We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish Senior Club Paradise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mare Nostrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mare Nostrum to your Saves list
Hotel Mare Nostrum
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Pedro Matutes Noguera | s/n, 07800 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Argyll, Scotland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spanish Senior Club Paradise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2006

Better than expected but expensive because of Easter Holiday timing. Room clean and as expected for 2 star. Staff above average. Mostly Spanish Senior citizens on annual free holiday so food was mostly Spanish and to our taste for the most part. Some Btits complained about the food not being British but we think they do not accept change readily.Room TV could have been better, CNN poor reception, BBC World OK, no other choice.
Wardrobe not suitable for small folks if they want to use the hangers without using a chair. Bath not suitable for big folks over 5 foot tall.
Some rooms will be exposed to noise late at night if near dance area and the lift due late night good bye sessions in the corridors.
We enjoyed our stay and made friends with some Spanish people.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    318
    219
    95
    108
See reviews for
70
256
45
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2006

Went here for long weekend with Globespan here is my honest opion about the hotel pool area great, hotel spotlessly clean, rooms good bathrooms clean, walls paper thin you hear everything, food rubbish, hotel bar fine prices excellent. The hotel is classed as a 2 star would class hotel as 3 star but food 2 star ok for weekend but would think the thin walls would drive you crazy if going for longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2006

cons:
definately for people travelling with young screaming children and if you dont mind being exposed to vast amounts of nicotine. definately hotel for smokers!!!!!!!!!!!
impossible to stay by pool- dreadfuly crowded and noisy- and we mean unbearably noisy with loud music and screaming kids running around and jumping over you whilst laying on sun bed. forget it!!!!!!
apart from the restaurant there were no non smoking areas. it was a nightmare.
food below average, ate out most of time.
beach small, but less children around.... thankfully
noisy rooms, could hear converstions and listen to programs being watched on next doors rooms!!!!!!!!!!
entertainment was absolutely terrible. i have never encountered such rubbish!!!!!!!!!!
pros:
rooms were cleaned daily. Tables cleared immediately
restaurant clean.
if you werent complaining treated well
staff were friendly, not difficult to communicate with most of time.
would never take my children there!!!!!!!!
would never go back. Dont bother!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2006

I researched the hotels a great deal in Ibiza before going using various forums like this so I thought it was only fair that I shared my views.
Ok I am 26 years, from England and went to Mare Nostrum with 3 other friends. We love clubbing and the rest of it but we decided that we wanted a mix of both chilling and night life hence playa den Bossa.

The hotel was both better and worse than we expected. Our rooms and the hotel in general were in great shape. We had air conditioning which we were not expecting. Everything we encountered was clean and the reception area looked really good I have to say. The pool was nice and there was great opportunities to sunbath including a roof above the bar which had a separate pool and allowed you to really get a burn on. Ok so the hotel was great. Now the bad bits.

Our hotel was described as a family hotel but also one where young people could get on with what they wanted to do. Unfortunately I think we were 4 out of maybe 8 young English people there. There were also a number of English families too.....however there were millions of Italians on a 18-30s holiday. There were some nice looking girls which was a bonus but unfortunately everything going on in the hotel seemed to have an Italian theme. The music (if you can call it that) played by the pool was very foreign and not worthy of any radio station over here..... all in all a bit disappointing.

Well thats it.

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2005

I stayed in this hotel as part of a bargin late deal with Thompsons. I was very disapointed with the location, cleanliness, standard of service and quality of food.
On arrival at the hotel at 13.00 we were advised that the rooms would not be ready until 13.30-14.00, however at 15.30 we were still waiting to be allocated rooms. When we finally reached the room it was filthy- stained bed covers, dirty toilet, hairs in the sink and bath. Reception staff were not at all interested in this and grudgingly arranged for the cleaners to pay us a visit.
The walls of the rooms were so thin that we could even hear the next door neighbours blowing their noses (other noises were also heard ,with extreme clarity - need I say more!!)
The food was fine if you like chips, chips and more chips.
There is a nice building site just across the road from the hotel.
The beach is small and dirty and the sound of the local building site is regulary interupted by the noise of low flying planes.
There are lots of childrens activities in the hotel complex but given the distinct lack of hygein and proximity of busy road it is not somewhere that I would want to take kids.
I am only glad that this was a cheap last-minute holiday.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND DEVON
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2005

we stayed at this hotel oct 14 on a late deal a.o.a for 10 days.we only paid £199 each so we got a good deal,the hotel has been partly refurbished the rooms clean , it was oct and very quiet plenty of room by the pool but entertainment was not on also lots of bars closed . The food was average but never very hot, I wouldn't recomend this hotel only if you got a good price and it was a quiet time of the year but there was nothing horrible about it. If you want to travel walk to Ibiza town it's not very far and a very pleasant walk and get buses from there.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mare Nostrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mare Nostrum

Address: Avda Pedro Matutes Noguera | s/n, 07800 Playa d'en Bossa, Ibiza, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Playa d'en Bossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Playa d'en Bossa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mare Nostrum 2*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mare Nostrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Nostrum Hotel
Mare Nostrum Ibiza
Hotel Mare Nostrum Ibiza/Playa D'en Bossa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mare Nostrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.