from a well-deserved night out for older residents. No oversized loud groups, all well behaved and quiet when you get back at night. They have good security too so everyone behaves inside and outside! :o)

The rooms are cleaned and they change the sheets, pillow cases on a daily basis which is nice to know. Twin beds (everywhere nearly in Spain is) but can make up as a double bed if you ask them.

Location is perfect as only €10 away from airport and 7 minutes’ walk into town whether a long beach or on the roads.

Hotel DJ comes out between 3 - 6/7pm and he puts on a bossa chilled mixed mash up tunes. If you like you can buy off him for €10 each disc.

I would definitely come back here to stay as you know what you're getting!

One last key point is with this hotel, as a resident you automatically receive free WiFi which is fast and works too! :0)

If you have any questions please ask any questions.

I hope this has been of some help.

Steve

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view balcony room, preferably close to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week and the staff and amenities were very good. Its a 5 minute cab ride from the airport, 10 minutes to downtown Ibiza, and you are right on the beach. The rooms are very clean and modern, especially if you book a suite. It was really great to have a balcony in the evening to sit, drink, and relax before a night out. Check in was very smooth and the food is pretty good.

My biggest complaint is that the spa and gym are small. The indoor sauna/jacuzzi is nice, but the weight room/cardio is ridiculously small, inconvenient, and it really shouldn't even be called a gym. Also, the spa rooms are right off the weight room which makes it impossible to have a relaxing massage in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our second stay at Hotel Garbi after visiting for our honeymoon in 2010. The location is ideal, central to all the local nightspots (Space, Sankeys, Ushuaia) however it is chilled enough during the day that you can sleep by the pool! Amazing boutique hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa

Address: Calle Murtra 5, 07817 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garbi Ibiza Playa d`En Bossa
Hotel Garbi Ibiza And Spa
Aparthotel Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa Playa D'en Bossa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garbi Ibiza & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.